MS build thread - Page 4 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


MEGAsquirt A place to collectively sort out this megasquirt gizmo

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2010, 04:30 AM   #61
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

Update:
Since I have two engines, one that came with the car, and another I bought, I have an extra CAS, so I pulled and cleaned off the other CAS and hooked that up directly to the MS with the stim board attached so I could see if it would read from it while turning the wheel. Success, it does read from it correctly, so now I'm wondering why it won't read from the one in the car? Time to think what it maybe, wiring posibiily maybe bad connection, or another reason. Anyone know where I can get a cheap connector for the CAS from?

Thanks
Justin
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:46 AM   #62
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 56
Total Cats: 0
Default

I've read that some CAS that work fine with a stock ECU refuse to work with MS. Don't know if this is with an older style input circuit or not.
shifty35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:47 AM   #63
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

I have not read this. it works with optical or magnetic CASes.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:51 AM   #64
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 56
Total Cats: 0
Default

I didn't mean some "types", I meant some sensors of either types. I've already had a CAS randomly die on me in my 2 months of Miata ownership, so I'm not fully convinced of their reliability. Some may just have weak signals when they are close to dying.

I did "repair" mine by replacing the Hall effect sensor inside with one from a SOHC Protege distributor, so I guess the electronics are actually failing.
shifty35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:59 AM   #65
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

I'll agree that MS is more sensitive with them, oem ecu probably has a lot of filtering and what.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:24 PM   #66
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

Well an easy way to test is to hookup the in car sensor to the MS with the stim connected while the MS is connected to a pc and turn the engine around while logging to see any rpm output from the CAS, if the CAS shows correct output from connecting directly to it, than I know it must be somewhere in the wiring from the MS to the CAS, either my harness or cars wiring.

But the car works fine with the stock ECU. so I maybe going over my harness again.
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:53 PM   #67
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

Harness wiring, the cas wiring are\were off by one pin, so 24 was on 25 and 25 was on 26
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 02:55 PM   #68
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

thatll do it.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:14 PM   #69
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

Hi all
So I got the CAS fixed correctly.
Now I got her to see rpms, and while cranking she allmost caught but didn't, sounded like she would. Anyone know cranking settings for a 1.6l?

Heres a log of my newest attempt

Appericate any help, gonna read though MS extra manuals.
Attached Files
File Type: xls fixed harness.xls (48.9 KB, 53 views)
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:20 PM   #70
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:23 PM   #71
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
this for a 1.6l with the mods I have done?
Just want to make sure
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:34 PM   #72
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

its the mspnp 9093 basemap
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 06:50 PM   #73
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

whats the difference beteween the with and without maf files
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 07:31 PM   #74
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago (Over two miles from Wrigley Field. Fuck the Cubs. Fuck them in their smarmy goat-hole.)
Posts: 26,317
Total Cats: 1,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techsalvager View Post
whats the difference beteween the with and without maf files
The calibration for the IAT sensor.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 08:14 PM   #75
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

hmmm

so after updating my sensor info
flashing the firmware
and pulling my spark plugs 3 times to get the built up gas out of the cylinders

Nearly there, anyone seen MS inject abit of gas at startup to lock up the engine.

It nearly catches this last time after getting most of the stuff straighten out. Just not enough. Sorry I forgot to log the data, I'll do another round to try.

Not sure if its not getting enough spark or timing of the spark is off or injecting too much gas. Probably need a log to tell.
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 08:18 PM   #76
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

what diagram did you follow to wire the harness? if you followed mine, the tps connector must be unplugged...
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:44 PM   #77
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

I didn't even wire in tps and vref 5+ into the wiring harness I made, do I still need to unplug it?
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 12:27 AM   #78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 138
Total Cats: 0
Default

You may have your spark wires out of sequence, try swappping the pairs of wires around on the coils (or swap your coil triggers).
That happened to me when I built my harness.

(Just a suggestion)
ampz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 08:47 AM   #79
I'm Miserable!
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 1,869
Total Cats: 3
Default

I have feeling its timing that is off. Will test later today
Techsalvager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 11:17 AM   #80
Supporting Vendor
 
Matt Cramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,266
Total Cats: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
The calibration for the IAT sensor.
IIRC, we put a couple minor changes to the fuel table in the no-AFM version. Nothing big, though.
Matt Cramer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.