Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean

Hello everyone,

I am finally starting to modify my 05' MSM that I purchased back in September 2011. I'll start off with a few pictures of how the car sits now. The only current mod is the MR SS tall kit that I just installed last week Friday.
Attached Thumbnails
Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean-2012-03-22-12.49.05.jpg   Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean-2012-03-22-12.48.45.jpg   Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean-2012-03-22-12.50.01.jpg   Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean-2012-03-22-12.51.07.jpg   Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean-2012-03-22-12.51.16.jpg  

Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 01:14 PM   #2
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

My hp goals are for roughly 320 rwhp and 300 ft-lb of torque. I plan to split my build into 4 phases. The first 2 phases are entirely engine related. The 3rd phase will address suspension, tires, rollcage, etc. The 4th phase will be aero and asthetics.

Next week on the 28th I am having a local shop (LHT Performance) build me a custom 3" exhaust and dp. Will be back in town to pick up the car on the 31st and I will be sure to post pics. I have already picked up some 650cc injectors, an LC-1, and will be getting an MS3 from reverant soon when his build is updated. I plan on getting a mishimoto intercooler and am still not sure how I want to handle the intake.

I looked at the speedy 1 kit from BEGI to replace the throttle body inlet pipe, intake, and bypass valve all at the same time but I wasn't sure if anyone had any better suggestions.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:22 AM   #3
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 196
Total Cats: 0
Default

car looks nice man.
PatrickB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:52 PM   #4
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickB View Post
car looks nice man.
Thanks!

I just ordered a MS2 enhanced from reverant and also have my mishimoto intercooler on the way. My exhaust will be getting installed this week with many pictures to come. I think for the intake I will be getting a BEGI speedy 1 kit as I have no fabrication skills and honestly just want something top quality that won't give me a headache since this is my DD.

I have a dilemma though. I have an LC-1 but no guage and still do not have a boost gauge. I know I should have these but I wanted to not clutter my interior with gauges as I don't like the look. I wanted to do a maxiguage setup but am pretty unclear, after reading the thread, as to how hard that will be to setup for me. I have no electrical experience but want to do it myself. Is it fairly straightforward or would I be in over my head?

Should I just break down and get the two gauges and put them in my glovebox or something?
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:12 PM   #5
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 281
Total Cats: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_G View Post
Should I just break down and get the two gauges and put them in my glovebox or something?
My plan is to replace my double din factory head unit with a factory single din bose heat unit to keep the OEM look and get a triple gauge pod to fill the other single din. Haven't had time to complete it, but it looks a lot cleaner than an A-piller gauge pod IMO.
palmtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:19 PM   #6
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

I agree. I have thought about this but I was considering the maxigauge unit because of its relatively cheap price point with a total of 8 outputs making monitoring other areas easier without more gauges. Not sure which route I want to go yet.

Do I need gauges before I starting tuning or can I monitor that stuff with a laptop in the car while tuning and then just use warning lights to make sure I don't run the engine if anything is going critically wrong?

I feel like I know the answer to this already but I am not sure if anyone else has tuned without gauges. If I keep it conservative until I have the necessary outputs would it be doable without being too risky? The car is an msm so most of the mods are just replacing working parts so I feel like the car will have less problems as long as I take my time and do it right.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:23 PM   #7
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 281
Total Cats: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_G View Post
I agree. I have thought about this but I was considering the maxigauge unit because of its relatively cheap price point with a total of 8 outputs making monitoring other areas easier without more gauges. Not sure which route I want to go yet.

Do I need gauges before I starting tuning or can I monitor that stuff with a laptop in the car while tuning and then just use warning lights to make sure I don't run the engine if anything is going critically wrong?

I feel like I know the answer to this already but I am not sure if anyone else has tuned without gauges. If I keep it conservative until I have the necessary outputs would it be doable without being too risky? The car is an msm so most of the mods are just replacing working parts so I feel like the car will have less problems as long as I take my time and do it right.
Just the laptop will give you all the readouts you need and you can configure the warning thresholds to your preference. All you really need is the wideband. You can even configure TS to readout boost.

I looked into the maxi gauge too, but it looks a little too complex for my liking. I will be running a wideband, boost gauge, and water temp/oil pressure combo gauge.
palmtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:35 PM   #8
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

what kind of gauges are you gonna run (i.e. brands) I don't want to dish out an insane amount for gauges because honestly I am not sure how much I will actually look at them unless a warning light goes off. This is another reason I like maxigauge. All the warning lights make it more useful but I am with you. It seems complicated to setup unless you know how to wire and I don't know anyone who will wire it without charging an insane amount. The shop that is doing my dp and exhaust for a good price charges $75 a gauge. I can't imagine what they would charge for a maxigauge install.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:12 PM   #9
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 281
Total Cats: 5
Default

I run an AEM UEGO, Prosport mechnical ultra lite boost gauge, and I am about to order one of these guys:
http://www.veisystems.com/d1-instruments.html
palmtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:22 PM   #10
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

Wow I like those gauges. The ones you linked. I might just grab some of those. Six outputs for the same price as the maxigauge and way easier to install. Very nice thanks a lot. Looks like they will be very easy to read too.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 04:41 PM   #11
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 281
Total Cats: 5
Default

Glad to help! I was told about them by hustler. I have seen them in person, and their build quality is badass.
palmtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:25 PM   #12
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

I am trying to figure out what to do for my intake and have come to a dilemma. I wanted to get the speedy 1 kit from Begi since it is high quality and replaces parts I need to replace anyway but i just realized that when I upgrade my exhaust manifold to one of Abe's top mount ramhorn units the Begi intake won't fit right. It can probably be modified but will that be worth it or is there something else I can do for the intake that won't be as hard to modify.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:15 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 62
Total Cats: 1
Default

For a stealth boost gauge installation you could replace the useless oilpressure gauge with a 52 mm Prosport gauge.
http://www.mazdaspeedy.com/2012/02/p...nside.html?m=1
Its the best location for any gauge imho.
Attached Thumbnails
Ryan's build thread - Clean and Mean-image_34e47f2d-8d0f-4641-8c24-1d05256077ad.jpg  
arildh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:07 PM   #14
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

I just picked up my car from LHT Performance with the new custom 3" exhaust and downpipe. The car sounds and performs amazing. It spools noticeably sooner and has a bit more power. It looks like a stock pipe to the untrained eye, John does incredible work.




Last edited by Ryan_G; 04-03-2012 at 08:39 PM.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:58 PM   #15
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

I also have these goodies waiting to be installed. The intercooler will probably go in soon but the rest most likely won't go in until I receive my MS2 from Rev.

Mishimoto z-line intercooler


650cc injectors


VEI Systems dual monitor boost/wideband O2 gauge with a ATI epod steering column gauge pod.


I also have a LC-1 wideband controller and sensor waiting to be installed.
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:20 AM   #16
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

Tall kit?

Also those injectors are probably small for your hp goals.
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 08:19 AM   #17
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

"Tall" refers to the height of the shifter as there is a stock height and tall height which is closer to the steering wheel. Yes the 650cc injectors will only take me to about 290 whp and I will need to get some 750cc injectors later. However, I won't get to the second phase of the engine part of my build because I will probably tackle the suspension, wheels, and safety concerns first before I build the engine with forged internals to reach my end goal numbers
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:20 AM   #18
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

Do it once do it right

Buy ID2000s or at least 1000s
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:22 AM   #19
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 151
Default

I think those are a little large for my application lol
Ryan_G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:16 AM   #20
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

What turbo are you going with?

Within a certain range, you can not have too much fueling headroom!
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 03:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 07:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 12:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 12:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.