Yet another video card thread - Page 5 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Gaming Discuss to your nerdy heart's content

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2012, 05:43 PM   #81
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

So assuming I get this card this weekend... what games should I be trying.

I used to mostly play good ole Counter Strike and Day of Defeat.
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:01 PM   #82
Boost Pope
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,323
Total Cats: 1,920
Default

Srsly?

Team Fortress 2.

It's free. Just sign up at Steam and download it: Team Fortress 2 on Steam



Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:11 PM   #83
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

Srsly!

And that was on the short list of new ones
I even remembered my old Steam account login!

Friend mee1!!!!4!!!!!1111 (splitime... i know... shocker.)
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 07:01 PM   #84
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

Or do I just get a 1gb model and save 30 bucks.
Brand new GTX 560 Ti 1GB - 3 Available

Or buy both and go dual... which from this thread... probably not wise due to drivers never being quite right?
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 10:25 PM   #85
Elite Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Pen2_the_penguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 3,690
Total Cats: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
Srsly?

Team Fortress 2.

It's free. Just sign up at Steam and download it: Team Fortress 2 on Steam



I refuse.



Also we have a free game thread... so take a look at that and join up for APB: Reloaded and BF P4F
Pen2_the_penguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:09 AM   #86
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: onion city,ca
Posts: 428
Total Cats: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
I think I've figured out the informal jargon that the industry has developed to describe this.

Looking at the link you posted, here's what they say about the PCIe x16 ports:
PCI Express 3.0 x16: 2 (x16/0 or x8/x8)
Physically, this board has two x16 ports, however it cannot run them both at full bandwidth. If only one card is installed (in the first or upper slot) then that card will run at x16 and the second port will be disabled (x16/0). If two cards are installed, then each will run at x8 (x8/x8).


youdathunk i coulda figured that out since i worked at a commodity hardware vendor before. thank u sir.
jasonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 04:56 AM   #87
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,440
Total Cats: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pen2_the_penguin View Post
Interesting. I have a 8800GTX in my gaming PC. So it looks like if I pickup a 570, I would have roughly 3.5x-4x the gfx performance. Not too shabby.

Now, if only I could buy a card to boost my free time by ANY amount...
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:50 AM   #88
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

HD4830 chiming in. oh yeah, i just overclocked that baby from 575MHz to 675MHz. now what?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:17 PM   #89
Boost Pope
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,323
Total Cats: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
HD4830 chiming in. oh yeah, i just overclocked that baby from 575MHz to 675MHz. now what?
Now you are Pyro, like me!

Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:38 PM   #90
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

hahah. I like the spy, but it gets boring. card worked well overclocked to 700MHZ, too bad I don't have a baller card like the rest of you or I wouldn't be in second place for kills, just under Joe.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:44 PM   #91
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

I'll try to join with my on cpu 2500hd Intel graphics....
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:02 PM   #92
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

itll probably be fine to be honest. I used to play CS on my laptop if I was traveling and still get #1 on the server.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:35 PM   #93
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

58 minutes until its able to run... bah.

I wish one of these people would get back to me about video cards... so I can get up to speed and PWN you all
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:49 PM   #94
Boost Pope
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,323
Total Cats: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
hahah. I like the spy, but it gets boring.
I suck at spy. I haven't put a whole lot of time into trying to master him, but he's definitely the most complicated class to play in terms of controls- lots of rapid switching between cloak / sap / stab / disguise where timing is critical.

That's why I really like Pyro and Heavy- they're very simple classes to play. Just point and click. Pyro, I guess, requires a bit more coordination, as I find myself using the flare gun more and more, but it's still not all that complex.

I'm also a big fan of Engie, especially on the CTF maps, and to a lesser degree, when playing Red on the PL maps. It's a very strategic class, but not a taxing one from a controls point of view. If done properly, your sentry should be doing all the work while you use the pistol only for spy-checking.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
too bad I don't have a baller card like the rest of you or I wouldn't be in second place for kills, just under Joe.
It is a poor craftsman who blames his tools.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Splitime View Post
58 minutes until its able to run... bah.

I wish one of these people would get back to me about video cards... so I can get up to speed and PWN you all
In all seriousness, is there a reason you're focusing only on used cards advertised on Craigslist, which is probably the flakiest bunch of people on earth? The prices I was seeing in those links didn't seem significantly lower than what I'd expect to pay for a mid-range card in a store.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 02:28 PM   #95
Elite Member
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Va Beach
Posts: 7,282
Total Cats: 0
Default

Soo have an old Dell dimension 8400 and I would like to upgrade the video card. I want an hd card for it. No gaming, just movies. Any suggestions?
__________________
Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
levnubhin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 02:38 PM   #96
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
Pyro, I guess, requires a bit more coordination, as I find myself using the flare gun more and more, but it's still not all that complex.

did you see how many flare gun kills I had? at least 10 of those 50 kills. That's my main selected weapon, then i hit q to switch to the fire breathing dragon of death. I got a rake kill in there, that was fun.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:30 PM   #97
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post

In all seriousness, is there a reason you're focusing only on used cards advertised on Craigslist, which is probably the flakiest bunch of people on earth? The prices I was seeing in those links didn't seem significantly lower than what I'd expect to pay for a mid-range card in a store.
Joe is all wise and knowing.

Went to Frys and bought a EVGA GTX560TI DS, 219 after rebate. Emailed the one person I was waiting on responses from... he sold his used one for 220 and hadn't bothered to tell me.

So I came home with a G330 headset and video card. Updating/configuring now... in soon
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:12 AM   #98
Boost Pope
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,323
Total Cats: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
did you see how many flare gun kills I had?
Well, you were flaming.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Splitime View Post
Joe is all wise and knowing.

Went to Frys and bought a EVGA GTX560TI DS, 219 after rebate. Emailed the one person I was waiting on responses from... he sold his used one for 220 and hadn't bothered to tell me.

So I came home with a G330 headset and video card. Updating/configuring now... in soon
They have a Fry's in Chicago?!

Good to see you in the game tonight. And from what I understand the 560TI is a pretty stellar unit.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:06 AM   #99
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,295
Total Cats: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
Well, you were flaming.


They have a Fry's in Chicago?!

Good to see you in the game tonight. And from what I understand the 560TI is a pretty stellar unit.
I think its the only one in IL.

So far so good. I'll rock it at 100% stock for awhile, thinking that I won't be running enough game to stress it and probably not have to touch it.

That said... holy crap I'm rusty at FPS games...
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:21 AM   #100
Boost Pope
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,323
Total Cats: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splitime View Post
That said... holy crap I'm rusty at FPS games...
Yeah, that's exactly how I felt when I first discovered Portal a couple of years ago, and then TF2 late last year. Prior to that, the last FPS I'd played was in 1999, just prior to graduating from college.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 58 12-13-2017 10:04 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 AM.