The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread. - Page 6 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Go Back  Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats. > Performance & Tuning > Engine Performance
Reload this Page >

The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread.

Engine Performance This section is for discussion on all engine building related questions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread.

Old 03-03-2015, 02:12 PM
  #101  
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (3)
 
emilio700's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,898
Total Cats: 1,644
Default

Originally Posted by wkndracr View Post
For those running a stock VVT motor, what does your spark table look like? I swapped back to an OEM airbox the other day and today I noticed what sounded like pinging while cruising on the highway at 4k rpms if I gave it a bit of gas, although it's hard to tell with all the wind noise. I've been running the same tune for almost a year, and haven't blown it up yet, including a few autocrosses and a track day, let alone about 20k street miles, so I don't think my tune is that off, but I'd like other opinions. Here is my current spark table. I don't remember exactly where I got it from, but it was snagged from a thread somewhere on this forum.
Yikes. What octane/state?
Without seeing your VVT table, I'd guess you're about 5 too much advance everywhere. Have you verified base timing? Restricted intake would not likely lower det threshold unless you're getting a ton of heat soak. Plastic intake pipes will do that.

Anyway, this is a bit of thread drift. Start a new thread with something like " VVT spark advance table question"
__________________


www.facebook.com/SuperMiata

949RACING.COM Home of the 6UL wheel

.27 SNR
emilio700 is offline  
Old 03-03-2015, 03:45 PM
  #102  
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 40
Total Cats: 1
Default

Originally Posted by emilio700 View Post
Yikes. What octane/state?
Without seeing your VVT table, I'd guess you're about 5 too much advance everywhere. Have you verified base timing? Restricted intake would not likely lower det threshold unless you're getting a ton of heat soak. Plastic intake pipes will do that.

Anyway, this is a bit of thread drift. Start a new thread with something like " VVT spark advance table question"
Yeah, didn't mean to go too OT. Just to answer your questions, I strictly run 93 octane in NY/NJ. I have verified the base timing, although not for a while. VVT table is the base map that comes with the VVTuner. I only mentioned the intake because since it is quieter now, I can now hear pinging that I may not have been able to hear before. I adjusted the table down about 5 degrees across the board after looking at a bunch of others I found on the site. I'll reflash when I get out of work and start a new thread if I have anymore questions. Thanks!
wkndracr is offline  
Old 03-03-2015, 04:39 PM
  #103  
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,061
Total Cats: 1,853
Default

Zoinks. I would pull 10 degrees from that at WOT until you can verify the tune on a dyno.
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 03-15-2015, 01:04 PM
  #104  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 328
Total Cats: 20
Default

Do we just ditch the little inductor /capacitor on the back of the vvt engine? 94-97 injector/ignition harness doesn't have a plug for it . I'm going to be working on this all day today.. If someone who's done this is willing to let me text /call them with questions as I go I would be eternally greatful
Morello is online now  
Old 03-15-2015, 01:23 PM
  #105  
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,593
Total Cats: 615
Default

Yes, you ditch it. There's a similar unit on 1.6s on the ignitor bracket. Not sure if they're pnp though. Or if they do the same thing even.
curly is offline  
Old 03-15-2015, 04:18 PM
  #106  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 328
Total Cats: 20
Default

Alright thanks. For now I'm putting the vtcs manifold back on until I can find a square top to put on it. Is it okay to just hook the butterfly actuator directly to vacuum? I don't have the solenoid, and it's normally open. I don't want to deal with trying to delete it since this manifold isn't permanent anyway. Also, the back end of the 02 transmission that came with this engine looks nothing like that one that came out of my car. I can't see how my shifter will fit on there.. The one that came out of my car has the shift rod(?) exposed, the new one is covered and has 4 bolts where it looks like the shifter should attach.

Edit: Maybe I got a 6 speed and didn't know it?
Edit 2: I'm an idiot. It's a 5 speed, just missing the shifter cover shown on this pic... http://teamtac.org/e107/e107_files/p...0_img_7790.jpg

Last edited by Morello; 03-15-2015 at 06:13 PM.
Morello is online now  
Old 03-16-2015, 12:24 AM
  #107  
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 10
Total Cats: -3
Default

Originally Posted by curly View Post
I almost wish I did that. I think ribbed belts look much more modern, but I've never had issues with squeaking V-belts like I have with NB belts. They seem much more sensitive.
I had the opportunity to speak with a gates belt rep a while back. I learned that serpentine belts make noise when they are worn out. You can tighten the crap out of them but they will still squeak. There is a thin gauge available to check the groove depth on the belt. Basically, if the gauge is in the groove and you see it, belt is worn out. If a non v belt is noisy, just replace it.
tpc0531 is offline  
Old 03-16-2015, 01:19 PM
  #108  
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sandia Park, NM
Posts: 408
Total Cats: 41
Default

Does anyone know what the pinout is at the 2 pin connector of the nb1 alternator?
I need to know which pin goes to the 1O pin of nb1 ecu (field out).

One of these goes to 12v or something or nothing or ??
One of these goes to my 5v pwm
Which is which? (I know I can open it up and look, but please save me that trouble)
I'll provide this thread with a writeup of MS3 and nb1 alternator control in an NA6 once I have it working
Attached Thumbnails The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread.-p7110381.jpg  
leboeuf is offline  
Old 03-18-2015, 12:57 AM
  #109  
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sandia Park, NM
Posts: 408
Total Cats: 41
Default

Found the wiring diagram with the plug pinout. The simple things in life.
Attached Thumbnails The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread.-alternator.png  
leboeuf is offline  
Old 03-21-2015, 03:53 PM
  #110  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 172
Total Cats: 20
Default

"Alternator and pulleys
Use a 1994-1997 alternator and pulley. The 1.6 alternator has a different shaft diameter, so a pulley swap is not possible - the entire alternator must be swapped. It may be possible to use the 99-05 ECU with wiring changes and an ECU with alternator control, but few/no PnP ECUs for 1990-1997s will have this feature, so it's easiest to simply use a 94-97 alternator with onboard control. "

Would it not be possible to use the 90-93 alternator and swap the 1.6 crank and water pump pulleys? Does the 1.6 long nose crank pully not fit on the 1.8?


Great thread. I missed the info about needing a 99-00 fuel rail in my previous research. Will have to come up with one of those.
Ziggo is offline  
Old 03-21-2015, 05:09 PM
  #111  
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 40
Total Cats: 1
Default

Originally Posted by Ziggo View Post

Would it not be possible to use the 90-93 alternator and swap the 1.6 crank and water pump pulleys?
This is exactly how I did mine. 1.6 long nose crank pulley works perfectly.
wkndracr is offline  
Old 03-21-2015, 05:51 PM
  #112  
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,061
Total Cats: 1,853
Default

I prefer the 1.8L pulley that was designed for the 1.8L engine.
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 04-05-2015, 03:02 PM
  #113  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 328
Total Cats: 20
Default

So is the solenoid for the fuel pressure regulator used after this swap? If not, can I repurpose the signal wire to control the vvt solenoid?
Morello is online now  
Old 04-05-2015, 03:18 PM
  #114  
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,061
Total Cats: 1,853
Default

There is no solenoid for the fuel pressure regulator. The FPR is purely mechanical
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 04-05-2015, 03:27 PM
  #115  
Ben
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (33)
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: atlanta-ish
Posts: 12,651
Total Cats: 111
Default

He means the hot start pressure up solenoid found on some NAs.

I suppose you could, but with the other rewiring also required with the swap, I don't see the benefit.
__________________
DIYAutoTune.com Tech Support
10AE-T|BEGi S4|MSPNP-Pro EMS|Enthuza Duals|6UL|Etc
Track Rat|2001|VVT|MS3-Pro EMS|Enthuza|Exocet in Progress

Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Buy an MSPNP Pro, you'll feel better.
Ben is offline  
Old 04-05-2015, 03:33 PM
  #116  
Supporting Vendor
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,061
Total Cats: 1,853
Default

Originally Posted by Ben View Post
He means the hot start pressure up solenoid found on some NAs.

I suppose you could, but with the other rewiring also required with the swap, I don't see the benefit.
It's been a while since I've seen a stock NA

With this method (99 rail + 93 FPR) you aren't really changing the mechanical properties of the fuel system. It's still an atmospheric referenced ~43psi base system with a single regulator. If you want to keep the hot start solenoid, keep it, if you want to repurpose the wires, you can do that too.
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 04-05-2015, 04:08 PM
  #117  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 328
Total Cats: 20
Default

Originally Posted by Ben View Post
He means the hot start pressure up solenoid found on some NAs.

I suppose you could, but with the other rewiring also required with the swap, I don't see the benefit.
The idea would be to avoid running a wire all the way back to the ecu. Can I tell the megasquirt that the vvt solenoid is on that pin and use the stock harness? According to the 95 wiring diagram, it goes back to pin 2r

Also, what is the best way to route the crank position sensor wire?
Morello is online now  
Old 04-06-2015, 09:22 AM
  #118  
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,328
Total Cats: 83
Default

Well if he's following this swap and using a standalone, the ecu wont be controlling that noid. I'd go ahead and use the wiring.
Leafy is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 10:18 AM
  #119  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 172
Total Cats: 20
Default

You won't be able to "tell" it to use that pin, but you could crack open the case and rewire the VVT output to that pin.

For the Reverant MS3 I am buying I am just going to run an extra bundle from the DB37 to the bay with VVT, VICS, VTCS and injector 3/4 in it.
Ziggo is offline  
Old 04-06-2015, 02:11 PM
  #120  
Elite Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Murfreesboro,TN
Posts: 1,511
Total Cats: 87
Default

Originally Posted by Ben View Post
He means the hot start pressure up solenoid found on some NAs.

I suppose you could, but with the other rewiring also required with the swap, I don't see the benefit.
I used the wiring from the pressure up solenoid in for my VVT solenoid (see earlier responses). I did it because the pressure up solenoid (a switched 12v+ and trigger) was already a part of the injector wiring harness. I just added the VVT pigtail to the existing wiring and moved the trigger wire on the ECU side (AEM EMS). It was a lot easier than having to patch into the 12v+ from the injectors and run a new trigger.
Midtenn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The Definitive "VVT swap into 90-97 chassis" Megathread.


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.