DS1 has a horrible Build Thread. - Page 8 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2013, 12:27 AM   #141
Ds1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 283
Total Cats: -31
Default

Hey that's pretty cool, and pretty cheap! I like when stuff looks factory or nice-aftermarket. Only thing is, I will probably need two gauges total at least... Where for the other one?
Ds1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 12:30 AM   #142
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

I got something similar to that but with 3 gauge openings now - pretty cool. planning to use the 3rd opening for a blank that has a switch on it to change from e85 to pump gas as neede
had one before with 2, that was even better. made it myself outa plastic, sheet metal, and some rivets
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 12:46 AM   #143
Ds1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 283
Total Cats: -31
Default

Yeah I figured people must have been making those, cause I couldn't find them anywhere!

I will probably just rock the Wideband and Boost. It seems like that's all you really need. Actually you sorta don't even need the boost but it's just a cool gauge, haha!
Ds1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 12:47 AM   #144
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

One of the bad things about the miata interior is a lack of good gauge space. Savington will point out that if it's below your dash line it isn't useful because it's not in your immediate line of sight, so that limits where you can put things and be "clean."

My personal feel on critical gauges:

Wideband
Boost
Oil Pressure
Water Temp

Anything beyond that is just a bonus.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 01:00 AM   #145
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

I have the DDM works radio surround with 3 gauges. If you want to run a non-stock radio in an NA its the surround you should by anyways.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 01:40 AM   #146
Ds1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 283
Total Cats: -31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elesjuan View Post
One of the bad things about the miata interior is a lack of good gauge space. Savington will point out that if it's below your dash line it isn't useful because it's not in your immediate line of sight, so that limits where you can put things and be "clean."

My personal feel on critical gauges:

Wideband
Boost
Oil Pressure
Water Temp

Anything beyond that is just a bonus.
Yep I feel ya on that! I was thinking about an A-pillar mount but I didn't know if that would be too in-your-face considering the small miata interior. I've never been in a Miata with one.
Ds1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 02:02 AM   #147
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,325
Total Cats: 235
Default

I really really really want this, so I can have all my gauges in one sitting where my useless oil pressure gauge is.

But my MS3 basic won't output obdII info :(

I may have to build something to convert megasquirt's CAN protocol to OBDII some day to hack it in there. Or maybe Reverent can retrofit it when it's available.

I may try MSDroid with my phone w/ usb like Soviet got working.
thenuge26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:41 PM   #148
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenuge26 View Post
I really really really want this, so I can have all my gauges in one sitting where my useless oil pressure gauge is.

But my MS3 basic won't output obdII info :(

I may have to build something to convert megasquirt's CAN protocol to OBDII some day to hack it in there. Or maybe Reverent can retrofit it when it's available.

I may try MSDroid with my phone w/ usb like Soviet got working.

https://www.miataturbo.net/diy-turbo...xigauge-64110/

elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:54 PM   #149
Elite Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Ryan_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,577
Total Cats: 154
Default

I plan on getting something like this when it finally gets released.



Clarion's Android-running Mirage IVI: a head unit that can play Angry Birds


Run MSdroid on it. WINNING!
Attached Thumbnails
DS1 has a horrible Build Thread.-e-clarionmirage3.jpg  
Ryan_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 06:18 PM   #150
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,325
Total Cats: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elesjuan View Post
Holy ****, I missed that! I read Hakan's initial post about maxigauge (and then forgot about it), but I haven't seen that post!

I still don't know if I would want that maxigauge in the radio surround for fear of it being stolen, but in the cluster like that is interesting. I'll have to start looking for another 99 cluster.
thenuge26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 08:48 PM   #151
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

Same here. Zaphod is winning
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 10:10 PM   #152
Ds1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 283
Total Cats: -31
Default

Poor, poor OBD 1 :'(
Ds1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 10:15 PM   #153
Ds1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 283
Total Cats: -31
Default

Got my turbo today, my first big part. It looks sweet!
Attached Thumbnails
DS1 has a horrible Build Thread.-25466562-9268-4181-a0f9-2f24775c4ef8-3879-0000013f4a6ca423.jpg  
Ds1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:38 PM   #154
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_G View Post
I plan on getting something like this when it finally gets released.



Clarion's Android-running Mirage IVI: a head unit that can play Angry Birds


Run MSdroid on it. WINNING!
So that'll be the second Android based piece of car audio, which looks like it'll probably be a little more successful than the parrot unit... But really? Android 2.2? That's like putting Windows 98 on a brand new Ultrabook.......
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:04 PM   #155
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago (Over two miles from Wrigley Field. Fuck the Cubs. Fuck them in their smarmy goat-hole.)
Posts: 26,317
Total Cats: 1,914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elesjuan View Post
That's like putting Windows 98 on a brand new Ultrabook.......
Fast, smooth and stable?
Joe Perez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:08 PM   #156
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

Its probably better than stupid windows8

and I'm only 1/10th kidding
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:23 PM   #157
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago (Over two miles from Wrigley Field. Fuck the Cubs. Fuck them in their smarmy goat-hole.)
Posts: 26,317
Total Cats: 1,914
Default

To be fair, I would still go with XP unless I actually needed to address more than 4GB of physical RAM, in which case I don't see myself switching away from Win7-64 (with ClassicShell) any time soon.

Funny, I've just realized that, on the whole, I tend to completely skip every other version of Windows, going back as far as '95 (which I ignored and continued to use 3.11 in lieu of, until '98 OSR1 came out.)

I guess I'll be waiting for Windows One (which, I assume is what they'll call the 9.x release family.)
Joe Perez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:31 PM   #158
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
To be fair, I would still go with XP unless I actually needed to address more than 4GB of physical RAM, in which case I don't see myself switching away from Win7-64 (with ClassicShell) any time soon.

Funny, I've just realized that, on the whole, I tend to completely skip every other version of Windows, going back as far as '95 (which I ignored and continued to use 3.11 in lieu of, until '98 OSR1 came out.)

I guess I'll be waiting for Windows One (which, I assume is what they'll call the 9.x release family.)
Another Win7 + classic shell user, wow.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:02 PM   #159
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
triple88a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 9,131
Total Cats: 598
Default

Make that 3. ^

On a side note why did people have so many problems with windows ME? Had a computer with it. Ran like a bauce until i replaced it with a new one.
triple88a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:12 PM   #160
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
Fast, smooth and stable?
I was thinking more along the lines of clunky, featureless, and incompatible..

Of course, that depends on the processor that head unit has...
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LucaCarMods's Boosted Dutch Miata Build! LucaCarMods Build Threads 11 02-14-2016 07:13 AM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Is my swirl pot design okay? FrankB Race Prep 10 10-02-2015 10:00 PM
Bad head gasket or ? shooterschmidty Engine Performance 8 09-30-2015 11:28 PM


Tags
joe perez

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 PM.