The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread. - Page 29 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Engine Performance This section is for discussion on all engine building related questions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2018, 05:44 PM   #561  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 294
Total Cats: 17
Default

Am I doing this correctly?
Attached Thumbnails
The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread.-9c51a735-cf3a-412f-9a1e-27be9d49bbd8.jpeg  
Stock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 05:46 PM   #562  
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Salinas, CA
Posts: 278
Total Cats: 19
Default

doing what correctly?

Nevermind picture hadn't uploaded yet I guess. I have no idea though, I just bought the DIY MS3 pnp pro
konmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 09:56 AM   #563  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 294
Total Cats: 17
Default

Sorry, that wasn't meant to be cryptic. Posted at work and meant to edit got sidetracked and forgot. I'm VVT swapping my 95, did I get all I need to build a MS3 properly?
Stock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 10:23 AM   #564  
Senior Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 504
Total Cats: 5
Default

Go to trubokitty.com
ysleem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 10:43 AM   #565  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 294
Total Cats: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ysleem View Post
Go to trubokitty.com
That's where that list was compiled from, just looking for verbal confirmation past that.
Stock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:44 PM   #566  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default

Has anyone wired up a NB alternator to an ms3 successfully yet?
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 11:53 AM   #567  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default



I got my swap done, fired up right away and idled well on the MS3Basic basemap. I drove the car around on Saturday to rough in a VE table and Autocrossed the car on Sunday in the pooring rain without hiccup. The only pending issue I have currently is my tach still does not work. I wired the ignitor wires blk/wht and yel/blue together. There is a 1k ohm resistor in the Diag box from when I had COPs on the car as a 1.6 between -IG and +B. Having thread thru this thread multiple times I am still a bit confused on what I need to do to get the tach working again. Here are the 3 common trends I see in this thread about getting the tach back

1) wire Black/White and Yellow/Blue together at the ignitor harness - this redirects the tach back to the cluster
2) wire the Tach output pin on the ECU options plug to the Black/White wire on the stock ECU harness
3) wire the Tach output pin on the ECU options plug directly to the Yellow/Blue wire on the cluster harness plug

There was a bit of discussion around this, but no body seemed to verify what worked and what did not.
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:09 PM   #568  
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,746
Total Cats: 1,634
Default

It depends on the year of the chassis (i.e. the wiring) and which coils you are using. You have VVT coils with no tach output, so you need to use the ECU to drive your tach. There are probably OEM wires which already run from the ECU area to the cluster, so just figure out which wire to connect the tach output to, and then configure the tach output appropriately.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:55 PM   #569  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default

So on my 1991 Federal car, it appears I would need to wire the Tach Output from the MS3 Basic to ECU pin 2I which is the yellow/blue wire for Igniter Terminal E. I am curious why this is not done internally in the MS3 and requires and external wire run to solve.
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:58 PM   #570  
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 74,461
Total Cats: 2,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedz0r View Post
So on my 1991 Federal car, it appears I would need to wire the Tach Output from the MS3 Basic to ECU pin 2I which is the yellow/blue wire for Igniter Terminal E. I am curious why this is not done internally in the MS3 and requires and external wire run to solve.
cause, even when you wire it to 2I, you still need to physically splice together the B/W wire from 2I going to the igniter to the Yel/Blu wire coming out of the igniter that goes back to the dash tach.

I prewire my 90-94 units this way in case someone upgrades...
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 02:08 PM   #571  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
cause, even when you wire it to 2I, you still need to physically splice together the B/W wire from 2I going to the igniter to the Yel/Blu wire coming out of the igniter that goes back to the dash tach.

I prewire my 90-94 units this way in case someone upgrades...
This makes sense, thanks for the clarification.
So wiring Tach output from the MS3 to 2I on the ECU connection will bring my tach back.
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 03:16 PM   #572  
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 74,461
Total Cats: 2,038
Default

only if you then connect 2I to the tach...

2I only connects the ECU to the ignitor connector.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 05:53 PM   #573  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default

So I wired pin10 on the DB37 connector, which is yel/grn to 2I on the 91 ECU harness which is yel/blu and got a no start which is odd to me. Guess I'll just run pin10 to the cluster itself
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 10:11 AM   #574  
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 74,461
Total Cats: 2,038
Default

what coils are you even running right now? why did you remove the COPs?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 10:39 AM   #575  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default

stock 01 VVT coil near plug. Toyota COPs came off because they did not fit in the valve cover without significant trimming and no options for a mounting plate. I ran a wire from the ECU Tach out to the cluster and wired it to the white plug pin H which us yel/blu and I got the tach back.
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2018, 09:28 PM   #576  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Chicago
Posts: 200
Total Cats: -9
Default

Just want to confirm NB Crank sensor wiring positions from the sensor to harness connector.

On the crank sensor connector - The red is for 12v power, blue is signal and black is the ground. The equivalent harness side connector would be matched with wh/red 12v, grey/red for signal and black blue for ground. Thanks.
stevos555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2018, 07:08 PM   #577  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 71
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post

All three intake manifolds have the same throttle body location. Any 1994-2005 throttle body can be used, but the 99-05 TB is more desirable for its internal idle valve routing, which makes plumbing for custom 2.5" cold air intakes or intercooler piping much simpler. Using the 99-05 throttle body will require that you change the TPS and IAC valve pigtails, but this is a fairly simple modification. The 1990-1993 throttle body cannot be used on the 99-05 manifold without an adapter, and you lose the benefits of the linear TPS on all 94-05 throttle bodies.

Use a 1999-2005 throttle cable. It will bolt directly into the NA chassis and fit perfectly with the NB engine. The NA cable is too long.
Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, I would like to use an NB throttle body on my 95 with the stock engine. Do I need to use the NB throttle cable as well or does this only apply if I swap to an NB motor?
Marioshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 03:28 PM   #578  
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 21
Total Cats: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marioshi View Post
Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, I would like to use an NB throttle body on my 95 with the stock engine. Do I need to use the NB throttle cable as well or does this only apply if I swap to an NB motor?
Since you would be putting a NB throttle body on an NA intake manifold, you would use the NA throttle cable. This mainly has to do with where the throttle cable bracket resides on the intake manifold. On NB manifolds, the bracket is much closer to the throttle body than on NA manifolds making the NA much too long on an NB manifold.

Use the NA throttle cable on the NB throttle body mounted to a NA intake manifold.
hedz0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 03:46 PM   #579  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 71
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedz0r View Post
Since you would be putting a NB throttle body on an NA intake manifold, you would use the NA throttle cable. This mainly has to do with where the throttle cable bracket resides on the intake manifold. On NB manifolds, the bracket is much closer to the throttle body than on NA manifolds making the NA much too long on an NB manifold.

Use the NA throttle cable on the NB throttle body mounted to a NA intake manifold.
Awesome! Just the info I needed. I had an inkling that was right, but wanted to make sure before I started taking stuff apart just to find I did not have the right parts.
Marioshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 01:53 PM   #580  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 71
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hedz0r View Post
Since you would be putting a NB throttle body on an NA intake manifold, you would use the NA throttle cable. This mainly has to do with where the throttle cable bracket resides on the intake manifold. On NB manifolds, the bracket is much closer to the throttle body than on NA manifolds making the NA much too long on an NB manifold.

Use the NA throttle cable on the NB throttle body mounted to a NA intake manifold.
Follow up for anyone who feels like helping this newb! So I bought new connectors for my NB TPS and IAC, the only problem is, they have all black leads coming from them and I can't for the life of me figure out which wires to connect them too. On the TPS, I know you ignore the red one. Can someone post from top to bottom on the sensor which is which (5v, signal, and ground?)

From the wiring diagram it looks like:

Top: 5V
Middle: Singal
Bottom: Ground

I just want to be sure I am not reading this upside down...
Marioshi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 03:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 07:18 PM
Noob to Miataturbo from MA JxPhan Meet and Greet 3 10-02-2015 02:17 AM
Low oil pressure after 1.8 swap and new turbo setup JesseTheNoob DIY Turbo Discussion 15 09-30-2015 02:44 PM
VR6 to Miata Swap ScrapinMX5 Meet and Greet 8 09-28-2015 01:04 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.




We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.