MEGAsquirt A place to collectively sort out this megasquirt gizmo

Want to log higher than 215*F?

Old 08-08-2008, 01:15 PM
  #1  
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (62)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 79,483
Total Cats: 4,076
Default Want to log higher than 215*F?

Pretty simple fix.

Since the 8-bit cpu can only read 255 lines of clt data, and some smart guy at B&G though we'd want to read from -40*F, that gives up a max of 215.

Granted we shouldn't ever run close to 215*, but if you want to see if you are, you certain can. The MS will have no clue it's running greater than 215*, but who cares, you will.

The MS reads the raw ADC voltage from the sensor...but MS and convert off a conversion chart. So open up your thermfactor.inc file in the project folder.

you'll have a long line a data points....you should also notice that 255 repeats a whole bunch of times....this is because Easy Therm still continues the resistance values of the sensor beyond 215*. So simply change the numbers above 255 to read 256 257 258 etc...

example, change this:

Code:
    DB    255T    ;    16    273.27
    DB    255T    ;    17    267.81
    DB    255T    ;    18    262.72
    DB    255T    ;    19    257.95
    DB    255T    ;    20    253.47
    DB    255T    ;    21    249.23
    DB    255T    ;    22    245.23
    DB    255T    ;    23    241.42
    DB    255T    ;    24    237.80
    DB    255T    ;    25    234.35
    DB    255T    ;    26    231.05
    DB    255T    ;    27    227.90
    DB    255T    ;    28    224.87
    DB    255T    ;    29    221.96
    DB    255T    ;    30    219.16
    DB    255T    ;    31    216.46
to this:

Code:
    DB    270T    ;    16    273.27
    DB    269T    ;    17    267.81
    DB    268T    ;    18    262.72
    DB    267T    ;    19    257.95
    DB    266T    ;    20    253.47
    DB    265T    ;    21    249.23
    DB    264T    ;    22    245.23
    DB    263T    ;    23    241.42
    DB    262T    ;    24    237.80
    DB    261T    ;    25    234.35
    DB    260T    ;    26    231.05
    DB    259T    ;    27    227.90
    DB    258T    ;    28    224.87
    DB    257T    ;    29    221.96
    DB    256T    ;    30    219.16
    DB    255T    ;    31    216.46
You'll be able to now see when you ever hit >215*F. See my screen catpure...I made a record of when my OEM gauge hit 12 'o clock, just before I hit 218*F.

enjoy.
Attached Thumbnails Want to log higher than 215*F?-218_clt.jpg  
Attached Files
File Type: xls
clt_test1.xls (569.0 KB, 103 views)
Braineack is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 01:17 PM
  #2  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,290
Total Cats: 31
Default

Woot! Thanks again for testing this out. Silly silly B&G....
Splitime is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:09 PM
  #3  
Tour de Franzia
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,085
Total Cats: 375
Default

awesome. Thanks.
hustler is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:16 PM
  #4  
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Saml01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,710
Total Cats: 3
Default

Wasnt there a huge discussion on this a while ago and someone said it was a code problem?
Saml01 is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:19 PM
  #5  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,290
Total Cats: 31
Default

Originally Posted by Saml01
Wasnt there a huge discussion on this a while ago and someone said it was a code problem?
You probably mean with the MS itself. Which is still stuck seeing upto 215.

This merely alters a reference file that MT uses... allowing you to see higher in the gauge display and datalogs.
Splitime is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 02:38 PM
  #6  
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (62)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 79,483
Total Cats: 4,076
Default

Originally Posted by Saml01
Wasnt there a huge discussion on this a while ago and someone said it was a code problem?

215 is the max in the embedded code. but you can see display it on your laptop and in MLV. so if you were at 250* you could see it, but the MS would still think it's 215. that's it.

in the same discussion i said you could do this...i just went out, go the car warm, remove the fans and logged it to show you guys how.
Braineack is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:24 PM
  #7  
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Mach929's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: lansdale PA
Posts: 2,494
Total Cats: 0
Default

good stuff hopefully i never get that far, anyone ever determine what exactly is the point of danger?
Mach929 is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 04:50 PM
  #8  
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,338
Total Cats: 573
Default

Had mine to 235 and the only effect was a funny smell out of the A/C. compression is fine. no coolant / oil exchanging places or getting out.
y8s is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:08 PM
  #9  
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 2,957
Total Cats: 2
Default

cool except my Thermfactor data points skip like this:

DB 240T ; 21 199.82
DB 236T ; 22 196.39
DB 233T ; 23 193.13
DB 230T ; 24 190.02
DB 227T ; 25 187.05
DB 224T ; 26 184.22
DB 221T ; 27 181.50
DB 219T ; 28 178.89
DB 216T ; 29 176.38
DB 214T ; 30 173.96
DB 212T ; 31 171.63
DB 209T ; 32 169.38
DB 207T ; 33 167.20
DB 205T ; 34 165.09
DB 203T ; 35 163.05
DB 201T ; 36 161.07
DB 199T ; 37 159.14
DB 197T ; 38 157.27
DB 195T ; 39 155.45
DB 194T ; 40 153.68
DB 192T ; 41 151.96

Does that matter?


and why all the sudden do your values change for the same ADC value Scott?

DB 255T ; 30 221.77
DB 255T ; 31 219.05

DB 256T ; 30 219.16
DB 255T ; 31 216.46
paul is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 07:51 PM
  #10  
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
AbeFM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,047
Total Cats: 12
Default

Man, I should look at mine.

I have bigger issues, though, my temps have never read right. Best I can do it make them linear over a small region, and try to run there. It's on my long, long list.
AbeFM is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 08:40 PM
  #11  
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 2,957
Total Cats: 2
Default

Scott's values are much different than mine too. Aren't you running standalone Scott?

look how high mine go in temp:

DB 271T ; 1 510.41
DB 270T ; 2 418.55
DB 269T ; 3 372.21
DB 268T ; 4 342.05
DB 267T ; 5 320.01
DB 266T ; 6 302.81
DB 265T ; 7 288.78
DB 264T ; 8 276.99
DB 263T ; 9 266.84
DB 262T ; 10 257.96
DB 261T ; 11 250.08
DB 260T ; 12 243.00
DB 259T ; 13 236.59
DB 258T ; 14 230.72
DB 257T ; 15 225.33
DB 256T ; 16 220.34
DB 255T ; 17 215.69
paul is offline  
Old 08-13-2008, 04:03 PM
  #12  
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (62)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 79,483
Total Cats: 4,076
Default

i was looking at two different thermfactor files when i posted...the one that's edited is what i'm using.

all i did was simply change the last (15) 255s with increments of 1...

and no i'm not standalone...my bias is 1250 iirc.
Braineack is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Quinn
Cars for sale/trade
6
10-23-2016 07:58 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Want to log higher than 215*F?



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.