thought we needed another wideband thread - Page 2 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


ECUs and Tuning Discuss Engine Management, Tuning, & Programming

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2012, 01:56 PM   #21
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

I've had an MTX-L in a box for like 6 months now. too lazy to install over my LC1.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 01:58 PM   #22
I haz no trubo
iTrader: (2)
 
Oscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 3,021
Total Cats: 114
Default

I'll take it.
Oscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 02:04 PM   #23
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,682
Total Cats: 216
Default

This thread is full of stupid and I hate it.

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/r...B_Shootout.pdf

Cliffnotes:
LC-1 is fast and accurate
AEM is slow and accurate
Everything else is ----
Full_Tilt_Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 02:37 PM   #24
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,970
Total Cats: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midpack View Post
Unlike hustler I have no problems sleeping. How many street and track miles do you have since the initial install?
haha, he sure does have trouble sleeping. I am at about 2k miles on the street, and zero on track. Ask me after this weekend and I will tell you about some track mileage though.

Seriously, it was stupid easy to install and following directions that used words no larger than 5 letters (other than innovate), can't be that difficult. I do electrical ---- in my spare time, so maybe not the best guinea pig here.

Very simple:
Crimp two ground wires together (unless you want dimming function).
attach ground
attach switched 12v.
turn key on without the sensor connected.
give it a minute to go into calibration.
turn off
attach sensor
turn on
leave it on till "htr" appears
turn off
wait till the sensor is cool
install into downpipe
drive.

Thats it. if you get something faulty out of the box, thats another story. The LC1 didn't look that bad either, I think the instructions are "complicated" because the gauge and sensor are treated as seperate units so people get confuzed.
Seefo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 02:42 PM   #25
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,982
Total Cats: 10
Default

Thanks alot. This thread makes me feel like I need to replace my AEM linear gauge/sensor. :(
miatauser884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 03:53 PM   #26
Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 1,780
Total Cats: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djp0623 View Post
Thanks alot. This thread makes me feel like I need to replace my AEM linear gauge/sensor. :(
Attached Thumbnails
thought we needed another wideband thread-wideband_is_bad.png  
Jeff_Ciesielski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 04:03 PM   #27
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,479
Total Cats: 6
Default

I've got an LC-1 for sale.
dgmorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:36 PM   #28
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Track View Post
Crimp two ground wires together (unless you want dimming function).
the newer ones only even have 1 ground wire now...
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:13 PM   #29
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,970
Total Cats: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
the newer ones only even have 1 ground wire now...
thats true, but if you are not using the dimming function (white wire I think), it said to put it to ground.
Seefo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 05:56 PM   #30
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STL
Posts: 528
Total Cats: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgmorr View Post
I've got an LC-1 for sale.
wish I had seen this earlier
midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:10 PM   #31
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Track View Post
thats true, but if you are not using the dimming function (white wire I think), it said to put it to ground.
but that's only in regards to the gauge iirc, but yeah. that should go to the headlight switch thing (12v) cause you want dimming.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:16 PM   #32
Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 3,516
Total Cats: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techsalvager View Post
midpack get a 14point7 SLC
http://14point7.com/SLC-Pure-Plus-2.php
http://14point7.com/SLC-DIY-2.php
mutiple gauge inputs as well

The only innovate i want is the LM-2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
expensive and cant output two 0-5v outputs.
I have one and the only real complaint I have is that it took like a month to apparently build and ship from Canada

Other than that it's $140 for the controller that works as a gauge and like $40 for the o2 sensor itself - same price as everything else, basically.

Now, what do you need two 0-5v outputs for?
soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:20 PM   #33
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,970
Total Cats: 49
Default

one to the gauge one to the ECU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
but that's only in regards to the gauge iirc, but yeah. that should go to the headlight switch thing (12v) cause you want dimming.

I don't want dimming so I put it to ground. Pretty sure I mentioned that in my original post:
Crimp two ground wires together (unless you want dimming function).
Seefo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:24 PM   #34
Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 3,516
Total Cats: 255
Default

the controller is a gauge. but ok, that's a valid point I guess.
soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:26 PM   #35
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,970
Total Cats: 49
Default

wait I get it, my wording sucks:

Crimp two wires and tie them to ground (unless you want dimming).
Seefo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:41 PM   #36
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STL
Posts: 528
Total Cats: 24
Default

It is not this gauge


It is also green and doesn't match anything in a MSM. Where did you mount it / got any pics?
Attached Thumbnails
thought we needed another wideband thread-d1-bop-wba-rb-sm.jpg  
midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:35 PM   #37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 143
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I used to have trouble getting in and out of my house...then I found that I had installed my doorknob wrong.
What piece of ----, I'd never buy that brand again!

I had a ton of touble with my lc1, then I took an etire afternoon of reading and learning what the hell I was doing, problem solved.
jboogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 11:33 AM   #38
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

I recommend either the PLX DM-100 which I have in my Miata (fooger's gauge)

or

http://www.plxdevices.com/wideband.php

PLX DM-6

Both have rolling AFR graph. Useful for seeing what your AFRs were during a pull without staring at the gauge the whole time. Also has standard linear 0-5v output.
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:41 AM   #39
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
triple88a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 9,131
Total Cats: 598
Default

The "WB Shootout" called the PLX the worst tested.
triple88a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:57 AM   #40
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triple88a View Post
The "WB Shootout" called the PLX the worst tested.

Link please.
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toyota Pickup Engine Swap B.S. Monk Build Threads 24 12-11-2016 03:21 PM
new voodoo 2 2554 babydriver Meet and Greet 10 11-12-2015 01:53 AM
Complete BEGI S3 NB Kit, Full Enthuza 3" Exhaust, ACT HD Clutch, MS2 PNP, Wideband kronikker Miata parts for sale/trade 17 10-06-2015 11:18 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 02:52 PM
New here, saying hi, here's what I'm workin with. SuperSneakySecretSquirrel Meet and Greet 5 09-06-2015 09:30 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.