I Blew My Engine, See What I'm Doing About It (teardown and build thread) - Page 5 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Insert BS here A place to discuss anything you want

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2007, 08:12 PM   #81
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 212
Total Cats: 0
Default

delicious
iluvtruenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 10:34 PM   #82
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

I might have figured out why my temperature readings are about 20F lower than they should. I was able test the resistance values of my sensor. Very close to in line with the what the manual says, obviously. I believe the values I gave easytherm were slightly off the scale. We'll see soon enough.

here's the difference between what I recorded today along with the factory values....against what I currently have plugged in:


Last edited by Braineack; 08-24-2007 at 03:16 PM.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 12:22 AM   #83
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 898
Total Cats: 0
Default

I really need to start testing stuff like that with my sensors/ULIs at work.
rotaryjunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 03:12 PM   #84
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

so....putting the finishing touches on the engine, and of course something had to break...it was my oil feed fitting:







Luckily I was able to extract it...I'm pissed I barely tightened the booger.


Here is the completed longblock:











and the AT TB with TPS I was able to source:


Last edited by Braineack; 08-24-2007 at 03:17 PM.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 03:16 PM   #85
:(
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nowhere
Posts: 8,281
Total Cats: 2
Default

Why no dual feed fuel rail scot?
magnamx-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 03:20 PM   #86
Elite Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 4,921
Total Cats: 0
Default

Same thing happened to my greddy supplied fitting. Banjo fitting FTW!

Looks like it is coming along nicely!
jayc72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 03:22 PM   #87
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central-ish VA
Posts: 4,449
Total Cats: 16
Default

It's because it was an Al fitting. Buy a steel one next time.
neogenesis2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 03:23 PM   #88
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

you can see the fuel hose hanging there with the brass tee...I just had to unhook it from the back when i was pulling the connections in that area. I mean, I did do the writeup on it.

yeah i know it's aluminum and that's why, i was surprised because I barely cranked on it...I hand tightened it and went at it with a wrench and blamo! I was trying to be carfeul because I know how easy they are to snap....you think I haven't snapped any brass fittings before
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 03:31 PM   #89
Elite Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,270
Total Cats: -4
Default

look at the ******* zip ties
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 06:03 PM   #90
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

I'll make sure to detail them in full for you once completed.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 08:06 PM   #91
:(
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nowhere
Posts: 8,281
Total Cats: 2
Default

make sure all the zip ties at least match and no more worm clamps either
magnamx-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 10:23 PM   #92
Senior Member
 
LOLA - 92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SWAMPS OF FLORIDA !!!
Posts: 1,161
Total Cats: 0
Default

Brainy ---
Multiple color Zip Ties for Philip, Please!
Make him Happy :gay:
LOLA - 92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 03:33 PM   #93
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

It's back in. Just the turbo bits left and driveshaft:





A while back I was surfing through the new FM installation instructions and saw the low radiator hose they use. Well I liked it and got one...frees a lot of space just under the turbo (my drain fitting rubbed on it).














(2) zip-ties so far.

Last edited by Braineack; 08-23-2007 at 08:59 AM.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 03:37 PM   #94
Ben
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (33)
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: atlanta-ish
Posts: 12,689
Total Cats: 99
Default

No coolant re-route for Brainy?
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 03:43 PM   #95
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

coolant reroute = effort, time, money.

Will be done on built engine once completed. (see thread 1-2 years from now)
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:18 PM   #96
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

hey that looks easier than the crap I did with two random hoses and a hose nipple.

by the way, your **** gonna SMOKE like a SOB when you start it the first few times. :gay:
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:20 PM   #97
:(
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nowhere
Posts: 8,281
Total Cats: 2
Default

the more i read about the reroute the more of a PITA it seems **** it, i doubt i ever do one.
magnamx-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:36 PM   #98
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
hey that looks easier than the crap I did with two random hoses and a hose nipple.

by the way, your **** gonna SMOKE like a SOB when you start it the first few times. :gay:

you think? that manifold was white when i pulled it...greasy hands later; it's saturated in oil/grime.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:44 PM   #99
:(
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nowhere
Posts: 8,281
Total Cats: 2
Default

dont forget to clamp those hoses down man, just in case you get to excited this will be my excuse to say i told you so if you don't :gay:
magnamx-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:46 PM   #100
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

oh there will be something I forget...there always is. I just gotta try really hard not to crank it before my oil feed fitting comes in.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help - Stock Balancer and Fastforward overlay pulleys Frank_and_Beans Supercharger Discussion 13 09-12-2016 09:17 PM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM
3rd Time's a Charm...hopefully. zephyrusaurai Meet and Greet 2 09-28-2015 11:59 PM
Are my coils failing? viriiguy General Miata Chat 5 09-28-2015 08:39 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.