93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread - Page 138 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2014, 12:33 PM   #2741
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
revlimiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ABQ, NM
Posts: 528
Total Cats: 92
Default

That video was fantastic.

Also, oil pressure gauge.
revlimiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:32 PM   #2742
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 6,886
Total Cats: 521
Default

I enjoyed watching your TDI sportwagen vids too. Woot.
turbofan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:36 PM   #2743
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbofan View Post
I enjoyed watching your TDI sportwagen vids too. Woot.
I wish the Miata sounded like my Jetta. The 3" exhaust on my TDI has the perfect sound to it. Confuses the hell out of everyone when they see it coming from a Jetta.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:30 PM   #2744
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

That feeling when you get all the crap in your garage stowed away and outta the way. I need to go through it all one of these days and start a for sale thread.

Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-pano_20140812_111503.jpg  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:50 PM   #2745
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Braunfels,TX
Posts: 1,141
Total Cats: 52
Default

Your car gave me a boner. The size of your garage made me ***.......
ScottyP3821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:59 PM   #2746
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyP3821 View Post
Your car gave me a boner. The size of your garage made me ***.......
At one point I had 2 Miata shells and all the parts from the cars in the garage and I could still fit my Jetta inside. If I could fit a lift in it I'd *** as well.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 02:16 PM   #2747
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35,765
Total Cats: 2,494
Default

You guys just talking about it made me.........

.....well, you know

18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 02:20 PM   #2748
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Braunfels,TX
Posts: 1,141
Total Cats: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
You guys just talking about it made me.........

.....well, you know

ScottyP3821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 02:25 PM   #2749
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North St Paul, MN
Posts: 397
Total Cats: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyP3821 View Post
Your car gave me a boner. The size of your garage made me ***.......
A small object always makes the hole look bigger.


Garage looks nice and clean as I would only expect your OCD to allow.
ofspunk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 02:48 PM   #2750
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 5,984
Total Cats: 576
Default

I detect a distinct lack of a female. I only have 1 room in the house . . . the garage . . . and I have to fight for it everyday.
hornetball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:10 PM   #2751
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ofspunk7 View Post
A small object always makes the hole look bigger.
Yeah I was giving panorama mode a try on my S4. It does a pretty good job stitching the photos together.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornetball View Post
I detect a distinct lack of a female. I only have 1 room in the house . . . the garage . . . and I have to fight for it everyday.


Sadly between the car, the business, and my insomnia....I can't muster the energy to put an effort towards wasting more money on attracting the fairer sex.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:23 PM   #2752
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

On a more serious note. What is the easiest/quickest way to change a fuel map for a much higher altitude?

The drive between St George and Cedar City is a 3,200ft of elevation gained. The car starts running really lean at 6k feet and my whole VEAL map gets pretty messed up. Starting the car up I'm all of a sudden idling at 16.7 instead of being stoic.

Not sure how to load a new map or if I need to apply a different tune with settings applicable to 6k elevation.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 01:09 AM   #2753
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Schwarzenberg, Germany
Posts: 1,495
Total Cats: 81
Default

You have toset up the baro correction. Please post your actual baro table... Wait, does your MS3 have 2 independent sensors?

Last edited by Zaphod; 08-13-2014 at 10:47 AM.
Zaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 10:31 AM   #2754
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North St Paul, MN
Posts: 397
Total Cats: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
On a more serious note. What is the easiest/quickest way to change a fuel map for a much higher altitude?

The drive between St George and Cedar City is a 3,200ft of elevation gained. The car starts running really lean at 6k feet and my whole VEAL map gets pretty messed up. Starting the car up I'm all of a sudden idling at 16.7 instead of being stoic.

Not sure how to load a new map or if I need to apply a different tune with settings applicable to 6k elevation.
You could look into what I am currently researching for my MS3 setup. Switchable tables. You can run them a number of different ways. I plan to run a manual switch on my setup to swap the tables in the ECU. I plan to use it as a anti-theft device (hidden switch) but the concept should work for you to swap tables.

I found this LINK but I am trying to gather up more details about the whole process. It is a start... but I wish I could deliver a more complete answer for you (still researching).
ofspunk7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 11:27 AM   #2755
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,600
Total Cats: 937
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaphod View Post
You have toset up the baro correction. Please post your actual baro table... Wait, does your MS3 have 2 independent sensors?
I thought I read somewhere that the MS3 will recalibrate the baro when the engine is restarted/ECU is powercycled, thus not needing multiple baro sensors? Don't quote me on that though
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 11:39 AM   #2756
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,246
Total Cats: 746
Default

I still don't understand why you'd need baro correction if you're using a MAP at the manifold anyways.
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 05:36 PM   #2757
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 228
Total Cats: 4
Default

I am dealing with that same issue when traveling from Cedar to St George and back as well. I have one of Revs MS2's and I installed the mapdaddy with two sensors, so I would have a second sensor for outside air pressure

Ive checked all my soldering joints and I made sure everything is in the correct place, but no matter what I do, when I change settings to use it, it just reads outside air pressure at 100 constantly and makes car run like crap.

Air pressure in cedar is around 82-83, and was around 96 last time i was in St George.

Heading down is not much of an issue, but when I travel back uphill though, I gain some speed and have it do a reboot on the road, maybe twice on the way up.
(neutral, turn car off, wait a bit to make sure engine has stopped, turn car on to get new "initial" reading, turn back on, match revs) It is annoying as hell, I want to get the other sensor working.


Quote:
I still don't understand why you'd need baro correction if you're using a MAP at the manifold anyways.
It samples the air pressure when you start for a base reading, at Cedar city at about 5600 ft air pressure is 83 kPa, if you go to the ocean, where it is 101 kPa, it compensates by adding more fuel based on the initial reading. When you drive and your altitude changes by about 4000 ft within an hour it makes the car run like crap because it is either putting too much fuel or not enough because it thinks the outside air pressure is the same as where you cranked the car
Dlaitini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 05:48 PM   #2758
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 35,765
Total Cats: 2,494
Default

What I think he's trying to say is there's more to pressure than just pressure.
lol
Its to compensate for density changes in the air that's being pressurized
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 05:59 PM   #2759
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,246
Total Cats: 746
Default

Well, sure. Kinda?

I had the MSM up to 12k feet last year. Yes, it ran a little weird, but we're talking elevation where the car was only pulling 15-16" of vacuum on full decel.

What i'm not braining is why it matters. You're measuring what's going on in the manifold, not what's going on outside of the car. Air density may change outside of the car, but does that really matter? Wouldn't less air just mean less pressure means less map reading?

Boost means more air in a given space = more dense, yes?

If there's somehow less air being put into the motor at a given kPa, wouldn't the car actually run RICH, not lean?

I'm probably missing something big. Or i am teh smrts?
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 06:07 PM   #2760
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

As I read on another forum while reasearching this a litttle,

Quote:
A turbo brings you xx PSI above the pressure of the environment. If the pressure of the environment is lower to start with, the absolute pressure after the turbo will be too.
I too am confused on why the car runs lean at a higher altitude. In my brain it only makes sense that it would run more rich, rather than an almost full 2 point afr change towards lean.

Weird thing is that even after cycling my key on and off it wouldn't change the initial Baro reading.

Need to do some more reading on this.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 08:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 01:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 12:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 01:29 PM


Tags
anti-rattle mafia, circle jerk, don't touch the girls, epic ocd, gayle, i see a dust speck, let's clean this too, massive erection, old becomes new, putty in our hands, resistance is futile, shock brace doesn't match, so fresh n so clean, tucked in waistline, want to touch the hiney, we spend jeff's money, whale with herpes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.