General Miata Chat A place to talk about anything Miata

*sigh* Someone talk me out of this..

Old 09-16-2008, 10:35 PM

Total Cats: 0
Default *sigh* Someone talk me out of this..

I have been thinking about parting out my entire drivetrain and going LSX. The prices for mount kits are cheap enough now that it is a more realistic swap compared to what it was when I went turbo two years ago. I am at the point in my turbo build that the next step is internals/head work, but it really isn't appealing to me anymore. I barely even drive the car as is, I have it running good now but something about it just isn't what it was a year ago.

Parting out the drive train should cover the costs of the RL kit, leaving me in need of an engine/trans/ecu/wiring/clutch/cooling/misc that I would estimate at 4-5k if I sit on my *** and wait for really good deals to come around. This would also mean a year down time, given that I am a full time student, and my "projects" income isn't what it used to be since going back to school.

I am not to the point of a parts list feeler just yet, I am still trying to figure out what I want to do. Just wanted go get some outside input.

I know what 95% of the answers will be given this is miataturbo.net
Old 09-16-2008, 10:47 PM
Elite Member

Total Cats: 2

I can't bring myself to take take apart my gutted turbo car to have the manifold coated cuz of the week or so down time even though I have another turbo miata that I drive 90% of the time. I don't think I could make it a year. Would be sweet to have an lsx powered Miata though.
Old 09-16-2008, 11:00 PM

nothing to be talked out of.

I'd love to do it myself
Old 09-16-2008, 11:39 PM

Total Cats: 14