Would you guys be willing to help troubleshoot an F2T install? - Page 2 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


MEGAsquirt A place to collectively sort out this megasquirt gizmo

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2013, 10:52 PM   #21
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Total Cats: 0
Default

Its set to"None" :-/
F2TMX-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 12:00 AM   #22
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Total Cats: 0
Default

https://drive.google.com/folderview?...Hc&usp=sharing

There is a link to Log Files and my current MSQ
F2TMX-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 04:40 AM   #23
Elite Member
 
Chiburbian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gilberts, IL
Posts: 2,159
Total Cats: 131
Default

If you haven't already, make sure your engine grounds are good (direct from block to ms).

I had problems similar to yours until I did that.
Chiburbian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 02:20 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 199
Total Cats: -12
Default

Happened to me when I set up my turbo, the car was randomly cutting off when under full throttle. It turns out is was the overboost protection set too low.

But it should be a throttle sensitive thing, not RPM sensitive. Here's another thing to check: Does he by any chance have configured the ECU to use launch control? Mine was set up initially in such a way that when the car reached a given temperature IIRC it would automatically cut-off at a certain RPM. Turns out the clutch switch wasn't connected to the ECU and caused the car to cut-off when certain conditions were met (launch control turned on).

Also, I know you've probably gone back to basics and eliminated this, but check the spark plug condition and gap. It plays an important role when you're running boost.
ThunderFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 03:23 PM   #25
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Total Cats: 0
Default

I'll check the grounds, and make new ground points on the engine. The plugs are gapped at .028 and are brand new as well as the plugs which are switch are a step colder. I haven't installed a clutch switch yet as I'm trying to keep it simple til I get to the bottom of the problem.
F2TMX-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 04:33 PM   #26
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Total Cats: 0
Default

Wouldn't the overboost protection be ran off the boost control portion of the board? Im just running a standard internal wastegate ans a manual boost controller.
F2TMX-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:18 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 199
Total Cats: -12
Default

I'm not running any boost control features at all, and yet the overboost protection still works. It simply makes the engine cut off when a certain level of boost is achieved!
ThunderFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 06:24 PM   #28
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,110
Total Cats: 518
Default

There's electronic boost control, and then there's over boost protection. They are two different features. Not running over boost protection and relying on your mechanical devices to keep boost in check is asking for a blown engine. That'd be like saying you don't need a rev limiter because you have a throttle pedal.

I really have no idea what TS you're running, when I open it up it looks much different than mine, which explains your issues finding the over boost protection, as you have it under the "extended" menu. It's sorta weird, because you have a "experimental" option under the "advanced" option that's about Vanos debugging. Which is a BMW feature. WTF. (Oooooooh, is this a MSII?? OOOOOOOOHHHH.)

Anyways. If it were me, I'd try turning over boost protection on, and setting it to 2-3psi above your target max boost for now. But as others have said, that's more of a throttle pedal thing, not an RPM issue, but it's worth trying and going from there.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 11:27 AM   #29
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,465
Total Cats: 784
Default

The grounds are probably a good thing to check for sure...

Especially since this motor was swapped... who knows what that dude did.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 07:23 AM   #30
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
Total Cats: 0
Default

Diagnosis found!!! Replacement turbo enroute, I discovered by accident the turbo is one of the B6T Upgraded Ballbearing from Corksport not for a F2T. The Hotside is too small and choking the engine over 4500 and anything above 10psi. Thanks for all help!
F2TMX-3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 59 12-15-2017 09:00 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Noob to Miataturbo from MA JxPhan Meet and Greet 3 10-02-2015 03:17 AM
Time to start learning and play with tuning The Gleas MEGAsquirt 3 10-01-2015 10:30 AM
Walbro 255lph Fuel Pump $50 lsc224 Miata parts for sale/trade 2 10-01-2015 10:17 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.