diypnp MOUNTING NB locations/ideas thread - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


MEGAsquirt A place to collectively sort out this megasquirt gizmo

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2010, 12:06 AM   #1
Murderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,205
Total Cats: 2,586
Default diypnp MOUNTING NB locations/ideas thread

Didn't see a thread for this nor did searching bring up any results, so here goes:

Now that most of us are getting our DIYPNP units I'm looking for good ideas to mount them.

Since wiring going to the ecu isn't exactly 10 miles long most locations I can think of are within a couple inches and pretty much same position as the stock ecu.

Stock ecu has 2 retarded looking brackets holding it in place.

I'm thinking of making similar brackets but ones that would mount to at least 2 of the 4 mounting holes on the DIYPNP unit and hang it up like the stocker is in there. Don't want to drill or alter the DIYPNP case at all. Trying to figure out a way to use its mounting locations.


What say you guys?


I'd love to hear good ideas on this. Pretty much ready to fire the car up tomorrow and I can't just leave the unit dangling in there (even though that would probably work lol). I gots to have it mounted solid.

TIA
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 924
Total Cats: 16
Default

Mine is in the glove box. Ive got two holes, one on each side for wires running to/from the unit. I can get a pic tomorrow if your interested.
Gryff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:16 AM   #3
Murderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,205
Total Cats: 2,586
Default

I guess I should clarify that I'm looking for specifically NB mounting places..


Unless you have an NB also?
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 924
Total Cats: 16
Default

NA, sry
Gryff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:18 AM   #5
Murderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,205
Total Cats: 2,586
Default

Well I found a few pics of 1 way on the diypnp site:

http://www.diyautotune.com/diypnp/ap...0-18bp-mt.html





So using only 1 of the brackets and zip ties is pretty much the "standard"
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:25 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Middletown, DE
Posts: 221
Total Cats: 1
Default

I ziptied the top of it to a bracket that the top ecu bracket was originally connected to and ziptied the bottom to the bottom bracket near the clutch. It's pretty sturdy for now, but I'm going to see if I can improve upon it when I clean up the routing of all my wires. I just had to get my Miata running after it was down for 2 weekends for my turbo install and hooked everything up pretty quickly.
Joseph B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:30 AM   #7
Murderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,205
Total Cats: 2,586
Default

I'm going to attempt to make brackets tomorrow. If not plan b will be like you did and the above pics
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:31 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Middletown, DE
Posts: 221
Total Cats: 1
Default

Cool, if you're successful, I want to see what you come up with!
Joseph B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 10:45 PM   #9
Murderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,205
Total Cats: 2,586
Default

I started working under there, after hours of bending/twisting my spine under there, I realized I am way too big/fat/old to spend the rest of the day under there and ended up doing the same as in those pictures.

**** THAT LOCATION.

Holy ****, I don't think anything was as frustrating to work on as mounting **** up there.

Its pretty sturdy on two big *** zip ties though and doesn't even budge (I tightened them very strong) so that will do for now LOL
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 10:49 PM   #10
Antisaint
iTrader: (17)
 
Vashthestampede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 4,659
Total Cats: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
I started working under there, after hours of bending/twisting my spine under there, I realized I am way too big/fat/old to spend the rest of the day under there and ended up doing the same as in those pictures.

**** THAT LOCATION.

Holy ****, I don't think anything was as frustrating to work on as mounting **** up there.

Its pretty sturdy on two big *** zip ties though and doesn't even budge (I tightened them very strong) so that will do for now LOL
The couple hours I spent cleaning up the wiring and pulling out the airbag **** had me twisted sideways under the dash enough to make me want to kill someone by the time I was done.

Add hot solder drips coming at your face into the mix and I was really having fun! lol
Vashthestampede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:10 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Middletown, DE
Posts: 221
Total Cats: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
I started working under there, after hours of bending/twisting my spine under there, I realized I am way too big/fat/old to spend the rest of the day under there and ended up doing the same as in those pictures.

**** THAT LOCATION.

Holy ****, I don't think anything was as frustrating to work on as mounting **** up there.

Its pretty sturdy on two big *** zip ties though and doesn't even budge (I tightened them very strong) so that will do for now LOL
I concur. I didn't take my seat out, so my spine was totally twisted the entire time I was working under there. Between that and trying to punch holes in the rubber grommet in the firewall for my MAP and boost gauge vacuum lines, I was sore AND pissed.
Joseph B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 08:36 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 274
Total Cats: 0
Default

God, I don't envy you guys with the steering wheel on the wrong side...

Name:  241020101345.jpg
Views: 22
Size:  99.2 KB

That's 80% done. I'm going to use a huge velcro pad to hold it steady on the foam base. I also want to add more cable sleeving to the loom and then put the ECU footplate cover back on. Job done.
CRAIGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 10:47 AM   #13
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

I know y8s is going to move his to the passenger side.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:10 PM   #14
Senior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 1,127
Total Cats: 39
Default

I want to pull mine to add a few things to it...but **** that mounting location. My back hurt for a few days after getting it all setup in there. Next time I might just remove the seat so I'll have a little more space.

I did mine like the DIYPNP setup, but with more zipties... haha, it's really sturdy though.

Name:  IMG_0158800x600.jpg
Views: 22
Size:  96.5 KB
aaronc7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 12:14 PM   #15
Elite Member
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 2,791
Total Cats: 130
Default

Good to hear I'm not the only member of the zip-tied ECU crew. I fought with the brackets for a while before giving up.
pdexta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 03:21 PM   #16
Senior Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 1,404
Total Cats: 263
Default

^ Same here.

I just finished my ECU install. I mounted it just like the pics. I may make brackets later on, but for now, it seems fine as is. Thanks for posting this 18psi.
99mx5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 05:41 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 59
Total Cats: 0
Default

Is it still true that for 01+ guys there's no way we can buy the connectors and DIY our own extension harness? Beside paying 150+ for boomslang....I wish I can build one and put my DIYPNP under driver seat.
aballoonflies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 05:48 PM   #18
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,110
Total Cats: 518
Default

If you're getting rid of the stock ECU, you can do what I did. Gut it and rip the connector out of the stocker. There's your connector.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 06:56 PM   #19
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,441
Total Cats: 198
Default

You are still going to need the 3 plugs.
Reverant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:41 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 59
Total Cats: 0
Default

i like to keep my stock ecu under there just incase i need to run it.
aballoonflies is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 59 12-15-2017 09:00 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Time to start learning and play with tuning The Gleas MEGAsquirt 3 10-01-2015 10:30 AM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.