The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread. - Page 4 - Miata Turbo Forum -Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Engine Performance This section is for discussion on all engine building related questions. KMiata

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2014, 10:49 PM   #61
Senior Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 573
Total Cats: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post
99-00 coils are garbage, you're much better off retaining your stock 1.6/1.8 coils if you are doing a BP4W swap. I specifically left 99-00 coil info off the OP for that reason.
Yeah I know, I wrote those for 99-00 swapping a VvT in and using 01-05 ignition.

That was why I asked the question regarding the caps but I didn't install one in the harness (NB1) but will put one in the toolbox just in case or modify the other (NB2) harness
joyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 10:50 PM   #62
Ben
Supporting Vendor

iTrader: (33)
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: atlanta-ish
Posts: 12,662
Total Cats: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greddygalant View Post
Ben,
My 92 is the one curly mentioned, would you happen to have a link to an aftermarket tach adapter that would work for such an application?
Many exist. Here is one style:
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/msd-8913
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 11:09 PM   #63
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 13,402
Total Cats: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joyrider View Post
Yeah I know, I wrote those for 99-00 swapping a VvT in and using 01-05 ignition.
Touche, I'll add to the OP.
Savington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 09:31 AM   #64
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,213
Total Cats: 750
Default

Just FYI the stock 90-97 spark plug wires will fit into the VVT VC if you trim the rubber a little bit. I used a razor blade and slowly removed rubber off the top of the boot until they fit down fine. I have had no problems with them like that.
shuiend is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 03:46 PM   #65
Silly Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 53
Total Cats: 5
Default

So where should the NA harness ECU ground point go?
harrybeachdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 03:54 PM   #66
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 13,402
Total Cats: 835
Default

The bracket for the 94-97 ECU grounds can be transferred over to the 01+ block. IIRC, the OEM 90-93 ECU grounds attach to the back of the intake manifold, and those can just be attached to the 99+ manifold.
Savington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 07:29 PM   #67
Junior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 102
Total Cats: 0
Default

Where do you typically route the extra wires through the firewall to the ECU?
zerogt86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 09:42 PM   #68
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: woosta, ma
Posts: 8,610
Total Cats: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerogt86 View Post
Where do you typically route the extra wires through the firewall to the ECU?
I put mine through the holes from the A/C delete.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 11:55 PM   #69
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (24)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 11,637
Total Cats: 463
Default

Alrightly. So Oregonmon has his VVT swapped '90 with a MS3, and GreddyGalant has his MSM swapped '92 now with a MS2PNP.

They're both screaming for tachs.

I've Ctrl-f'd every post with the word "tach" in it, and all they seem to say is "wire it to the tach".

Is this at the cluster? One of the ignitor wires I capped? Please spoon feed wire color and location. Thanks.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 01:00 AM   #70
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 13,402
Total Cats: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
I've Ctrl-f'd every post with the word "tach" in it, and all they seem to say is "wire it to the tach".

Is this at the cluster? One of the ignitor wires I capped? Please spoon feed wire color and location. Thanks.
search noob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post


route 4 (yellow/blue) to 5 (black/white) (connects ECU directly to tachometer at gauge cluster)
Following the instructions in the op connects the tachometer in the cluster to the tach output wire (2I). If you've connected it that way, and you have a tach driver circuit, and it still doesn't work, you probably need a pullup resistor.
Savington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 02:31 AM   #71
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (24)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 11,637
Total Cats: 463
Default

Yup I did that, so just connect the tach output pin on the MS3 to 2I?
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:56 PM   #72
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (24)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 11,637
Total Cats: 463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post
you probably need a pullup resistor.
Ok someone explain this?

Is this the 1k ohm resistor between -IG and GND in the diagnostic connector?

Tried that (both ways) and it didn't work. Black/white and yellow/blue are soldered together, tacho pin is enabled in TS, and still no tach. WTF.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 09:37 PM   #73
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 13,402
Total Cats: 835
Default

Pullup resistors are (by definition) between a signal and a voltage. +B to -IG and your tach will work.
Savington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 09:56 PM   #74
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (24)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 11,637
Total Cats: 463
Default

Well, I thought I had it, but nope. 1k ohm resistor between -IG and B+ now and still nothing. Resistor flipped both ways, multiple resistors tried. Any other clues?
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:21 AM   #75
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Schwarzenberg, Germany
Posts: 1,473
Total Cats: 79
Default

Put a direct wire between 2I and your tach input on the instrument cluster. I did it this way and it works (on my 97 1.6 Euro NA there was no wire from 2I to the igniter)
Zaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 04:17 AM   #76
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,327
Total Cats: 183
Default

Wire your tach signal from the cluster to pin 10 on the DB37.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 10:20 PM   #77
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 13,402
Total Cats: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaphod View Post
Put a direct wire between 2I and your tach input on the instrument cluster. I did it this way and it works (on my 97 1.6 Euro NA there was no wire from 2I to the igniter)
On every 90-93 USDM car, if you loop the wires as directed in the OP, you get a wire that is connected from 2I (black/white) to the cluster (yellow/blue) without routing a redundant wire to do the same job. Just FYI. Adding a wire to do that job is unnecessary and clutters things up.
Savington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 10:22 PM   #78
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 13,402
Total Cats: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
Well, I thought I had it, but nope. 1k ohm resistor between -IG and B+ now and still nothing. Resistor flipped both ways, multiple resistors tried. Any other clues?
ECU settings, then. That I can't help with.
Savington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 11:07 PM   #79
SadFab Sales Lady
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 14,842
Total Cats: 937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
Alrightly. So Oregonmon has his VVT swapped '90 with a MS3, and GreddyGalant has his MSM swapped '92 now with a MS2PNP.

They're both screaming for tachs.

I've Ctrl-f'd every post with the word "tach" in it, and all they seem to say is "wire it to the tach".

Is this at the cluster? One of the ignitor wires I capped? Please spoon feed wire color and location. Thanks.
Post tunes? Tach out set correctly? Pretty sure the ms3x card needs a jumper, but if its an mslabs ecu I'm not sure how Rev has that set up. Just throwing out ideas. According to this tach out is turned off by default.
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 09:45 AM   #80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 264
Total Cats: 36
Default

Thanks for putting this together.

I'm in the process of selling my entire powertrain (engine, trans, MS3, etc etc) and turbo setup to someone with a NA (think its a 95).

I'm going to install a LFX.

Being that we can use all of those working bits (I'm keeping my radiator/ fans, throttle cable, steering) how much of this will be necessary to perform the swap? I imagine I will be forced to use the GM harness and ECU so I could even swap over the harness.

We are thinking we'll simply take everything out of my car and swap it over to his.
carnut169 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Noob to Miataturbo from MA JxPhan Meet and Greet 3 10-02-2015 03:17 AM
Low oil pressure after 1.8 swap and new turbo setup JesseTheNoob DIY Turbo Discussion 15 09-30-2015 03:44 PM
VR6 to Miata Swap ScrapinMX5 Meet and Greet 8 09-28-2015 02:04 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.