HDR photography thread - Page 2 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Insert BS here A place to discuss anything you want

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2008, 07:46 PM   #21
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Loki047's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,145
Total Cats: 0
Default

Are there auto settings on some cameras? IE Set it to HDR mode and it will take the 3 or whatever exposures for ya.
Loki047 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 08:05 PM   #22
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,252
Total Cats: 7
Default

Some cameras have a mode which takes 3-5 photos in rapid succession, but it doesn't change exposure setting in between shots. None have an HDR mode that I know of.
SamS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 12:52 AM   #23
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 42
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Some cameras have a mode which takes 3-5 photos in rapid succession, but it doesn't change exposure setting in between shots.
Most cameras will have a bracket feature that will take 3-5 shots at various exposures. When I do HDR, I only take 1 image and I adjust the exposure during post processing, then combine the images.

I prefer mild HDR, like this one


Others prefer a more cartoonish look in their HDR, like this


The problem with HDR is that people are using it to 'fix' poor photography skills. Images that lack proper framing, lighting and vehicle position are being used for HDR. Post processing can't fix a bad image.
got rice? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 03:08 AM   #24
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,846
Total Cats: 1,787
Default

here's another i played with:



Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 03:33 AM   #25
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,846
Total Cats: 1,787
Default

tried the single image faked exposure method here:

Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 09:57 AM   #26
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
TurboTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chesterfield, NJ
Posts: 6,484
Total Cats: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post

that looks ******* awesome.

New background!! Thanks Scott!! You da man.
TurboTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 06:20 PM   #27
Elite Member
iTrader: (24)
 
kotomile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 7,578
Total Cats: 40
Default

Tried 1 image, faked exposure method here too:



Name:  bbs001bright__dark.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  150.9 KB

I have a lot to learn on this Photomatix but I'll keep playing with it.

Edit - this one too:

Name:  DSCN0197-1.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  115.0 KB


Last edited by kotomile; 04-14-2008 at 06:30 PM.
kotomile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:30 PM   #28
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 42
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotomile View Post
Tried 1 image, faked exposure method here too:

Shoot that car in front of a nice location and it'll turn into a better shot. I like to use industrial back drops, which are generally pretty simple (less distractions)
got rice? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:05 AM   #29
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 406
Default

Ran across this program today:
http://projects.ict.usc.edu/graphics/HDRShop/

there's also a tonemapping plugin that may be useful.

Normal setting on my camera phone:


HDR Shop using -2, -1, 0, +1, +2 images.



The difference isn't spectacular but you can see more detail in the buildings in the foreground. plus it is a CELL PHONE.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:14 AM   #30
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 29
Total Cats: 0
Default

Might sound misinformed but isnt hdr used to contrast things with the sky?

Last edited by mazdamitch333; 04-15-2008 at 12:26 AM.
mazdamitch333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:22 AM   #31
Senior Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 734
Total Cats: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerchris View Post
The STI looks very angry. It's eyebrows, flared nostril, and bleak mouth say it all.
Unless that's a JDM car (which it doesn't look to be based on the steering wheel being on the left) it's not an STI.

There were no "bugeyes" (02-03) STI sold in the US. We started getting STI's in "peanut eye" (04-05) and 'blob eye' (06-07).
deliverator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:04 AM   #32
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazdamitch333 View Post
Might sound misinformed but isnt hdr used to contrast things with the sky?
sometimes.

the issue is that the world has infinite dynamic range and your vision automatically adjusts. so when you look at the sky, it doesn't blind you and when you look at the shadowy foreground, it isn't pitch black.

there are tons of other situations where bright objects are in scene with dark ones (night shots of lights, reflections, etc) and a limited dynamic range camera can't produce high contrast both in bright scenes AND dark scenes.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 03:10 PM   #33
Elite Member
iTrader: (24)
 
kotomile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 7,578
Total Cats: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by got rice? View Post
Shoot that car in front of a nice location and it'll turn into a better shot. I like to use industrial back drops, which are generally pretty simple (less distractions)
Very true, I just used what I had on my computer.
kotomile is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
My solution for Oiltemp and Oilpressure input into Megasuirt (MS3) Zaphod MEGAsquirt 41 01-24-2016 01:25 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.