Tokina 11-16 f2.8 , finally got a UWA lens - Page 2 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Insert BS here A place to discuss anything you want

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2010, 09:58 AM   #21
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,441
Total Cats: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cspence View Post
I had a hard time choosing between the tokina and the canon 10-22, but ultimately the constant 2.8 aperture, superior build quality, included lens hood, and $200 cheaper price won me over.
I never asked btw, how much did you pay for it without shipping?
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:47 AM   #22
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
The auto iso feature on my new camera is weird. I'm used to having to manually do it, so I'm getting some shots at 1200-3200iso with the flash.

The above picture in P mode was:
Focal Length 125 mm
Aperture Value f/7.1
Flash Compulsory Flash, Return light detected
ISO 1250
Shutter Speed Value 1/60 sec


full size is fairly grainy : http://www.boostedmiata.com/gallery2...1/DSC_0158.JPG
You can set auto iso to a maximum limit somewhere in the settings. I think I have my D5000 set to 1600 since it's "tolerable" if I forget flash or whatnot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverant View Post
Nikons have the best manuals out there, bar none. I actually ENJOYED reading the manual.
I bet I'm not the only one here who downloads manuals to read before receiving new products like cameras...
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:14 PM   #23
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NA6C-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 8,038
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
The auto iso feature on my new camera is weird. I'm used to having to manually do it, so I'm getting some shots at 1200-3200iso with the flash.

The above picture in P mode was:
Focal Length 125 mm
Aperture Value f/7.1
Flash Compulsory Flash, Return light detected
ISO 1250
Shutter Speed Value 1/60 sec


full size is fairly grainy : http://www.boostedmiata.com/gallery2...1/DSC_0158.JPG
Your camera is far superior to mine then, if that was ISO 1250. Mine at 1600 looks 5 times grainier, then again mine were in mostly dark areas with dim lighting.

Photobucket is down, so I'll just upload examples here. Look like horrible ****, and certainly not like I was using a decent camera. Of course I'm not the most skilled with a camera, but my shots usually look much better than these. Thanks ISO crap.
Attached Thumbnails
Tokina 11-16 f2.8 , finally got a UWA lens-barber1a.jpg   Tokina 11-16 f2.8 , finally got a UWA lens-barber2a.jpg  
NA6C-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:21 PM   #24
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default



ISO 1250
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:32 PM   #25
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NA6C-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 8,038
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
ISO 1250
That actually doesn't look bad at all. Maybe I just have my **** set up wrong somewhere else other than ISO.

That first image was shot:

1/100 shutter
f5 aperture
18mm focus
1600 ISO

Also just realized I had it set to NEF+JPEG Basic... So that was just basic, not fine like I normally have set. Wish my camera had RAW+Fine option. Then again no point if you have the raw data.
NA6C-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:38 PM   #26
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

I'm at basic JPG.

http://kenrockwell.com/nikon/compari...-iso/index.htm

does really well for ISO. d3100
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:41 PM   #27
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,441
Total Cats: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
Your catz need moar entertainment. Please leave valuable, fragile objects around the house.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #28
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,868
Total Cats: 66
Default

Meh..f*k you guys and your DSLRs. I see that Canon has released the PowerShot SX30...I'm still using the PowerShot S5 IS. FML. I need to go up to the camera store (not the chain place) and do some comparison shots with my S5 and the SX30 and see just how much better Canon has made BBBZ/PnS image quality. The zoom is something crazy like 28-840mm equivalent (35x optical). I simply don't need another expensive "hobby"...not that I even take that many pictures. My GF no longer uses her Canon XS and that would probably be good enough for me...and I need to get my hands on CS5.

I mean, does my sig. pic really look like it was taken with a nearly 4 year old point 'n shoot with a whopping 8mp and 12x zoom (36-462 equiv.) ???
Doppelgänger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 07:04 PM   #29
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NA6C-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 8,038
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I'm at basic JPG.

http://kenrockwell.com/nikon/compari...-iso/index.htm

does really well for ISO. d3100
Yeah, the 3100 kicks my cameras *** in every way possible. Mine would be similar to the D40 I guess, and it's not even close.
NA6C-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:32 PM   #30
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doppelgänger View Post
Meh..f*k you guys and your DSLRs. I see that Canon has released the PowerShot SX30...I'm still using the PowerShot S5 IS. FML. I need to go up to the camera store (not the chain place) and do some comparison shots with my S5 and the SX30 and see just how much better Canon has made BBBZ/PnS image quality. The zoom is something crazy like 28-840mm equivalent (35x optical). I simply don't need another expensive "hobby"...not that I even take that many pictures. My GF no longer uses her Canon XS and that would probably be good enough for me...and I need to get my hands on CS5.

I mean, does my sig. pic really look like it was taken with a nearly 4 year old point 'n shoot with a whopping 8mp and 12x zoom (36-462 equiv.) ???
zoom isn't really relevant unless you can't walk. truth is if you can take a 12 megapixel shot and crop it, you'll get plenty of zoom effect.

what's more important is manual setting capability. if you can't set your shutter and/or aperture, then all the zoom in the world will just get you larger scale mediocre images.

it's all about light and composition. if you can't control the light (shutter and aperture) then you're giving up half the game as soon as you pick up your camera. can you get lucky and get a PnS to take awesome photos? sure, but being able to set the camera up for the conditions you're in makes it much easier.

and then there's depth of field...



btw, the canon S95 is under $400 (sometimes on sale) and will do just about everything a DSLR can except swap lenses and flashes. and it will fit in your pocket.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:13 PM   #31
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meriden, CT
Posts: 2,072
Total Cats: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
and then there's depth of field...

mmmmm bokeh!
Cspence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:46 PM   #32
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

yes bokeh. i must admit that the 18-55 kit lens that comes with the nikons is a really damn good lens.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 09:53 AM   #33
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,868
Total Cats: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
zoom isn't really relevant unless you can't walk. truth is if you can take a 12 megapixel shot and crop it, you'll get plenty of zoom effect.

what's more important is manual setting capability. if you can't set your shutter and/or aperture, then all the zoom in the world will just get you larger scale mediocre images.

it's all about light and composition. if you can't control the light (shutter and aperture) then you're giving up half the game as soon as you pick up your camera. can you get lucky and get a PnS to take awesome photos? sure, but being able to set the camera up for the conditions you're in makes it much easier. It's like saying I know enough about rotary engines...but don't own because I don't want the extra cost, so I have a Miata with the good BP instead

and then there's depth of field...


btw, the canon S95 is under $400 (sometimes on sale) and will do just about everything a DSLR can except swap lenses and flashes. and it will fit in your pocket.
I hope to God you're not implying that I take my pics in auto mode
The S95 is a pocket cam...not near the functions I need...way too small. Trust me I know the capabilities of a DSLR when it comes to much better ISO flexablility and the bazillion focal lenghts, shutter speed and aperature.

**** this..I'm buying a Hasselblad.

I can has DOF..and maybe some of this "bokeh" people speak of?


Desert Spiny Lizard by AnonymousNamelss, on Flickr
Doppelgänger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:10 AM   #34
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

**** your bokeh

Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:21 AM   #35
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NA6C-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 8,038
Total Cats: 43
Default

I think I'm gonna purchase myself a 18-55 VR, since my old school D50 only came with the non VR version, and I hate hand shake ruining my slower shutter speed low light images. It really is a great lens though, best of both worlds, and according to Rockwell, it has superior optics to some of the higher end lenses like the 16-85 or 18-200. For $180 I can't help but buy the same lens, just with the damn VR feature.
NA6C-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:23 AM   #36
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,441
Total Cats: 198
Default

FWIW, I'm not missing the VR at all on my 18-55 lens, whereas I keep it on all the time on my 55-200, especially in the 100-200 range.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:24 AM   #37
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

that's why i bought the d3100

d3100 = $650
d40 = sold for $325

$325 to get 18-55mm VR

I do really like the 18-55mm it's a great "free" lens. I have the 35mm prime as well, but I'm not using it as much as I'd like. I really do want something wide like the OP posted...but alas.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:32 AM   #38
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,868
Total Cats: 66
Default

Fml.
Doppelgänger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:32 AM   #39
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

dont hate on my froogleness
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 10:55 AM   #40
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
NA6C-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 8,038
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
that's why i bought the d3100

d3100 = $650
d40 = sold for $325

$325 to get 18-55mm VR

I do really like the 18-55mm it's a great "free" lens. I have the 35mm prime as well, but I'm not using it as much as I'd like. I really do want something wide like the OP posted...but alas.
Wonder what my D50 would bring to the "right buyer" since it's slightly higher end than the D40, but slightly older also. I could easily swing $300-$400 for that big of a jump in performance, and a free VR lens at that.
NA6C-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toxikk Girz0r Gaming 23 01-18-2017 01:02 PM
An Old Driver but a newbie in Miata Patriarca Meet and Greet 17 10-13-2015 02:34 PM
3rd Time's a Charm...hopefully. zephyrusaurai Meet and Greet 2 09-28-2015 11:59 PM
SOLD-Rear knuckle/spindle upper spherical bearing adapter hi_im_sean Miata parts for sale/trade 1 09-16-2015 01:45 PM
ME221 Now has Autotune and Long Term Fuel Trim Tables Motorsport-Electronics ECUs and Tuning 0 09-05-2015 09:02 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.