Another Me Posting a Video of Myself Thread. - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2008, 12:49 PM   #1
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default Another Me Posting a Video of Myself Thread.

Tried to get a good video of how my turbo spools. 13psi, T3 Super 60 .48, tiny 1.6L engine.

mmmmmm boooooost!!!!!!



higher res: http://www.boostedmiata.com/videos/1_2_3_boostgauge.wmv



ps, there is no "lag" in 1st gear, i simply didn't press the throttle, when the boost kicks in is when i went 100%, and yes I have the log to prove it.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:02 PM   #2
Elite Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 4,921
Total Cats: 0
Default

Gee looks like the engine is pretty cold
jayc72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:03 PM   #3
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

needz moar powahz!!11!!
Nice! I want boost!
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:11 PM   #4
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayc72 View Post
Gee looks like the engine is pretty cold
Can't be a ricer without non-functional gauges can I!!!
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:45 PM   #5
Elite Member
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 4,481
Total Cats: 3
Default

kinda slow...
UrbanSoot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:54 PM   #6
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UrbanSoot View Post
kinda slow...
Now is the time for Kurt to strike!
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:21 PM   #7
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
m2cupcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,240
Total Cats: 290
Default

more more more - I likee
I just went out but the cam needed charging.
m2cupcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 07:22 PM   #8
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m2cupcar View Post
more more more - I likee

Ok Mister.

http://www.boostedmiata.com/videos/boost_overload.wmv




first clip illustrates how i make boost in each gear at lowish rpm (3k-5k in 1,2,3 3k-4k in 4th).

second clip is a third gear pull from 3k to 5.3k, when i hit 14.6psi and triggered my boost cut (still tuning my ebc). holding 13psi flat as of that pull.

third clip is a nothing special, trying a horribly ridiculous camera angle
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 07:36 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 172
Total Cats: 0
Default

I like your guage placement. Car looks pretty fun to drive too.
J.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:06 PM   #10
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
m2cupcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,240
Total Cats: 290
Thumbs up more cams

we really need two more cameras - another one on the dash gauges (tach) and then one on the road... ok maybe three, another for the nose cam
m2cupcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:19 PM   #11
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 415
Total Cats: 0
Default

Vewry nice, but that sure looks like a narrow band in the center gauge slot
Scuba_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:22 PM   #12
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Steve View Post
Vewry nice, but that sure looks like a narrow band in the center gauge slot


a narrowband gauge yes, but one that refreshes at a surprisingly alarming rate and displays amazing accurate readings.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:55 PM   #13
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

oh oh oh, now i annotated the video.....even better!
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:58 PM   #14
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

aw it only works if you watch form youtube....
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 10:50 PM   #15
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Guam (U.S Terr.)
Posts: 786
Total Cats: -2
Default

My boost takes longer then yours to spool and im only at 6psi!! Stupid Greddy downpipe
mike_671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 11:01 PM   #16
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post


a narrowband gauge yes, but one that refreshes at a surprisingly alarming rate and displays amazing accurate readings.
you want more awesome?

if that gauge has a separate signal ground you can do this:
(1/4W resistors)
(not responsible if you blow your junk up)





It will change the response characteristic of your gauge but it'll move more linearly and follow your WBO2.

I did this with my SplitSecond and it worked ok.

Does your meter have numbers on it?
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 11:08 PM   #17
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

well it does, and it outputs pretty freaking fast, faster then a AEM refreshes, and no resistors are needed....since the lc-1 has a programmable output.

you guys gotta watch that last video within youtube and see my badass annotations.

there's a classic one in there.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 11:02 AM   #18
Newb
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Total Cats: 0
Default

Your setup comes on boost fast. I like it
spestis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 02:05 PM   #19
Ajb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 103
Total Cats: 0
Default

Ajb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 02:12 PM   #20
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajb View Post

wouldnt call that dirfting much....
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 57 07-19-2017 05:11 PM
Missing/knock at idle, can someone point me in the right direction? Mikel MEGAsquirt 4 09-28-2015 05:46 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.