The Dedicated URABUS Thread - Page 28 - Miata Turbo Forum -Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Insert BS here A place to discuss anything you want

View Poll Results: Do we need a Subaru Subforum?
Yes! We need this! 0 0%
No! It's not a Miata and I don't care! 0 0%
Yes! Plus I would like to nominate 18psi as autofellator 9,001 100.00%
Voters: 9001. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2014, 10:23 AM   #541
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: woosta, ma
Posts: 8,598
Total Cats: 91
Default

Tim how did you wire the wideband into the harness and make it work right? I know you could wire it to the tgv position wires and log that voltage but RR doesnt support user generated PIDs so you must have to do the math in your excel sheet, that I was kind of a deal breaker for me. Although someone was working on adding this support a while ago and I havent checked back in a long time.

re: the factory sensor. Widebands are also dependant on the exhaust gas pressure, the pre-turbo sensor once you get into boost is going to be skewed (rich iirc), once the exhaust gas pressure shoots up. In theory, you could use pre and post turbo widebands and some math to estimate exhaust gas pressure, but the stock wideband doesnt read rich enough.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 10:25 AM   #542
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,989
Default

It reads down to 11. And even stock these things dip lower than that past 5k

the stock o2 calibration is configurable, why wouldn't you be able to just wire in and re-calibrate like Timmah seems to have done? I kinda get how it works, just never tried it
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 10:37 AM   #543
SadFab CEO
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: your mom's house phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,299
Total Cats: 399
Default

i lied, $10 and free shipping. i got mine off ebay becuase i didnt want to wait from amazon. it was $19 total to get it here(AZ) in one day from illinois.
OBD2 OBD II Diagnostic USB Cable for KKL409 1 VAG com 409 New Free Shipping | eBay

and here is the amazon listing, note the first few reviews.
Amazon.com: Car Diagnostics USB OBDII 409 Interface VAG-COM Cable: Electronics Amazon.com: Car Diagnostics USB OBDII 409 Interface VAG-COM Cable: Electronics
hi_im_sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 10:47 AM   #544
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,121
Total Cats: 1,400
Default

I mean I'd gamble with $10. I paid something like $170 for my Tatrix and I've used it like thrice.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 10:52 AM   #545
SadFab CEO
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: your mom's house phoenix, AZ
Posts: 3,299
Total Cats: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I mean I'd gamble with $10. I paid something like $170 for my Tatrix and I've used it like thrice.
kind of my thought. if i start writing to the ECU, i might go for the tactrix. if i dont end up having to get a motor, i might do some "email tuning" in the near future as ive never been a fan of the cobb OTS.
hi_im_sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 10:58 AM   #546
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: woosta, ma
Posts: 8,598
Total Cats: 91
Default

cant you use access port race tuner to write to the ecu with your APv1? or is that only an option on the v2 and later.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:00 AM   #547
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,121
Total Cats: 1,400
Default

I have no idea what I'm doing and pretty much came up with my own tune.

I borrowed a lot from 18psi and others online, did a bit of research and came up with something that worked for me.

the biggest changes were to the AVDC and DBW maps. I've been pretty darn happy with the tune. I'd still like to tweak the DBW map slightly, it's aggro, but other than that it's been a huge improvement over stock.


Hey vlad, does the WRX boost solenoid work just like one on MS? I've toyed with the idea of installing a switch on the solenoid to turn it on/off so I can run wastegate boost when I'm try to be a cheap jew to get an extra 0.25mpg and then flip it on when I wanna run 18psi.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:03 AM   #548
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,989
Default

lol
it will pop a code if you cut power to it, and the last time I disabled that code it disabled the 3port from working, dunno if it was just that car (06 sti) or what but it didn't work for me

and Leafy, you mean Accesstuner Race, and no it only works on V2 and up
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:06 AM   #549
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: woosta, ma
Posts: 8,598
Total Cats: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I have no idea what I'm doing and pretty much came up with my own tune.

I borrowed a lot from 18psi and others online, did a bit of research and came up with something that worked for me.

the biggest changes were to the AVDC and DBW maps. I've been pretty darn happy with the tune. I'd still like to tweak the DBW map slightly, it's aggro, but other than that it's been a huge improvement over stock.


Hey vlad, does the WRX boost solenoid work just like one on MS? I've toyed with the idea of installing a switch on the solenoid to turn it on/off so I can run wastegate boost when I'm try to be a cheap jew to get an extra 0.25mpg and then flip it on when I wanna run 18psi.
why not just scale your boost target and desired torque maps to achieve the same thing. I got my lc1 to work again by reflashing the firmware 3 times and stuff so I'm back to hunt for gas mileage in the tune. getting 21 mixed on winter fuel in no bueno.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:09 AM   #550
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,989
Default

if you want better gas mileage from a turbo subaru go get a 15 wrx.
otherwise stop wasting time
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:10 AM   #551
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,121
Total Cats: 1,400
Default

i dont think I'll be able to acheive the same without effecting performance when i wanna toy around.

i always average 1-2mpg less in winter. I've been averaging 22-23mpg all year though. That's pretty much 80% rush hour hwy driving + 20% city.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:14 AM   #552
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: woosta, ma
Posts: 8,598
Total Cats: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
i dont think I'll be able to acheive the same without effecting performance when i wanna toy around.

i always average 1-2mpg less in winter. I've been averaging 22-23mpg all year though. That's pretty much 80% rush hour hwy driving + 20% city.
You'd only be adjusting the target boost below 50% throttle though. Not really going to effect your performance its an AWD pig, you're not going to use under 50% throttle when thrashing it.

My mileage stays the same between summer and winter because my snow tires are lower rolling resistance than my summers.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:32 AM   #553
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,989
Default

I've tried it, and it sucked for trying to drive quickly. Makes the car feel bi-polar. did not like
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:38 AM   #554
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
TurboTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chesterfield, NJ
Posts: 6,174
Total Cats: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
Tim how did you wire the wideband into the harness and make it work right? I know you could wire it to the tgv position wires and log that voltage but RR doesnt support user generated PIDs so you must have to do the math in your excel sheet, that I was kind of a deal breaker for me. Although someone was working on adding this support a while ago and I havent checked back in a long time.
Oh come on guys, you know I'm not that slick.

Under the "external sensor" tab I click on AEM UEGO which adds it to the parameter list, where you can view/record it along with all the other fun stuff. So the Vag com cable goes to one USB port, my AEM wideband goes to another USB port. I follow the AEM instructions on how to wire their sensor to a serial port, then use DIYAutotune's serial to usb converter.

Last edited by TurboTim; 12-17-2014 at 11:48 AM.
TurboTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:39 AM   #555
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: woosta, ma
Posts: 8,598
Total Cats: 91
Default

Lol I guess its the driving style. If I'm driving hard with the wrx theres only like 0% throttle or 70-100%. The stuff from 1% to 69% doesnt really exist. Huck it in and use as much power as you can without spinning the inside front wheel too much, which most of the time on sticky summer tires is nearly full throttle with tiny ***** td04 power.

Its not like I mean fully off until a certain throttle position. Right now my boost is more or less linear with throttle position. Making it linear above like 60%, basically nothing from 0-30% and then a blend in between the two should still drive well, you're just going to spend a couple days getting it just right.

Dammit tim. haha. Thats basically what you do with the innovate stuff except I just plug the stereo jack connector into my usb to serial converter.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:50 AM   #556
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboTim View Post
Oh come on guys, you know I'm not that slick.

Under the "external sensor" tab I click on AEM UEGO. So the Vag com cable goes to one USB port, my AEM wideband goes to another USB port. I follow the AEM instructions on how to wire their sensor to a serial port, then use DIYAutotune's serial to usb converter.
lol

so exactly like the rest of us
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
Lol I guess its the driving style. If I'm driving hard with the wrx theres only like 0% throttle or 70-100%. The stuff from 1% to 69% doesnt really exist. Huck it in and use as much power as you can without spinning the inside front wheel too much, which most of the time on sticky summer tires is nearly full throttle with tiny ***** td04 power.

Its not like I mean fully off until a certain throttle position. Right now my boost is more or less linear with throttle position. Making it linear above like 60%, basically nothing from 0-30% and then a blend in between the two should still drive well, you're just going to spend a couple days getting it just right.

Dammit tim. haha. Thats basically what you do with the innovate stuff except I just plug the stereo jack connector into my usb to serial converter.
One of my favorite things about these cars is the part throttle torque onset.
I've tried what you're saying, and me and scott even discussed it on many occasions, in theory it sounds cool but in application it sucks. Just my .02
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:12 PM   #557
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,121
Total Cats: 1,400
Default

FLAT OUT.

i pretty much drive 0-5% throttle.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:20 PM   #558
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33,150
Total Cats: 1,989
Default

if that is true then disconnecting the bcs wont do anything
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:58 PM   #559
Boost Czar

iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 70,121
Total Cats: 1,400
Default

well not on hills. :P
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 02:49 AM   #560
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 638
Total Cats: 102
Default

gesso is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Definitive "VVT swap into 91 chassis" Failure Build Eunos91 Build Threads 17 03-26-2016 08:39 PM
Miata assorted accessories VRRMPSH Miata parts for sale/trade 9 02-18-2016 03:50 PM
Tuning Idle Valve MS2E Rev build willeywilson MEGAsquirt 11 02-10-2016 07:27 PM
PT vs NPT MartinezA92 Insert BS here 9 02-09-2016 11:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.