the thread where Savington asks a lot of really, really dumb questions. - Page 2 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2009, 05:01 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sparta, NJ
Posts: 96
Total Cats: 0
Default

You may have already dealt with the issue, but you can use the MAF input (2O) as the input for your MAP. Althought the AEM does have the MAP input on plug 4, you can just go to the sensor setup and set the input to the MAF signal and it works. I found it much easier to use the MAF sensor wiring instead of running another signal wire.
avante43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 05:45 PM   #22
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,322
Total Cats: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by avante43 View Post
You may have already dealt with the issue, but you can use the MAF input (2O) as the input for your MAP. Althought the AEM does have the MAP input on plug 4, you can just go to the sensor setup and set the input to the MAF signal and it works. I found it much easier to use the MAF sensor wiring instead of running another signal wire.
I wish I thought of that. Damn you!
dustinb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 11:49 AM   #23
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
TurboTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chesterfield, NJ
Posts: 6,481
Total Cats: 248
Default

It's really simple to take a wire out of the terminal plug and move it to whatever terminal you want.
TurboTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 01:31 PM   #24
Senior Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Murfreesboro,TN
Posts: 1,275
Total Cats: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboTim View Post
It's really simple to take a wire out of the terminal plug and move it to whatever terminal you want.
But is it easier than just telling the ECU it is a MAP and not a MAF?
Midtenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:45 PM   #25
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

Might be - my wiring harness has been stripped down and I'm not even sure 2O exists on my car.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:01 PM   #26
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

e: i'm a moron.
[/idiot]
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 08:15 PM   #27
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,322
Total Cats: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post
e: i'm a moron.
[/idiot]Ok, I'm trying this again. I can't seem to get the injector/ignition phasing options to change - I change the number in the box and it jumps right back as soon as I hit tab. What gives?
rofl, I had that same problem when I started using it
dustinb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 09:14 PM   #28
Elite Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 2,791
Total Cats: 71
Default

dont you have to hit enter?

:P
shlammed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 11:22 PM   #29
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shlammed View Post
dont you have to hit enter?

:P
Yep. I was really confused for a couple of minutes though.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 07:48 PM   #30
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

Oh snaps, it fired up. New MAP sensor fixed it. Swapped injectors as well so I set all that up again. Looks like I am seeing too many RPM, though - the engine sounds like it's lugging along at ~1000ish but RPM on the AEM says ~2000+.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 08:02 PM   #31
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
TurboTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chesterfield, NJ
Posts: 6,481
Total Cats: 248
Default

If the ecu thought it was running twice the speed, wouldn't it be firing on the compression stroke too? I dunno.

I'm glad to hear the MAP sensor fixed that issue.
TurboTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 08:06 PM   #32
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,322
Total Cats: 12
Default

Make sure all of the sensors are set properly (cam sensor etc). For some reason I seem to remember having this problem myself, but can't remember how I fixed it...
dustinb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 08:14 PM   #33
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

yeah, all my cam/crank sensor settings reset themselves. Set it all back and now RPM is half of what it should be. Car is giving little hints of firing but its not quite there.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 04:35 AM   #34
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

OK, got all the settings back to where they need to be as per Cuadra's 2001 VVT settings. It cranks and syncs but all I get are backfires. I have spark, I assume the backfires mean I have fuel, but I'm starting to wonder whether everything is firing in the right order. What datalog do you guys (Jason, Julien, et.al) need to help me diagnose this?

I'm so close...
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 11:47 AM   #35
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,454
Total Cats: 80
Default

Maybe you have the COP signal wiring wrong.
I presume you used the COP/VVT settings? (as opposed to the non COP settings)

Last edited by JasonC SBB; 02-12-2010 at 12:31 PM.
JasonC SBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 12:38 PM   #36
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
TurboTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chesterfield, NJ
Posts: 6,481
Total Cats: 248
Default

When I first installed my COPs in sequential I had major backfiring. I played around until I got them to work. It wasn't until I reinstalled the OEM coils a month ago that I figured out what was wrong. The default AEM wiring/naming has "coil 1" being the wire that runs to the coil pack that fired cyls 2&3. "coil 2" fired 1 & 4.

This may not be your issue at all, and I run my COPs where coil 1 fires cyl 1, etc.

I was able to run the car on 1 or 2 cylinders while diagnosing the issue (activating one coil/injector at a time to see what cyls are backfiring). Definitely a scary time and sounds like rods are being bent. I blew my boost gauge hose off too.
TurboTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 12:52 PM   #37
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,454
Total Cats: 80
Default

The setup I posted requires that coil outputs 1,2,3,4 connect to COPs 1,2,3,4:

AEM trigger and dwell setup for '99~'05 with Toyota COPs - MX-5 Miata Forum
JasonC SBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 02:54 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post
OK, got all the settings back to where they need to be as per Cuadra's 2001 VVT settings. It cranks and syncs but all I get are backfires. I have spark, I assume the backfires mean I have fuel, but I'm starting to wonder whether everything is firing in the right order. What datalog do you guys (Jason, Julien, et.al) need to help me diagnose this?

I'm so close...
I saw your post at the AEM forums first so I answered there. Give me that list, then I'll tell you whether what you have in your ignition and injection positions is correct If you're just copying you might be off - i.e. Jason's wired his ECU different than mine (different outputs fire different cylinders/coils) so just copying numbers might not be a good idea without understanding what they mean first
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 03:12 PM   #39
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,355
Total Cats: 1,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Man @ AEM Forums
Hi Savington,

I see that in your cam/crank setup you used the settings I did for '99/'00 Miata crank/cam pattern (I guess you got them from Jason). When synced with this pattern your sync point is 180 degrees shifted in the engine cycle -> '94 Miata stock syncs at cylinder #4 TDC and with the '99/'00 pattern and my sync pattern numbers the sync point is moved to cylinder #2 TDC.

Stat Sync'd (if that's what you mean by sync status) once switches to ON stays steady while cranking, right?
What about the Sync Errors param? How does that behave while cranking?
Yes, I get SYNC ON and it stays that way while cranking.

Quote:
Since you're using a 1710 EMS with a 2002 motor, I guess you did custom wiring and not exactly using a '94 OEM harness.
So, please can you check the four injection and two ignition pins (two because you said wasted spark) you're using on the 1710 EMS box to which injectors & coils you have those connected.
I want to know which is connected where so I can verify whether your ignition/injection phasing tables are correct.

So, a list of the 6 pins please : AEM connector pin name -> where it is connected on the car which injector, or which coil.

IIRC Jason wired his car a bit different (he is using a Honda AEM EMS box in his Miata so he did his custom wiring) and he did the approriate changes in the software, so if you're copying blindly those, your ignition and injection might be out of phase big time which leads to lots of fuel smell and backfires.
Lots of fuel smell and backfires,eh? Are you hiding in my garage?

The motor is a 2002, but I'm not using any of the 2002 wiring. Wiring is pretty much all 1994 stock, except for the cam and crank sensors which I built a harness to feed into the OEM CAS harness.

Injector wiring is stock 1994:
Injector 1 is 2U
Injector 2 is 2V
Injector 3 is 2Y
Injector 4 is 2Z

Coils are wired wasted spark through the '94 wiring:

Coil 1/4 is wired through 1G
Coil 2/3 is wired through 1H

I am not adverse to re-wiring the coils in sequential - if I did that, I'd follow the AEM pinout sheets, so:
Coil 1 to 1H
Coil 2 to 1G
Coil 3 to 3A
Coil 4 to 3B

Interesting to note that the AEM pinout says that 1G is for coil 2, and 1H is for coil 1 (opposite of what I have), but the 1994 wiring diagram puts coils 1/4 on 1G and coils 2/3 on 1H. Typo in their pinout?


OEM crank sensor signal is wired through 2E
OEM cam sensor signal is wired through 2G

If you can bear to explain it, I would love to hear how all of these settings relate to the motor. This is sort of a new area of the car for me - I have never been a big wiring/circuits/electronics guy.


Quote:
P.S. You know me under a different nick name on other forums :-P

About the cranking rpm. Miatas crank at around 120 rpm. With perfectly charged battery I guess you might achieve 300 rpm. But no way you're cranking nowhere near 600 rpm.
Schwing, thanks Julien. I don't have an auxiliary tach in the car so 600 is a guess, and I haven't heard the car run in 2 months. Better to be off myself than have the ECU be off, though.

Last edited by Savington; 02-12-2010 at 03:25 PM.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 04:11 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post
Lots of fuel smell and backfires,eh? Are you hiding in my garage?
Let's say long time ago I know of a garage which was similar to yours


Quote:
Originally Posted by Savington View Post
Interesting to note that the AEM pinout says that 1G is for coil 2, and 1H is for coil 1 (opposite of what I have), but the 1994 wiring diagram puts coils 1/4 on 1G and coils 2/3 on 1H. Typo in their pinout?
Not a typo. That's why I asked you about the info above, but looks like you're advancing fast by yourself too
Someone at AEM just decided that in the Miata wiring the EMS output named "coil 2" should be wired to fire the 1/4 coil and the output named "coil 1" should be wired to fire the 2/4 coil.
So, if using the '94 AEM startup calibration as a base, but you wire the harness differently, you have to change the numbers in the software calibration to match your new wiring ('cause you'll have the spark by 180 degrees otherwise)

I'll look at your numbers in the calibration and will get back to you

Last edited by j_man; 02-12-2010 at 05:13 PM.
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 57 07-19-2017 05:11 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Noob to Miataturbo from MA JxPhan Meet and Greet 3 10-02-2015 03:17 AM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.