93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread - Page 121 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2014, 08:21 AM   #2401
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 5,845
Total Cats: 559
Default

COPs frequently go bad. Might have missed it, but have you rotated the suspected COP to another cylinder yet?
hornetball is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 08:51 AM   #2402
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,943
Total Cats: 1,471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Tested spark and injectors and all 4 are firing just fine.

how did you test?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:44 AM   #2403
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post

how did you test?
I haven't switched the COPs yet but I have a couple spares so I'll try that.

I used output test menu in tuner studio to test them.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 11:44 AM   #2404
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taos, New mexico
Posts: 5,673
Total Cats: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
I haven't switched the COPs yet but I have a couple spares so I'll try that.

I used output test menu in tuner studio to test them.
You could just also swap 2 of the cops and see if the misfire changes cylinders with the COP.
Fireindc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 01:09 PM   #2405
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,117
Total Cats: 426
Default

^i second this method. Keep using the cops you've got, just swap the cylinders. That way you are not introducing new variables with a different Coil.
turbofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 01:48 PM   #2406
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,943
Total Cats: 1,471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
I haven't switched the COPs yet but I have a couple spares so I'll try that.

I used output test menu in tuner studio to test them.

so you used test mode to determine all four coils spark, but #4 doesn't spark when the car is running?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 04:13 PM   #2407
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post

so you used test mode to determine all four coils spark, but #4 doesn't spark when the car is running?
Yeah, hence the confusion. I audibly heard all 4 plugs pulse like mad.

I'll try switching the plugs to different cylinders as fire/hornet suggested.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 08:27 PM   #2408
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

OK replace the COP on #4 with a spare I had and then started up the engine. I then unplugged the wire to #4 and the engine stumbled and then became smooth after reconnecting it. So I'm guessing that issue is fixed.

Now I'm trying to figure out why I have no timing advance. it will go from 0 to -1.4. It did give me crazy advance at start up to the tun of 24+ but then went to 0 and didn't deviate from that.

Also the AFR in TS and the gauge were matching for the first 30 seconds and then the tunerstudio AFR didn't move from 13.30, while the AEM gauge danced between 13-15(which I hope is a good sign it isn't running lean).

Do I need to go buy a timing light and figure this out properly on the timing issue?
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 08:29 PM   #2409
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

And also why at the slightest throttle input it revs to 3.5k and hangs there, then slowly comes back down to around 1.4k and holds steady there.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 08:44 PM   #2410
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Here is the small log I made if that helps.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/yd53lxkicq...0_18.17.19.msl
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 07:56 AM   #2411
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Pulled cyl #1 spark plug and tested TDC with the dipstick method. I think this looks right. It was a little hard to tell when it was perfectly TDC.



So at least I know now that the base timing is correct, just need to figure out why I have no timing advance and the weird throttle issue.
Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2776.jpg  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:52 AM   #2412
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 5,845
Total Cats: 559
Default

Which MS are you again?

The MS can be put into a fixed timing mode (used to set base timing). Are you in that mode?
hornetball is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:54 AM   #2413
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornetball View Post
Which MS are you again?

The MS can be put into a fixed timing mode (used to set base timing). Are you in that mode?
MS3x. And I don't believe I am in fixed timing mode. Timing is set at 10 in TS.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:38 AM   #2414
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,829
Total Cats: 2,122
Default

You have to set timing to fixed 10* when using the timing light. You cannot keep it on "use table"
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:02 AM   #2415
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
You have to set timing to fixed 10* when using the timing light. You cannot keep it on "use table"
So fix timing at 10, start the motor up, and ensure with a timing light that it matches? Sorry never used a timing light before so I just wanted to double check.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:08 AM   #2416
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,829
Total Cats: 2,122
Default

Yes, basically. There's a writeup on it actually. Even on m.net garage section there's a how to on doing this, the only difference with ms is instead of "locking" the ecu into 10* with jumpers, you simply go into TS and timing settings and switch the drop down from "use map" to "fixed timing".

Then you check with timing light and depending on how much its out you adjust either by rotating the cas, or changing the "offset" in ms until 10* = 10*
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:13 AM   #2417
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
Yes, basically. There's a writeup on it actually. Even on m.net garage section there's a how to on doing this, the only difference with ms is instead of "locking" the ecu into 10* with jumpers, you simply go into TS and timing settings and switch the drop down from "use map" to "fixed timing".

Then you check with timing light and depending on how much its out you adjust either by rotating the cas, or changing the "offset" in ms until 10* = 10*
Thanks Vlad for spelling that out simply for me. There is a vast amount of information I'm trying to absorb since I am starting from knowing nothing(literally) I'm a little overwhelmed by it all.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:50 AM   #2418
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Schwarzenberg, Germany
Posts: 1,485
Total Cats: 79
Default

And please don't forget to set the timing setting back to "Use table" again afterwards...
Zaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:00 AM   #2419
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,829
Total Cats: 2,122
Default

hahaha yep, unless you want your car to shoot flames like a boss
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:03 AM   #2420
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 947
Default

Tempting, all cool cars as taught by the car mod gods of 2 fast 2 furious, shoot flames, but the OCD in me knows I'd melt my rear bumper, so no!
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 08:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 01:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 12:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 01:29 PM


Tags
anti-rattle mafia, circle jerk, don't touch the girls, epic ocd, gayle, i see a dust speck, let's clean this too, massive erection, old becomes new, putty in our hands, resistance is futile, shock brace doesn't match, so fresh n so clean, tucked in waistline, want to touch the hiney, we spend jeff's money, whale with herpes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.