Sonofthehill's stock engine 240k mile 99 MKTURBO 12 seconds on all seasons thread - Miata Turbo Forum -Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2016, 02:35 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default Sonofthehill's stock engine 240k mile 99 MKTURBO 12 seconds on all seasons thread

I am very happy with my car
217 wtq & 230 whp

Attached Thumbnails
Sonofthehill's stock engine 240k mile 99 MKTURBO 12 seconds on all seasons thread-80-img_20160112_100108896_ee81d9bb320fcb1df50b6353d1bac5cc400975cd.jpg  
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 02:48 PM   #2
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,184
Total Cats: 748
Default

Looking good.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:00 PM   #3
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,988
Default

please plot out the rpm axis instead of speed before I have a rage attack
also please slap the dyno operator for me next time you see him
*edit: and yes, very solid looking plot and congrats
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:05 PM   #4
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,184
Total Cats: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
please plot out the rpm axis instead of speed before I have a rage attack
also please slap the dyno operator for me next time you see him
*edit: and yes, very solid looking plot and congrats
He mentions in my GB thread that he is going to try to get an rpm based graph. I do not know why on earth any dyno operator ever gives out graphs with speed and not rpm. It makes no sense at all to me.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:09 PM   #5
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,321
Total Cats: 182
Default

They do so if they can't get a solid RPM reading because of fat spark wires or COP or if their RPM hookup is foobared.
Reverant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:17 PM   #6
Elite Member
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 2,611
Total Cats: 101
Default

Roughly. Approximating 5200rpms @ 82mph and extrapolating from there.

pdexta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:18 PM   #7
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,988
Default



that's very nice in that case
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 09:26 PM   #8
Boosting since 1984
iTrader: (1)
 
stefanst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Levittown
Posts: 990
Total Cats: 38
Default

Nice!

Sooo- fully spooled around 3k? Intriguing....
How long does spool take between shifts, assuming shifting at 7k, no flat-shift?
stefanst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 12:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
please plot out the rpm axis instead of speed before I have a rage attack
also please slap the dyno operator for me next time you see him
*edit: and yes, very solid looking plot and congrats
Dyno operator slapped!




This is the log.




It didn't spool as fast on the dyno, probably cause it doesn't account for my fat *** or all the heavy *** stock components still attached to my car. At least that would be my guess.
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 12:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Couldn't seem to fix that one, argh!
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 01:33 AM   #11
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Can't make it work, but it's there in Lars' group buy post 1113.
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 10:56 AM   #12
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,988
Default

yeah a dynojet won't be able to load up the car properly like it does on the street.

even still, that looks like a really solid plot.

15psi on stock internals? You're a brave man. Is that knock event up top repeatable?
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 11:06 AM   #13
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,184
Total Cats: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
yeah a dynojet won't be able to load up the car properly like it does on the street.

even still, that looks like a really solid plot.

15psi on stock internals? You're a brave man. Is that knock event up top repeatable?
For a "$1500" setup, I think the plot is very good. Scott and I were talking about it this morning and we think boost needs to be turned up a little on the top end to hold torque a bit flatter. Other then that it looks great to be used on the street.

I need to find out what Dyno Savington uses. So I can get Nigelt and Sonofthehill to both go dyno on that one.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 11:25 AM   #14
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
yeah a dynojet won't be able to load up the car properly like it does on the street.

even still, that looks like a really solid plot.

15psi on stock internals? You're a brave man. Is that knock event up top repeatable?
The knock event was repeatable, I had been playing with my spark map. I get similar background noise sometimes but we were able to confirm knock on the dyno. I reduced the timing a bit in that area and I think it is gone, but more logging will show. I did learn not to ignore what used to seem like occasional background noise from my knock sensor.
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 11:40 AM   #15
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuiend View Post
For a "$1500" setup, I think the plot is very good. Scott and I were talking about it this morning and we think boost needs to be turned up a little on the top end to hold torque a bit flatter. Other then that it looks great to be used on the street.

I need to find out what Dyno Savington uses. So I can get Nigelt and Sonofthehill to both go dyno on that one.
The kit is damn nice for $1500 + cat. I am very happy and my car is pretty effin' quick IMHO.
I already increased the boost target up top and it's even livelier now.
I still log and mess with it a little every day for the most part.
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 01:11 AM   #16
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanst View Post
Nice!

Sooo- fully spooled around 3k? Intriguing....
How long does spool take between shifts, assuming shifting at 7k, no flat-shift?
I don't flat shift, no need with all that power. Here is a log of 2nd, 3rd, 4th looks like about .7 seconds or 5 or 600 rpm from the lowest point. But I don't notice any lag when shifting to the next gear already spooled up, feels seamless and instantaneous.


Attached Thumbnails
Sonofthehill's stock engine 240k mile 99 MKTURBO 12 seconds on all seasons thread-80-undefined_75737627524309965c191acf4a41007c20ca5fbd.png  
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 01:38 AM   #17
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,983
Total Cats: 409
Default

The plot does look good. That's a lotta boost though.

So, it takes 15 PSI to make 230whp? Hopefully the 217 torque is safe enough.
turbofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 01:45 AM   #18
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 679
Total Cats: 86
Default

Which actually seems about right since it takes one bar to make 115 or so stock, twice the pressure, twice the power.
So far no issues yet, but I have crappy toyo rain tires.
sonofthehill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:06 AM   #19
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,983
Total Cats: 409
Default

If only it were that simple.

My car made 230 whp (and 204 wtq) on 8 psi. 15 psi gave me 300 whp. Completely different setup (VVT, '99 mani, S2 TB, bigger turbo, tubular mani) but that's a HUGE difference.

Just goes to show -- boost pressure is not created equally.
turbofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:12 AM   #20
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,988
Default

It's different with chinachargers, efficiency and all that, but still: 15psi is 15psi and those rods are likely not very happy with you right now lol

be gentle with her. my 00 bent rods at 13psi and 240hp (dont remember tq, likely 220)
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trackspeed build plan farpolemiddle Prefabbed Turbo Kits 264 12-01-2016 11:05 PM
Because 150whp isn't enough... Uncle Humjaba Prefabbed Turbo Kits 26 10-31-2016 11:50 AM
Post build garage sale! BP4W head, BP5A engine, race parts, something for everyone! vteckiller2000 Miata parts for sale/trade 28 09-14-2016 09:57 AM
second engine build, started last night Darbymx5 DIY Turbo Discussion 1 08-15-2016 05:37 PM
Hello everyone Franshow! Meet and Greet 5 08-04-2016 10:09 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.