hustler's "driver shame" thread - Page 24 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2009, 03:03 PM   #461
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,889
Total Cats: 28
Default

You can move the sensor. Take it out, plug the existing hole. I put mine in the back of the oil pan with the motor in the car. Took like 10 minutes to drill and tap it. The sensor stays above the bottom of the oil pan so it will not be damaged by speed bumps or the like. It is also at the bottom of the sump, near the pickup for the pump, but still plenty of clearance, does not hit anything in the pan.

Sorry, no pictures I can show you right now, maybe later.
ZX-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 03:06 PM   #462
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Tex View Post
You can move the sensor. Take it out, plug the existing hole. I put mine in the back of the oil pan with the motor in the car. Took like 10 minutes to drill and tap it. The sensor stays above the bottom of the oil pan so it will not be damaged by speed bumps or the like. It is also at the bottom of the sump, near the pickup for the pump, but still plenty of clearance, does not hit anything in the pan.

Sorry, no pictures I can show you right now, maybe later.
I'm afraid of doing this. I will probably fail.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 03:49 PM   #463
Elite Member
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seabrook, TX
Posts: 2,409
Total Cats: 19
Default

Same way mine was done. Just go slow and you are going to be fine. I drilled/tapped mine and then ran mineral spirits through the oil return barb to flush it out in case anything got in there.
rharris19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 04:55 PM   #464
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,889
Total Cats: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I'm afraid of doing this. I will probably fail.
Piece of cake. Hell, if you are willing to do an oil change, I could bring my drill and tap and do it at TWS if we had a way to get the car up on jack stands. You could even get a new sender (they are cheap) and just leave the old one where it is. 1/8" NPT sender only, not sure a 1/4" NPT would fit.
ZX-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:33 PM   #465
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I need a greddy/omori sender and they are a bitch to get actually.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:40 PM   #466
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,037
Total Cats: 406
Default

will any of the nippon seiki senders work? I recall several week backorders on that crap.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:54 PM   #467
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
will any of the nippon seiki senders work? I recall several week backorders on that crap.
yep, **** the backorder. I know I'm going to look under there and its going to be a bunch of melted-up plastic.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:01 PM   #468
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Incline Village, NV
Posts: 2,073
Total Cats: 5
Default

We want out sensors in the pan rather than in line of our oil feed?

I understand that the temperature could potentially change, and get cooler as it leaves the block and routes through the feed line. But how much? I guess ill drill and tap my pan for my sensor this weekend.
thesnowboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:54 PM   #469
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,105
Total Cats: 518
Default

I tapped my oil drain bolt for the sensor. Buy a replacement at NAPA for $3.99, and go to town. My only beef was that it made oil changes that much more difficult because you had to unhook the wire to take out the plug. I crimped a spade connector 2" from the sensor for that reason. I did move it to the oil sandwich plate when I installed my oil cooler, but it's a $4 quick fix for the time being if you desperately want a better location. And FWIW, even though the sensor made the plug about 1" lower, there were a ton of things that would hit the ground before the sensor.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 12:06 AM   #470
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,889
Total Cats: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesnowboarder View Post
We want out sensors in the pan rather than in line of our oil feed?

I understand that the temperature could potentially change, and get cooler as it leaves the block and routes through the feed line. But how much? I guess ill drill and tap my pan for my sensor this weekend.
No I do not think you HAVE to do it that way. It is just a convenient place if you do not have an oil cooler sandwich plate with a sensor hole for example. If you already have it teed into a feed line running TO the oil cooler, pretty close to the engine, that should be good enough.

Seems like I remember a thread around here discussing the pros and cons of different oil temp sensor mounting locations ad nauseum.
ZX-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 12:11 AM   #471
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,889
Total Cats: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I need a greddy/omori sender and they are a bitch to get actually.
Well, you just have to be a cheap *** like me and use ProSport gauges. The sending units are $10 shipped and are 1/8" NPT
ZX-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 01:15 AM   #472
Trackspeed Engineering
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 937
Total Cats: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Tex View Post
Well, you just have to be a cheap *** like me and use ProSport gauges. The sending units are $10 shipped and are 1/8" NPT
I wouldn't.... I've had a few go bad on me.
crashnscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 01:24 AM   #473
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Incline Village, NV
Posts: 2,073
Total Cats: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Tex View Post
No I do not think you HAVE to do it that way. It is just a convenient place if you do not have an oil cooler sandwich plate with a sensor hole for example. If you already have it teed into a feed line running TO the oil cooler, pretty close to the engine, that should be good enough.

Ive currently got mine in line for the oil feed for the turbo coming out of the cold side of the block. I have a sandwhich plate, without a hole already tapped. I can take a drill and tap to it at ease.

Just trying to find the "best" place for it at this point.

Not trying to thread crap Hustler, my apologizes if it seems that way. I figure others can learn from these posts since your car is track oriented too.
thesnowboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 02:14 AM   #474
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I think your location is fine, Nick. Leave it there.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 08:55 AM   #475
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
TurboTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chesterfield, NJ
Posts: 6,479
Total Cats: 248
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
I tapped my oil drain bolt for the sensor. Buy a replacement at NAPA for $3.99, and go to town. My only beef was that it made oil changes that much more difficult because you had to unhook the wire to take out the plug. I crimped a spade connector 2" from the sensor for that reason. I did move it to the oil sandwich plate when I installed my oil cooler, but it's a $4 quick fix for the time being if you desperately want a better location. And FWIW, even though the sensor made the plug about 1" lower, there were a ton of things that would hit the ground before the sensor.
This is what I did too. I run an autometer oil temp gauge & sensor. The sensor has a little stud that you remove the wire from, pretty simple.
TurboTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:31 AM   #476
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,889
Total Cats: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashnscar View Post
I wouldn't.... I've had a few go bad on me.
So far so good for me. I have two now I have used for about a year, and just bought two more. Fingers crossed.
ZX-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:31 AM   #477
Elite Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,889
Total Cats: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I think your location is fine, Nick. Leave it there.
I agree.
ZX-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:33 AM   #478
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
lol
I'm glad that made you lol. Did you buy one yet?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:14 PM   #479
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

y hallo thar:

edit: random downpipe, lol.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:08 PM   #480
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meriden, CT
Posts: 2,072
Total Cats: 1
Default

mmmmmm.... bronze 6UL's.....
Cspence is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 57 07-19-2017 05:11 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.