Stein's Build Thread - Page 4 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2009, 12:44 AM   #61
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
cjernigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,147
Total Cats: 6
Default

All this makes me want to start working on the car again. I have tons to do, lots to build and lots to install.
Though I need to fix this '91 Civic before I can do anything miata related so I can get my money back out of it.
cjernigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 11:39 PM   #62
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Well, I got the new MAP sensor installed tonight. All is well. Idle tuning took all of 10 minutes with a properly functioning MAP. Tip in is fine now. Just need to autotune. Unfortunately, we are getting about 5" of snow right now, so it looks like best case is Sunday but I even doubt that, as I live in the country and I can't see trying to do this on snow covered roads. We haven't had any snow for weeks and it was in the 50's this week. It was 8* this morning.

I'm getting this running on stock injectors first and will build a base map for that. I have Chuck's 550's on the way to Deatschwerks for servicing and then I will install them. I should be able to scale the stock injector base map to get pretty close and then autotune again.

Running wastegate now which I assume is 8psi on an SR20 T25. Anyone know for sure? I'll add an EBC once the new injctors are in.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:03 AM   #63
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Some pics of how I mounted the unit. I built a bracket out of 1" square tubing so that I cound contersink the bolts. I welded a bolt into the one side fron the inside so that I didn't have to try to hold it while tightening it. There is a large flat bracket on the NB's on the lower right side of the steering column. There are several holes in it that I could use to mount the unit. This put the main in/out cables for the Adaptronic pointing up and the serial port for the WB and the tuning laptop pointing straight down. This will make it easy to hook up the laptop while still being out of sight when not tuning. The center cover section that mounts under the steering column is still missing.

Name:  DSC01318.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  48.1 KB
Name:  DSC01319.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  50.2 KB
Name:  DSC01325.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  39.6 KB
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:13 AM   #64
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
patsmx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,791
Total Cats: 247
Default

Quote:
Posts: 1,099


Glad you got it straightened out.
patsmx5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:38 AM   #65
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,583
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stein View Post
Some pics of how I mounted the unit. I built a bracket out of 1" square tubing so that I cound contersink the bolts. I welded a bolt into the one side fron the inside so that I didn't have to try to hold it while tightening it. There is a large flat bracket on the NB's on the lower right side of the steering column. There are several holes in it that I could use to mount the unit. This put the main in/out cables for the Adaptronic pointing up and the serial port for the WB and the tuning laptop pointing straight down. This will make it easy to hook up the laptop while still being out of sight when not tuning. The center cover section that mounts under the steering column is still missing.
That is a very clean way to mount the unit!! I'm glad you got it worked out. I was worried they had lost the package or something.
TravisR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 01:03 AM   #66
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patsmx5 View Post


Glad you got it straightened out.
I could make it move under it's own power, so I guess I beat the deadline.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 01:36 AM   #67
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Well, this...

Name:  DSC01327.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  32.6 KB

Necessitated this...

Name:  DSC01328.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  65.9 KB

Lulz Works pretty awesome though. Although I don't see any road tuning in my immediate future.

At least this...

Name:  DSC01331.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  54.9 KB

Keeps the shop like this...

Name:  DSC01336.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  36.3 KB

SOOO...I'm just sitting in the shop drinking beer.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 01:51 AM   #68
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,163
Total Cats: 2,573
Default

Haha nice bro
glad you got her running right and the map sensor issue worked out. I got a notice from USPS today that mine came in but they require a signature. I'll go to the post office tomorrow and hopefully pick it all up. I will be contacting you for your map pretty soon here
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 07:36 PM   #69
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

SUCCESS!!!

I couldn't wait for the snow go go away and the highways were clear so I took it out.

Put the Adaptronic in Rapid Learing mode and drove it. No hiccups, no bucking, no going lean, no knock.

After driving it mildly for a while, the cells started to turn green, meaning it was adjusting them to the target AFR.

Did several 8 psi pulls. Still pig rich, but the computer will pull those down in time. It was very civil driving in and out of boost. I could autox this car tomorrow.

So, the first boosted NB on an Adaptronic in the US belongs to me!
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 08:17 PM   #70
Junior Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 455
Total Cats: 3
Default

Congrats! Sounds too easy. Are you using the base map Travis provided?
sv650_ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 09:15 PM   #71
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sv650_ck View Post
Congrats! Sounds too easy. Are you using the base map Travis provided?
Yes I am. The base map is super conservative. Once a couple of us start building some decent maps, things will go even quicker for the next guy. But, yes it is that easy. Get a good idle by manually tuning a couple of cells to the idle AFR range (10 minutes), turn on Rapid Learning and start driving. I am computer and ECU illiterate, and if I can handle it, anyone can.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 11:33 PM   #72
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

On another topic, the cheapo recirc BOV that Intercooler Pipe Fabrication - Silicone Intake Systems Auto Parts sells is working perfectly on whichever of the three springs that they supplied it with installed. Breaks cleanly even on slight throttle lift.

I never had a chance to really watch it, considering I was watching knock, AFRs, etc, but the little T25 is at full boost very early. Pretty happy with that. I'm going to give the car a once over in the AM, checking everything to be sure everything is tight and good to go and then go put some miles on it. Temps still seem high. Fan kicks on at 85C, right where it is set in the ECU, but it goes up to 102C then drops and hovers at 95. Might have to replace the thermostat. This is with the big Koyo and outside air temps of 20*
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 11:54 AM   #73
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,037
Total Cats: 406
Default

Nice work John. Curious to see the future results as you weed out all the idiosynchrocies of the unit.

at some point, I'd love to see a short datalog to see what kind of data it puts out.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 12:21 PM   #74
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
Nice work John. Curious to see the future results as you weed out all the idiosynchrocies of the unit.

at some point, I'd love to see a short datalog to see what kind of data it puts out.
I logged a 5th gear pull. It's attached.

I need to adjust my tip in or accel enrichment. It goes lean for a moment upon touching the throttle.

From a 1650 rpm roll, 6 psi by 2000 rpm, 7 psi by 2350, 8 psi by 2540
Attached Files
File Type: xls Fifth Gear Pull.xls (408.0 KB, 99 views)

Last edited by Stein; 03-01-2009 at 02:11 PM.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:13 PM   #75
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Log above. I edited an old post, but not sure if it bumps it or not.


I drove it about 40 miles today. It has modified about 20 cells and final tuned about 8. Just need some more time to let it do it's thing.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:22 PM   #76
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
patsmx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,791
Total Cats: 247
Default

Hehe, I lag your spoolage by 500 RPMs... Maybe less.


Do a fourth gear pull and post it up here.
https://www.miataturbo.net/forum/t26641-2/
patsmx5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:23 PM   #77
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

OK, I checked codes. There are three in there.

P0118 Engine Coolant Temp Circuit High Input
P0335 Crankshaft Position Sensor A Circuit Malfunction
P1504 Manf Control Veh Spd Idle Speed Control Auxiliary Input

Two cleared, but P0335 remains.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 03:11 PM   #78
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,583
Total Cats: 8
Default

Really the AFR's aren't that bad! I was expecting it to be richer. I have no idea why its throwing any of those codes! All those are wired right into the stock computer just like factory...
TravisR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:15 PM   #79
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (46)
 
Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,812
Total Cats: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisR View Post
Really the AFR's aren't that bad! I was expecting it to be richer. I have no idea why its throwing any of those codes! All those are wired right into the stock computer just like factory...
I just drove it another 40 miles or so. About 15 cells now show as tuned, with 30-40 that have been modified. Everything in the "normal" operation band and the 160 kPa band have been tuned. There are a lot of extraneous cells that aren't accessed much that are untuned or adjusted, but not shown as fully tuned.

My target AFR table is really rich. 13.5 at 0 kPa, 13.0 at 75 kPa, 11.0 at 150 kPa and 9.8 at 225 kPa. I know that I can bump these up, but want to get the 550's in and play with the timing a bit before leaning them out. It does suck the fuel though! Used 1/2 tank in 80 miles. Driving style might have influenced that as well. I'm still rich at cruising speeds due to the AFr target table. 13.0 just moseying down the road.
Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 05:02 PM   #80
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
cjernigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,147
Total Cats: 6
Default

What injectors are you running and how lean can you idle them? I'm tired of not being able to idle my 550s that flowed closer to 600cc at 44 psi. Which means they flow even more than that at our static 65 psi of fuel pressure. The MS1 lacks enough resolution to idle them any leaner than 13:1 on a good day with hi-res.
cjernigan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.