Teaser Shot for the day... (turbo build thread) - Page 3 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2008, 01:13 AM   #41
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
that7guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 428
Total Cats: 7
Default

Looks good! Needs a full detail when its done though
that7guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 12:04 PM   #42
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
scott, when ARE you gonna get real brackets?
it ain't falling off. The lower bracket to the radiator secures any forward/backward movement, the top two secures any side/side movement, I bend them like i did so there was some play. I used a hump hose on the coldside and the 45 bend on the hotside will have play as well. like I said, it ain't falling off. I guess you never saw my previous bracket...you wont see them when i put my finishing panel over. do i care if it took me 3 minutes to make them? no. better than zip ties, which I have yet to use one yet
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 06:26 PM   #43
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 138
Total Cats: 0
Default

Looking good.

I used a Hyundai Accent X3 SOHC lower radiator hose on mine, the bends worked out sweet and clear the charge pipe by about an inch.

Just a thought if you need to replace the concertina one
ampz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 06:37 PM   #44
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Trent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,625
Total Cats: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
better than zip ties, which I have yet to use one yet
I use zip ties when holding things temporarily to fab up a bracket, etc. I think I have used two bags of zipties on the car all together.
Trent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 07:00 PM   #45
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

i suck, cant get it running. dont have my old megasquirt map so that makes it difficult, idles fora bout 15 seconds on 2 cylinders, so i guess that's an accomplishment...it's getting there, and then driven straight to a muffler shop.
Attached Thumbnails
Teaser Shot for the day... (turbo build thread)-img_5123-medium-.jpg   Teaser Shot for the day... (turbo build thread)-img_5124-medium-.jpg  
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 07:19 PM   #46
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Trent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,625
Total Cats: 5
Default

i don't know without looking at it, but does the coilpack ground through the bracket? You might want to attach by at least the top two bolts.
Trent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 08:24 PM   #47
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Saml01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,730
Total Cats: 2
Default

Hey Scott,

Did you wet sand the intercooler before spraying it?

I bought some flat acrylic paint and it says to sand prior to use.
Saml01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 08:33 PM   #48
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 482
Total Cats: 0
Default

so it all went well after i left? No leaks?
rappadan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 08:45 PM   #49
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago (Over two miles from Wrigley Field. Fuck the Cubs. Fuck them in their smarmy goat-hole.)
Posts: 26,315
Total Cats: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supersaiyan93 View Post
i don't know without looking at it, but does the coilpack ground through the bracket?
On a 1.6, the coilpack doesn't ground at all. There are three wires on the coilpack connector- one brings +12 into the (+) side of each coil, the other two are the individual (-) sides of the two coils going out to the active-low drivers on the ignitor, which is a separate unit mounted on the cold side of the engine compartment.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 11:12 PM   #50
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Trent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,625
Total Cats: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
On a 1.6, the coilpack doesn't ground at all. There are three wires on the coilpack connector- one brings +12 into the (+) side of each coil, the other two are the individual (-) sides of the two coils going out to the active-low drivers on the ignitor, which is a separate unit mounted on the cold side of the engine compartment.
Good to know. I haven't really dug into the ignition system on the miata yet. hell, i think that's the one thing I HAVEN'T messed with at this point. lol.
Trent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 02:37 AM   #51
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Why not put your COPs on?
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 10:54 AM   #52
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,037
Total Cats: 406
Default

yeah maybe not having COPs is confusing your squirt.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 11:38 AM   #53
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elesjuan View Post
Why not put your COPs on?
well, you can see I was trying both the COPs and stock coilpack. I just need to get my old map loaded and double check all my connections. I had the MS running the motor before i swapped them. So now I changed motors and injectors and didn't have my old map...It might be something stupid like i need new spark plugs, I may have forgot to push in an injector clip. I dunno.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saml01 View Post
Hey Scott,

Did you wet sand the intercooler before spraying it?

I bought some flat acrylic paint and it says to sand prior to use.
scotch-brite padded it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rappadan View Post
so it all went well after i left? No leaks?
nope, other than it not running, no issues.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 07:32 PM   #54
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Saml01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,730
Total Cats: 2
Default

Hey Scott.
Two questions.

1. What is the Length and I.D. of the flex radiator hose you used?

2. How did you get your turbo on without notching your frame? Kinda hard to tell but your turbo isnt clocked straight down, is it? I cant get my turbo on without notching it seems :( unless you know a trick.
Saml01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 07:38 PM   #55
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
Total Cats: 0
Default

Dwell setting? Didn't you lower your dwell to 2.5ms for the COP setup, vs stock? Shot in the dark...

Cheers!

Jeff
92MX5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 09:35 PM   #56
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,037
Total Cats: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92MX5 View Post
Dwell setting? Didn't you lower your dwell to 2.5ms for the COP setup, vs stock? Shot in the dark...

Cheers!

Jeff
it would still run if the dwell were wrong... just not in boost so well.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 09:05 AM   #57
Ben
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (33)
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: atlanta-ish
Posts: 12,689
Total Cats: 99
Default

Actually my factory coils seems to work better at 2.5ms dwell than it did at 5.0 ms dwell. I got about 12 psi out of them before blow out with new plugs at stock gap (.044"?).
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:15 AM   #58
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
m2cupcar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,236
Total Cats: 288
Default

Did you drive it to work this morning?
m2cupcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:24 AM   #59
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saml01 View Post
Hey Scott.
Two questions.

1. What is the Length and I.D. of the flex radiator hose you used?

2. How did you get your turbo on without notching your frame? Kinda hard to tell but your turbo isnt clocked straight down, is it? I cant get my turbo on without notching it seems :( unless you know a trick.
see my last build thread for info on radiator hose, it's the same one FM provides with their kits. NAPA part.

I don't rock no puny t25, I didn't need to notch the shelf.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92MX5 View Post
Dwell setting? Didn't you lower your dwell to 2.5ms for the COP setup, vs stock? Shot in the dark...
nope, however it think it has something to do with timing or fuel. I had to pull the CAS to put this engine back in so it could be too far off. I also have no tach so I may have forget a connector or two.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m2cupcar View Post
Did you drive it to work this morning?
no, didn't get to work on it all sunday. is sad, i know.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:29 AM   #60
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Saml01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,730
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
see my last build thread for info on radiator hose, it's the same one FM provides with their kits. NAPA part.

I don't rock no puny t25, I didn't need to notch the shelf.

It looks like your manifold is smaller, probably because you have a 1.6.

As for the hose, well, the pics are down. So if you have that information somewhere, id appreciate it.

https://www.miataturbo.net/forum/sho...ht=flex&page=6

Edit:

Found it.
http://www.boostedmiata.com/blown_en...ssemble006.jpg

and the answer to my second question.
Clocked inboard a bit.
http://www.boostedmiata.com/blown_en...ssemble009.jpg

Last edited by Saml01; 03-24-2008 at 10:52 AM.
Saml01 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Cast Manifold Corky Bell Prefabbed Turbo Kits 18 11-22-2016 10:01 PM
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 09:36 PM
3rd Time's a Charm...hopefully. zephyrusaurai Meet and Greet 2 09-28-2015 11:59 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 02:29 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.