My next car to sale thread - Page 11 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2013, 08:44 PM   #201
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Here is the pinout:
The top pins are numbered 1 through 8, left to right, and the bottom pins are numbered 9 through 16. Here are the pins’ uses:
Pin Number Connection
1 through 8 Breakout header
9 Electronic boost control
10 Alternate O2 Sensor Input (for wideband o2)
11 Input for KnockSenseMS knock box
12 Launch Control Input
13 Clutch Switch connection for launch control
14 through 16 Not Used

It was Pin 9 so EBC.








Finished up quite a bit. Front of the cabin is almost done. Once I finish securing the wiring none of it will actually be attached to the dash. Basically minus the 3 switches, gauges, light and cigarette lighter, everything else will already be connected before installing the dash. This will make it about 100x easier to do anything, as I can pull the dash in a few minutes.

Speaking of the dash that is pretty much ready too. I have to drill holes for the gauge wires and mount the gauges. Oh also since the two screw points on the bottom of the top of the dash that connect to the dash bar are broke I have to make a few more secure points so the dash doesn't flop around.

I moved the boost solenoid for the water injection into the cabin. This cut down on a lot of vacuum line since it's now inline with the MS, and it's also T'd off for the boost gauge. So instead of 3 separate vac lines it's just 1... I can't imagine this would be an issue. It also cut down on wiring a lot. I moved the water injection relay from the trunk to the cabin, close to the boost solenoid which also cut down on a lot of wiring. I'm running the water injection water line through those white wire tunnels that run along the door. There is nothing in them so it's perfect. I also ran the single pump wire for the WI pump through there too. Super clean.

The sound deadening for the cabin is done. I only used about half the roll, which weighed about 10lbs, so 5lbs total. I'll use the other half for the rear deck and trunk. It's really starting to come together. I just hope the wiring all checks out.

Tomorrow at least the front of the cabin will be done, which means enough to double check the harness and start her up.

Last edited by FRT_Fun; 08-02-2013 at 11:23 PM.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 04:13 PM   #202
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

I think I'm going to wire in a light to tell me when the W/I pump is on. I know it won't tell me if it's working, but it'd be nice to not only verify that the solenoid/relay is working, but know at what PSI this thing is triggering.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 05:14 PM   #203
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 6,009
Total Cats: 583
Default

You know that the MS can control your WI, right?

This is worth a look (post #34): https://www.miataturbo.net/build-thr...d-55737/page2/

The only change I've made since posting that is changing from electromechanical to solid state relays. The electromechanical relays would occasionally create a flyback voltage event that upset the MS.
hornetball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:47 PM   #204
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

I'll take a peak. I'm exhausted right now and would like to have the car running for tonight, so that will be a project for later.

I hate this AEM Tru Boost gauge. Well, I like it, but I hate how they wired it.

For some reason it has 1 wire, that splits to two wires, that are both supposed to be wired to a 12v switched source. WHY? Why did they split it to two wires. They both go to the same place. Then they have a black and red wire that are supposed to connect to the boost solenoid. But the thing is there is nothing to tell which wires go where. And the pinout for the gauge doesn't tell you specifically which pins go to what. It just tells you that the "longer two" red and black wires go to the solenoid. Well they are all the same length now. The solenoid sends a pulse back to the gauge saying it's present, so I can't just use any of the red or black wires, it has to be the right one. After trying 3 combinations I finally got it right.

TLDR; AEM Tru Boost is wired funky, pinouts don't help.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:10 PM   #205
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Here is a peak at the progress. I'll post all the photos later.

I'm just about done with the entire dash portion, and to about where the rear deck starts. Just some wire loom **** and securing things. 7 hours in the 110 degrees so far today. Good ****. I want to finish up the rear deck tonight. Taking a food break.

Attached Thumbnails
My next car to sale thread-9s2x.jpg  
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:24 PM   #206
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Ugghhh went to install the harnesses and I don't have the bolt down triangle things. Sigh. But on the bright side it motivated me to order 2 cam lock harnesses. I wasn't a fan of the buckle type but was going to use it anyways. I would have upgraded eventually.

Guess it's a good thing I have my 02' so I can go grab chipotle.


If anyone has AEM gauges and isn't using the black screw on surround I want it! Will trade you for my brand new silver one!

In other news I got my 460s back from Deatchwerks. Fast turn around and they look brand new!

Last edited by FRT_Fun; 08-03-2013 at 11:41 PM.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 07:25 PM   #207
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Few updates.

Car is running again. I deleted about 5ft of vac lines and the car wouldn't idle.

Without the IAC the throttle plate needs to be cracked open to idle.. I think I removed a few small leaks, so I had to adjust the throttle a bit more and it runs great.

Now I don't have a tac, oil pressure or coolant temp gauge. They all share a ground so I must have forgot to hook it up. I haven't been able to track it down but the schematic says far right side underdash.. Still looking.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 08:06 PM   #208
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taos, New mexico
Posts: 5,703
Total Cats: 237
Default

Progress looks great man. Keep up the good work, I'm sure you will find the issue in no time.
Fireindc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 02:08 AM   #209
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 889
Total Cats: 55
Default

Are you working in a cooled garage? What's up with no IAC? you just missing the connector or what?
krissetsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:39 AM   #210
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

No cooled garage. It's hot. I got the car without an IAC, and the adjuster screw is stripped. Haven't bothered fixing it since a new engine will be going in eventually.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:46 PM   #211
Elite Member
iTrader: (24)
 
kotomile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 7,578
Total Cats: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krissetsfire View Post
Are you working in a cooled garage? What's up with no IAC? you just missing the connector or what?
PO did the MT thing and made a block-off plate for the IAC when the IAC started malfunctioning.
kotomile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 10:35 PM   #212
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Coming soon to this build thread. MS3x, e85, and 300whp.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 12:05 AM   #213
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 889
Total Cats: 55
Default

snag one off a kia for cheap at a u pull it. I bet it costs like 10 buck.
krissetsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 12:33 AM   #214
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

an IAC? I have a bunch lying around. Buut a new engine is going in next week with a 3 wire tps + IAC so all will be fixed.

Last edited by FRT_Fun; 08-17-2013 at 09:17 PM.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:18 AM   #215
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 889
Total Cats: 55
Default

lol your new motor is already built?
krissetsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:24 AM   #216
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Yes.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 01:41 AM   #217
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 889
Total Cats: 55
Default

man you're going all out. I thought i remember you saying you weren't even sure if you wanted to build it not too long ago. haha. nice work.
krissetsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:54 AM   #218
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

I'm going to get a lot of **** for what's happening next. But I've weighed the options and I've chosen my path. I think there will be more than enough win to counter the fail. I'm only going to update as things get finished though, since I change my mind so much.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:26 AM   #219
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 6,009
Total Cats: 583
Default

Can I buy your downpipe please?
hornetball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 02:10 PM   #220
I'm a terrible person
Thread Starter
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hornetball View Post
Can I buy your downpipe please?
Still using it until I can fund a new mani/turbo/downpipe. Could be a while.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo 1995 Miata Low mileage Clean Tekel Cars for sale/trade 29 02-05-2016 05:16 PM
WTS: 460cc RX-7 Red Top Injectors albertogti117 Miata parts for sale/trade 6 10-08-2015 10:09 AM
Re-Spring Tein FLEX or replace? Mazdaspeeder Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 21 10-03-2015 07:45 PM
Poly Bushing Kit and Shorty Console Midtenn Miata parts for sale/trade 5 09-28-2015 03:02 PM
Miata Limo! ennjay General Miata Chat 2 09-17-2015 08:04 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 AM.