Five Star build thread - Page 7 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2013, 05:22 PM   #121
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Which pins on the relay?
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:26 PM   #122
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

I forget, pop the black cap off the relay and look.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:14 PM   #123
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Well on my way home the truck decided to have a flat. It's raining so hard you could barely see anything around you. Luckily an employee I work with lives near me and was right behind me, not about to change the tire out in the pouring rain. Now I have no vehicles to drive, couldn't get any better than this! Well... maybe. This package definitely helps
Attached Thumbnails
Five Star build thread-20130619_180852_zps8286bae5.jpeg  

Last edited by FowlerMotorsports; 06-20-2013 at 08:51 AM.
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:43 PM   #124
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Props to Leafy, main relay was french fried! Jumper got her running again. Off to the parts store!
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:47 PM   #125
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Haza! Now that you know how its wired, just grab a 45 amp universal jobby and make yourself a "patch harness". I'd really like to see a more eloquent solution to this than mine.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:01 PM   #126
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

I assume you've tried this? I'd love to see that lol

Hopefully I can find a relay at work, I have a box full of working relays but not sure if one will work out.
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:21 PM   #127
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FowlerMotorsports View Post
I assume you've tried this? I'd love to see that lol

Hopefully I can find a relay at work, I have a box full of working relays but not sure if one will work out.
Lol, like this to test it, ended up not being the issue, stock relay is back in there.

Attached Thumbnails
Five Star build thread-img_20130601_221205.jpg  
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:26 PM   #128
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

The solenoid on my relay is totally shot, not really sure what caused it besides being 13 years old. Parts stores didn't carry them so hopefully I can find one at work.

I'm ready to play with the new ecu
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:24 PM   #129
Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 3,518
Total Cats: 259
Default

Main relay also died on me once. I replaced with another one from my 25085671240 spare fuse boxes... maybe I should get new one, heh.
soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:33 PM   #130
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Noone in town has one, would be monday til I could get one. Luckily the smallest parts shop in town had one at the warehouse, picking it up after work to get back on the road
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:42 PM   #131
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Stared the day off good. Had a long night of watching midget wrestling, they were pretty entertaining!

Got my short shift installed which is 10x better than my old shifter. I think the bushing were just wore out in my old setup. So after quickly getting the shifter done I figured I would install the new ms3!

After 5 hours of screwing with wiring, routing my wideband and getting everything setup to run the ms3, it seems my wideband is shot. I get (8.) on my gauge which people say the whole setup is fried. If I were to get E8 (error 8) then the sensor would be bad, but this reads 8. with and without the sensor installed.

After wasting my time I was screw it, i'm selling my car. Pissed off at it, hating life with no boost, but i've calmed down and decided to run ms3 with the narrowband. This car is slowly getting on my nerves, after I washed it I just fell in love again lol what a love/hate relationship we have <3
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:16 PM   #132
Senior Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oakdale, CA
Posts: 1,353
Total Cats: 66
Default

I have a lc1 that's brand new, $100?
RyanRaduechel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:08 PM   #133
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 6,010
Total Cats: 583
Default

hornetball is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 07:54 PM   #134
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

I have the mtx-l, not sure how much different it is than the lc1.

I'm guessing I just sourced a bad 12v and ground. I hooked the wideband up to a 12v battery and recalibrated it just now, works like a champ.

I'll fiddle around with it more this week to get it installed, i'v been playing around with my new Ruger MKIII all weekend.
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:36 PM   #135
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Should I put together a cheap turbo setup? By cheap I mean find a used FM manifold/dp, custom exhaust, small t28ish turbo, just something to toy with.

The original plan was to go EFR with an ARTech full exhaust setup. Spending over $4,000 isn't in my budget anymore since school starts in October, but I would really love a turbo setup while I am in school. My school offers free dyno tuning/pulls for students, so on my off time I can play as long as I want (as long as their is supervision in the shop)

Suggestions? All I lack is a turbo, manifold, downpipe and exhaust to complete my turbo setup. I have everything else.

Wait for EFR or go for instaspool cheapo trubo??? Decisions decisions
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:39 PM   #136
Senior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 989
Total Cats: 23
Default

Cheap setup for now. You will learn a lot and have a lot more fun with turbo NOW! **** will break and you will have to fix it when you should be studying, but at least you will be able to get to class fast.
wittyworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:41 PM   #137
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Apartment is literally 1/4 mile from school, I pull out of the apartments and i'm there lol real question is where I will be working at. Who knows how far that will be
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:46 PM   #138
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,192
Total Cats: 2,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FowlerMotorsports View Post
Apartment is literally 1/4 mile from school, I pull out of the apartments and i'm there lol real question is where I will be working at. Who knows how far that will be
The real question is, can you get to school in 9 seconds or less?

18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:18 PM   #139
Senior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Granbury, Tx
Posts: 815
Total Cats: 14
Default

Maybe once I am lined up. A question to your question, is the 1/4 mile a real 1/4 mile or a fast n furious 1/4 mile??
FowlerMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:19 PM   #140
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,192
Total Cats: 2,583
Default

If you don't shift at least 8 times, you're doin it wrong
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.