MSPNP MSPNP specific Megasquirt related discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Introduction and tune review !

 
Old 01-17-2016, 09:42 PM
  #1  
Newb
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Total Cats: 0
Default Introduction and tune review !

Hi all,

I figured I would do a small introduction, build progress, as well as get into some technical aspects of my new to me car. I have been a Mazda enthusiast since my dad turned me on to rotary’s. I have a T2 rx7 and a Rx8 in addition to my 97 turbocharged STO Miata I picked up recently by telling myself it would be a daily driver. The car was purchased from a long time autox friend for what I thought was a good deal. The car is pretty modified having a full begi s4 kit, MS Pnp, torsen diff, 6 speed, and other supporting modifications. The car was dyno tuned at 11psi making 240 whp and 220 ftlbs tq.
After purchasing the car I began the “initial making the car my own” process. The paint was very neglected which I remedied with the mirror glaze m105 and m205 combo. After a full interior and exterior detail I did a brake job and installed a new thermostat.

The next project to tackle is the tune. The car is currently getting 20 mpg on the highway which doesn’t help with my “ It will be a DD” concept. Also I would love to get the boost and overall power output to more conservative numbers (Thinking 6-7 psi). I am hoping I will have greater peace of mind when at autox and the annual matg trip. I have been viewing many of the Mega squirt related information on this forum which has been very helpful. I would like to post my fuel and timing maps as I believe that my timing map is on the aggressive side. The tune on the car currently resulted in great power at a safe air fuel ratio but has poor drivability. The biggest contributor to this is that the fuel enrichment on throttle tip in is not setup at all. I have found a great How To on DIYPnP website on tuning this but would love to see some Miata specific values/map to get me started.





























Attached Thumbnails Introduction and tune review !-80-20151129_145903_3b581745c25a6c96d1af54d1d4e989158545bd52.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-20151130_134746_f385a0455eab9ce7982ade5cbed6e28f36aac38d.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-20151205_154242_7c7c919a1fdf9ee141b8534c3e26a1d667c4de6e.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-20151207_134329_ac18c368286803a78c20cb23e6ae06ce5db91479.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-20160101_163346_f353da14124897cba0208d0908575fc631b9f37f.jpg  

Introduction and tune review !-80-20160101_174805_445dfb934c65fc46361581e29e29b0faf8cdd1e1.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-20160101_182748_c77e3e07b8d9aa50e19d4557f94bdd3d600dc5e2.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-img_139844098703048_7b5a9a9696fdc7c5d8cbcc15b71f9cb0a3c96a2b.jpeg   Introduction and tune review !-80-20150116_172140_cb8a417ae63842c31f411d7f2c03ddb2b3496952.jpg  
Duncan97STO is offline  
Old 01-17-2016, 09:48 PM
  #2  
Newb
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Total Cats: 0
Default

Here is my fuel VE map, fuel enrichment, and ignition map. The car might have been tuned on the full version of tuner studio and not the lite but i have no way of telling. I didn't see any point in posting the AFR map as the ecu is not currently using it for fuel calculations. Also the fuel injectors are 550cc.









Attached Thumbnails Introduction and tune review !-80-fuel_enrichment_8a823c32922d8f2945d2a06afb35c74afe5fbc59.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-map2_1__f731c0f2666404afc31bc5d5f1d4b2e917476403.jpg   Introduction and tune review !-80-map2_2__38e355f05360a8fcf70a38bf8ef4fb786e8b99dc.jpg  
Duncan97STO is offline  
Old 01-17-2016, 10:01 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 1,146
Total Cats: 151
Default

Post the AFR map. Your VE map is essentially useless without knowing your injectors, other MS settings, etc. If your wideband is close to the AFR map, than we can critique your fuel strategies. If your wideband isn't close to the AFR map, then your tune isn't good.
acedeuce802 is offline  
Old 01-17-2016, 10:19 PM
  #4  
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit (the part with no rules or laws)
Posts: 4,912
Total Cats: 405
Default

post the tune
Erat is offline  
Old 01-17-2016, 10:35 PM
  #5  
Newb
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Total Cats: 0
Default

I am hoping i uploaded it correctly. I have discovered that the previous owner did not wire the wide band into the mega squirt. He said that the AEM and MS had compatibility problems so he didn't wire it. The car was only WOT tuned using the WB gauge and the dyno sniffer wide band.

Thanks for the input !
Attached Files
File Type: msq
CurrentTune.msq (107.7 KB, 164 views)
Duncan97STO is offline  
Old 01-18-2016, 09:30 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Farmington Hills, MI
Posts: 1,146
Total Cats: 151
Default

Originally Posted by Duncan97STO View Post
I am hoping i uploaded it correctly. I have discovered that the previous owner did not wire the wide band into the mega squirt. He said that the AEM and MS had compatibility problems so he didn't wire it. The car was only WOT tuned using the WB gauge and the dyno sniffer wide band.

Thanks for the input !
Sounds like the previous owner didn't know what he was doing. If the AEM outputs a 0-5V signal (which it does), than MS can read it, you just nee do tell MS the calibration.

Wire up the WB to MS, that way with any change you make in the future (injectors, more boost, etc), you can road tune fuel instead of wasting money to tune fuel on a dyno.
acedeuce802 is offline  
Old 01-18-2016, 10:00 AM
  #7  
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit (the part with no rules or laws)
Posts: 4,912
Total Cats: 405
Default

Agreed. Step one is to make that wideband communicate with megasquirt.
Then you can tune accordingly.
Erat is offline  
Old 01-19-2016, 01:25 PM
  #8  
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Total Cats: 0
Default

I noticed your trigger offset is exactly 0, have you checked timing to make sure that it is set to 10 perfectly? I just havent seen many tunes where this was set to 0.
HexRX is offline  
Old 01-20-2016, 08:24 AM
  #9  
Newb
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Total Cats: 0
Default

Originally Posted by HexRX View Post
I noticed your trigger offset is exactly 0, have you checked timing to make sure that it is set to 10 perfectly? I just havent seen many tunes where this was set to 0.
Thanks for the tips guys, i really appreciate it. I am learning as I go with this ems system. I have not checked the timing yet. So the base timing could very well be off. I have a pretty good list of MS related tasks to complete now!


Any opinions on my spark advance map? My map seems to be on the aggressive side vs. other maps posted in threads I found.
Duncan97STO is offline  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:13 PM
  #10  
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit (the part with no rules or laws)
Posts: 4,912
Total Cats: 405
Default

Yeah and I don't really understand the big jump between 180 and 200kpa.
Erat is offline  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:23 PM
  #11  
VladiTuned
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35,141
Total Cats: 3,144
Default

156kpa-184kpa 4600+ is gonna hurt your engine
18psi is offline  
Old 01-20-2016, 09:56 PM
  #12  
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 27
Total Cats: 0
Default

The spark map is what worries me, check that base timing before boosting and retard the timing around 4600+, as 18psi said.
HexRX is offline  
Old 02-12-2016, 07:54 AM
  #13  
Newb
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Total Cats: 0
Default

Originally Posted by HexRX View Post
The spark map is what worries me, check that base timing before boosting and retard the timing around 4600+, as 18psi said.
Thought I would give an update ! I entered a much more conservative timing map i received from concealer. I also verified the base ignition timing on the megasquirt. It was 5 degrees retarded which was probably a good thing given the timing map it was running on. It is set properly now and the car still feels very strong ! Next step is to connect the wideband to the ecu to work on tuning for gas mileage as well as getting the AE dialed in.
Duncan97STO is offline  
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mxkite24
Cars for sale/trade
5
05-05-2016 08:38 AM
vehicular
Cars for sale/trade
5
01-09-2016 09:04 PM
black roadster
Track Dog Racing
2
12-11-2015 05:19 PM
Dust
Insert BS here
42
02-10-2010 10:05 PM
omaharam
DIY Turbo Discussion
21
04-15-2009 02:18 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Introduction and tune review !


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.