hell freezes over: hustler's progress thread - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


General Miata Chat A place to talk about anything Miata

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2008, 01:58 PM   #1
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default hell freezes over: hustler's progress thread

My step dad really wants this car out of his back yard and realized that he could help me out, in order to help himself. lol




slight oil leak




yes, there's progress on my car...hell has frozen over.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,371
Total Cats: -1
Default

Very nice, you have another, built motor right?
wes65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
iTrader: (14)
 
brgracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 1,275
Total Cats: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
yes, there's progress on my car...hell has frozen over.
So you took it from a running car and turned it into a non-running car.... hell will freeze over when you turbo it.
brgracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:02 PM   #4
Elite Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 4,921
Total Cats: 0
Default

... and actually turn a wrench on it yourself
jayc72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:03 PM   #5
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wes65 View Post
Very nice, you have another, built motor right?
yes. Soon the green car will be very,very happy.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:08 PM   #6
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

So hustler is a checkbook racer, but doesn't actually use a checkbook?
The plot thickens! haha

Is your other motor already assemble ready to go, or is still in progress?
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:10 PM   #7
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zabac View Post
So hustler is a checkbook racer, but doesn't actually use a checkbook?
The plot thickens! haha

Is your other motor already assemble ready to go, or is still in progress?
I'm waiting on my m-tuned fuel rail, and I still need to get a flange for the coolant reroute. If I don't have a proper flange, I'll pull the freeze plug out of the head and stick a sensor in there.

Right now the coolant reroute flange drama is a ******* disaster. I just need a god damn flange, and no one can seem to put 2 and 2 together on a simple concept.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:37 PM   #8
Guest
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vaughan, On, Canada
Posts: 1,092
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I'm waiting on my m-tuned fuel rail.
Shipped on Friday. Should have it this week.. Enjoy!
M-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:43 PM   #9
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

The outlet thingy i sent you could have a bung welded to it to accept any sensor...seems so simple, i dont know why no one has it out.
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:02 PM   #10
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zabac View Post
The outlet thingy i sent you could have a bung welded to it to accept any sensor...seems so simple, i dont know why no one has it out.
I don't have any machine tools, so I'm pretty much fucked up the *******.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:11 PM   #11
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taos, New mexico
Posts: 5,703
Total Cats: 237
Default

Wow, never thought this would actually happen.

Are you going to get the whole car done.. soon?
Fireindc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:15 PM   #12
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,205
Total Cats: 2,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireindc View Post
Wow, never thought this would actually happen.

Are you going to get the whole car done.. soon?
+1...so any real eta on this now?
lol
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:28 PM   #13
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I don't have any machine tools, so I'm pretty much fucked up the *******.
If I had any free time right now I'd find a shop that can do it and do the R&D on the fittment myself and then find someone with AL welding skills to do what I can't...**** work man, I have no life!!!
This is not complicated, you just need some flat stock 1/4-1/2" Al and give them dimensions of what you want done, they could spit 10-20 of these in a few hours for less than $20 each. Way less I assume.
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:49 PM   #14
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

what are we talking about?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 03:50 PM   #15
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

btw, is that a clear hose for the slave line?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 04:02 PM   #16
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Trenton, NJ
Posts: 1,125
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zabac View Post
If I had any free time right now I'd find a shop that can do it and do the R&D on the fittment myself and then find someone with AL welding skills to do what I can't...**** work man, I have no life!!!
This is not complicated, you just need some flat stock 1/4-1/2" Al and give them dimensions of what you want done, they could spit 10-20 of these in a few hours for less than $20 each. Way less I assume.
Maybe TurboTim could make something for ya. He's good at making things like my manifold and such.
ArtieParty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 04:11 PM   #17
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,689
Total Cats: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
btw, is that a clear hose for the slave line?
Aquarium tubing for that old VW cable operated feel?
rleete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 04:34 PM   #18
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
what are we talking about?
A poor drawing of a coolant outlet for the back of the head.
It places t-stat at the head, has heater feed/return and routes the coolant towards the coldside via hardline. You could add a bung for a sensor or two if you want to. You can have it made out of AL or SS, should be very cheap and do exactly what we all want it to do.
It seems like such a simple solution, I wonder why no-one has it on the market. It would replace several expensive to make pieces like t-stat housings, a big thick flange with heater holes that you have to buy fittings for, etc.


Name:  re-routeflange.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  38.3 KB
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 04:44 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
LOLA - 92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SWAMPS OF FLORIDA !!!
Posts: 1,161
Total Cats: 0
Default

At least the Dip Stick is in one piece!
A rarity!
Clean that stinkin engine bay up before you install that pretty new motor
LOLA - 92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:32 PM   #20
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zabac View Post
A poor drawing of a coolant outlet for the back of the head.
It places t-stat at the head, has heater feed/return and routes the coolant towards the coldside via hardline. You could add a bung for a sensor or two if you want to. You can have it made out of AL or SS, should be very cheap and do exactly what we all want it to do.
It seems like such a simple solution, I wonder why no-one has it on the market. It would replace several expensive to make pieces like t-stat housings, a big thick flange with heater holes that you have to buy fittings for, etc.


the heater lead is in the wrong place, which is the same problem I have with the begi reroute.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
Koni 1150 Coilover Kit drumman83 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 2 09-25-2015 08:03 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.