SADFab products thread - Page 5 - Miata Turbo Forum -Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Miata parts for sale/trade Buy, trade or sell your Miata parts here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2016, 01:24 PM   #81
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
 
SADFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 87
Total Cats: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binhdong View Post
i got you. Put me down for a set.
Ill let Sean know
SADFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:03 PM   #82
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,184
Total Cats: 748
Default

Swinging back around to the Magnacore wires being more expensive. I do believe they have a lifetime warranty. So that might be a selling point for the higher price point. Might just offer it as an extra upgrade.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:06 PM   #83
SadFab Sales Lady
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 14,785
Total Cats: 930
Default

These aren't made by magnecor. They are made by Sean. Hence the $30 cheaper price than a standard set of magnecors. Doubt the lifetime warranty stands when not made by them.
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:08 PM   #84
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,988
Default

Just a tip, but make sure to crimp them super duper well and when installing use a ton of that lube/grease stuff, cause the wires tended to come off the crimp on a couple cars I've done now
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:13 PM   #85
SOMEOFIT
iTrader: (1)
 
Girz0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,506
Total Cats: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
cause the wires tended to come off the crimp on a couple cars I've done now
This happened to me on multiple occasions on my old vehicle with brand name wires
Girz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:15 PM   #86
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
 
SADFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 87
Total Cats: 25
Default

We stand behind all of our products. And if anything happens like that we will gladly do a wire "rebuild". We have built a lot of wires and extra tight crimps are standard practice. Thanks for the heads up.
SADFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:24 PM   #87
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,184
Total Cats: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidandj View Post
These aren't made by magnecor. They are made by Sean. Hence the $30 cheaper price than a standard set of magnecors. Doubt the lifetime warranty stands when not made by them.
Well you give magnecor all the specs and have them make the wires, then have the lifetime warranty. I had them do that for my wires with my FM coil bracket and I am pretty happy with them.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 12:25 PM   #88
SadFab Sales Lady
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 14,785
Total Cats: 930
Default

That is definitely an option. If someone is interested we would gladly supply wire dimensions and part numbers. Just let us know.
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:14 PM   #89
SadFab CEO
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: your mom's house phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,298
Total Cats: 395
Default

Ill try to put all that data into a google sheet, and post it on our open source page, and here too.

I use professional style adjustable ratcheting crimpers. I set them as tight as the dies will allow for plug wires to try and avoid any "pull out" Also, copious amounts of silicone lube is used for assembly, as its not only good practice, but required for some of the tighter fitting boots. Having said that, you should always pull the on the boot and not the wire itself. And ALWAYS use silicone lube on the inside diameter of the boots or wherever they slip over a coil post or spark plug porcelain.

As discussed, if one pulls out, I will gladly repair it. If its been obviously abused or was pulled by the wire(and yes, you can usually tell by how the silicone jacket looks), Ill still repair it for you, but would ask that you pay for parts and shipping.

Im going to order a big tube of silicone grease and start lubing the boots for you guys so they are ready to go out of the box.

Thanks everyone!


hi_im_sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 02:49 PM   #90
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 12,184
Total Cats: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hi_im_sean View Post
Ill try to put all that data into a google sheet, and post it on our open source page, and here too.

I use professional style adjustable ratcheting crimpers. I set them as tight as the dies will allow for plug wires to try and avoid any "pull out" Also, copious amounts of silicone lube is used for assembly, as its not only good practice, but required for some of the tighter fitting boots. Having said that, you should always pull the on the boot and not the wire itself. And ALWAYS use silicone lube on the inside diameter of the boots or wherever they slip over a coil post or spark plug porcelain.

As discussed, if one pulls out, I will gladly repair it. If its been obviously abused or was pulled by the wire(and yes, you can usually tell by how the silicone jacket looks), Ill still repair it for you, but would ask that you pay for parts and shipping.

Im going to order a big tube of silicone grease and start lubing the boots for you guys so they are ready to go out of the box.

Thanks everyone!
You are the CEO. You need to make all your employees do the work, while you count your fat stacks of cash money.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 04:14 PM   #91
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Yorktown, Virginia
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 0
Default

Could you guys send me the dimensions for the wires and part numbers? I'm going to try to get a quote from magnacore and see the price difference.
binhdong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 04:47 PM   #92
SadFab CEO
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: your mom's house phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,298
Total Cats: 395
Default

Sales lady, please lube the rubbers.... or it gets the hose.


Bihn, ill get back to ya when i get to my computer.
hi_im_sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 05:03 PM   #93
SadFab Sales Lady
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 14,785
Total Cats: 930
Default

It will be $90
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 12:16 AM   #94
SadFab Sales Lady
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 14,785
Total Cats: 930
Default

Any of you coil bracket customers need coils? I bought a set of 8 and only need 4. PM me.
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 08:13 PM   #95
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
 
SADFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 87
Total Cats: 25
Default

Open source file for the coil mounts has just been posted

http://sadfab.com/opensource.html#coilmount
SADFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 11:26 PM   #96
Ich verstehe nur Bahnhof
iTrader: (2)
 
psyber_0ptix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,749
Total Cats: 219
Default

Is there any trimming required of the rear most hole depending on which valve cover is being used? I cant seem to line up one of the holes, the center between cylinders 2 and 3
psyber_0ptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 11:34 PM   #97
Ich verstehe nur Bahnhof
iTrader: (2)
 
psyber_0ptix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,749
Total Cats: 219
Default



psyber_0ptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 11:36 PM   #98
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Staunton, Va
Posts: 1,652
Total Cats: 111
Default

Take a picture further away. Can't see what's going on. Should fit perfectly, no trimming.
ryansmoneypit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 11:37 PM   #99
SadFab Sales Lady
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 14,785
Total Cats: 930
Default

Can't see that close. But maybe flip it 180*?
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 11:43 PM   #100
Ich verstehe nur Bahnhof
iTrader: (2)
 
psyber_0ptix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,749
Total Cats: 219
Default

Updated. The whole thing needs to shift forward a quarter inch or so for the hole to align but interferes at the backside. Not a big deal, i can mod it and use a washer if needed. Just wasn't sure.

Just gotta mod and fit before powder coat
psyber_0ptix is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me get my miata to start on MS3X. Included 2 datalogs. ASE problem? miataa MEGAsquirt 1 05-20-2016 02:35 PM
CSF Radiators ON SALE - THIS WEEK ONLY! Promo Code Inside! FAB Fab9 Tuning - Miata Performance Parts 2 05-20-2016 02:03 PM
VVT Swap on Rev MS3 ~ No Start shawnboosted MEGAsquirt 11 04-14-2016 03:20 AM
VVT Swap w/ MS3-Pro & Frank's PCB: no start, please review settings Eunos91 MEGAsquirt 13 04-01-2016 03:50 PM
Fitting VVT engine into NA8C chassis - on Sunday this week! EvilChap General Miata Chat 5 03-17-2016 05:14 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.