My 2001 NB Adaptronic install thread - Page 2 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2009, 01:13 PM   #21
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

MAP during cranking should be closer to 100kPa.

timing 7-15 degrees depending on what works best.

and given your stock injectors, i'd suggest almost doubling your cranking ms below about 30C. so at -10C, use like 130 for example.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:31 PM   #22
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
cjernigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,147
Total Cats: 6
Default

I'll be following this as well. My adaptronic is plugged in but the car has sat for over 7 months untouched. Maybe i'll get time this weekend to do that.
cjernigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:33 PM   #23
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
MAP during cranking should be closer to 100kPa.

timing 7-15 degrees depending on what works best.

and given your stock injectors, i'd suggest almost doubling your cranking ms below about 30C. so at -10C, use like 130 for example.

Going to try this right now.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:51 PM   #24
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

Doubled all the settings below 30* and played with the timing between 7-15* and still nothing. A couple stumbles and a big backfire, but no idle
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:51 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mundelein, IL
Posts: 59
Total Cats: 0
Default

When you get close, small changes can make a big difference... Going from 132 to 133 for example made a big difference in my starts at a certain temp.
micagreenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 02:16 PM   #26
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

I tried setting the enrichment from 120 (in steps of 1) to 150. Nothing really changed other than the smell of raw fuel and a couple massive backfires.

Is there anything else I may want to look for? When I revert to the stock ecu, everything is fine.

While cranking on the Adaptronic, it feels a lot rougher and the whole engine/car shakes and rattles. Is this indicative of anything? Flooding? I do a few cycles of cranking at WOT to clear any possible fuel.

My key light will sometimes come on in the gauge cluster, does this just happen if the engine fails to fire after x amount of revolutions?

So discouraging.... :(

Last edited by dgmorr; 12-19-2009 at 03:01 PM.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:36 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Are you sure the MAP sensor is still getting a good reading?
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 05:43 PM   #28
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

I was wondering about the MAP sensor as well. My vacuum pump can go to 2inHG on the gauge, but when at that reading the MAP shows 29kPa
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 06:45 PM   #29
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

2inHg is almost no vacuum... most cars idle at closer to 16-22 inHg.

you sure you dont mean 20 inHg? cuz that's pretty close to 29kPa.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 06:49 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgmorr View Post
Is there any reason why my fuel pump is louder with the adaptronic? I never used to hear it....ever. And I have never had my fans come on at idle, at least not while sitting in my driveway.
You'll find it will be this loud on the stock ECU if you ground F/P on the diagnostics connector.

This is just a guess but I think the stock ECU relies on existing pressure in the fuel system for starting, then fires up the fuel pump after. Grounding F/P will cause the fuel pump to run all the time, like it does on the Adaptronic.
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:25 PM   #31
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
2inHg is almost no vacuum... most cars idle at closer to 16-22 inHg.

you sure you dont mean 20 inHg? cuz that's pretty close to 29kPa.
You're correct, the pump gauge shows 20inHg.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saboteur View Post
You'll find it will be this loud on the stock ECU if you ground F/P on the diagnostics connector.

This is just a guess but I think the stock ECU relies on existing pressure in the fuel system for starting, then fires up the fuel pump after. Grounding F/P will cause the fuel pump to run all the time, like it does on the Adaptronic.
Makes sense
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 08:45 PM   #32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

is there something wrong with my ecu?

EDIT: rebooted the laptop a couple times and I was able to reflash the ecu. This is starting to get to me.


Last edited by dgmorr; 12-19-2009 at 09:02 PM.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 09:39 PM   #33
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

Ok, first set of spark plugs fouled . Not sure why I waited this long to check.

They're soaked in fuel and black. Gonna pick up some new ones this morning when stores open up.



Last edited by dgmorr; 12-20-2009 at 11:41 AM.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 04:06 PM   #34
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

OMG it runs! Got the new plugs in. I cheated and warmed it up on the OEM ecu. Flashed to V2.000 again and all is well. Now I have to wait for my LC-1 to get here to see what is really going on.

How on earth could the old plugs have gotten so bad



Takes a couple seconds to actually start from cranking

Notes to self:
cranking
MX-5 takes ages to start

additional idle tips
http://www.adaptronic.com.au/forum/i...hp?topic=232.0

Last edited by dgmorr; 12-21-2009 at 12:17 PM.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 02:03 PM   #35
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

What do you guys use for your max MAP setting? 5-10psi over the max boost you want to run? I'm planning to run no more than 15psi at the most, should I have my MAP sensor set to a max of 18psi so I can have more usable adjustment range on the tuning tables?

Last edited by dgmorr; 12-21-2009 at 06:15 PM.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 10:48 PM   #36
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

So I was in the garage trying to fine tune idle and crank. While I was doing the cranking fuel portion and trying to start it up I had thick grey smoke coming out of the intake filter/header area. I turned it off and went to my room to cry for a bit.

Any idea on what it was? Not familiar with the smell at all. It happened while the engine was trying to fire, but couldn't quite make it and was struggling at 250-300 rpms.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 11:59 PM   #37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central, NJ
Posts: 201
Total Cats: 0
Default

Damn... Everyone else's issues scary me from even installing mine. Good luck dgmorr. Hopefully someone else can help.
PhantomRoadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 02:36 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgmorr View Post
So I was in the garage trying to fine tune idle and crank. While I was doing the cranking fuel portion and trying to start it up I had thick grey smoke coming out of the intake filter/header area. I turned it off and went to my room to cry for a bit.

Any idea on what it was? Not familiar with the smell at all. It happened while the engine was trying to fire, but couldn't quite make it and was struggling at 250-300 rpms.
This happened to me as well, exact same scenario. I happened to notice the engine was running backwards (direction of pulley/belt movement reversed), I'm not shitting you.
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 09:07 AM   #39
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saboteur View Post
This happened to me as well, exact same scenario. I happened to notice the engine was running backwards (direction of pulley/belt movement reversed), I'm not shitting you.
You actually saw it move backwards? This was my first guess, but I was sitting in the car so I couldn't see it in time.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 02:58 PM   #40
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mundelein, IL
Posts: 59
Total Cats: 0
Default

Ha...

I've seen model airplane engines do that, but never a real engine! Wow.
micagreenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Walbro 255lph Fuel Pump $50 lsc224 Miata parts for sale/trade 2 10-01-2015 10:17 AM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.