93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread - Page 106 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2014, 12:52 PM   #2101
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 19
Total Cats: 3
Default

grats on the accidental startup! Your an inspiration to us all
bluegs03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 07:45 PM   #2102
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Total Cats: 0
Default

Any update on the oil pressure problem?

I just finished install of my FMII kit and DIYPNP and am experiencing the same problem on my '90. The gauge is reading no pressure but if I take the oil feed line off the turbo I have oil flowing.
TheDentist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 09:11 PM   #2103
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluegs03 View Post
grats on the accidental startup! Your an inspiration to us all
Thanks, I'll take the compliment for the first 32 pages, anything after with tuning wiring I'd ignore due to my own ignorance at it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDentist View Post
Any update on the oil pressure problem?

I just finished install of my FMII kit and DIYPNP and am experiencing the same problem on my '90. The gauge is reading no pressure but if I take the oil feed line off the turbo I have oil flowing.
Small update on oil pressure, I got the gauge to move a little. It still isn't making the huge jump in oil pressure like it was originally but it is reading some pressure.

So this makes me concerned that maybe my oil pump relay is bad? I have an extra from the 1.6 motor that I may pull just for the process of elimination.

I replaced the oil gauge receiver(?) in the instrument panel and replaced it with the original one in the car(car came with 2 instrument panels)



Pulled the oil pump relay wire and the wire slipped out of the cable sheathing, that was fault #1.



Found a spare connector off the old harness and soldered on a new wire and ran it from the relay to the instrument panel, checked for continuity and it is fine.

Also wire brushed the relay terminal to pull off any corrosion.



I'll have a video done uploading in just a few showing the engine starting up and where the oil pressure gauge is sitting while running.

Not sure why it isn't responding very well. It is moving on its own accord, it just isn't show +60 oil pressure like normal. Not sure HOW the relay could have been damaged since it was working fine prior to it being stolen and after, maybe 5 months of sitting there did something to it? I'm not sure.

I don't want to replace the relay since it seems like it will be a total BITCH to remove.
Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2612.jpg   93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2616.jpg   93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2614.jpg  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 09:14 PM   #2104
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Also after playing with the new TPS wires I finally got 5v and ground in the right place so that it is reading positive input on the throttle rather than negative.

When in Tunerstudio I calibrated the low TPS and it came out at around 500. When the engine is running it seems to want to stall when the throttle is pushed down though, so I'm not sure what other setting I need to adjust to make throttle input smoother.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 10:03 PM   #2105
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Here is the video I need to adjust the idle settings, but I still haven't researched what settings are needed.




Also for those who want to test if their oil gauge actually works or not Revlimiter has a good guide on checking.

I used a D-cell battery with a couple wires to test mine.

http://revlimiter.net/blog/2014/03/m...-real-vs-fake/
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 11:22 PM   #2106
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 11,903
Total Cats: 487
Default

So did yours test out ok or not?

If it did, I'd bypass the relay with 12v or 5v or whatever it takes and see if it reads better. If that doesn't work, don't run the engine any more.

Did you check your oil level? KISS, check the easy stuff first.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 11:39 PM   #2107
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
So did yours test out ok or not?

If it did, I'd bypass the relay with 12v or 5v or whatever it takes and see if it reads better. If that doesn't work, don't run the engine any more.

Did you check your oil level? KISS, check the easy stuff first.
I didn't test the big relay on the engine block but the gauge relay works perfectly.

I'm not sure how one would bypass the relay on the block...I need to read up on that.

Oil level is solid, pulled the turbo oil feed again and it is still puking oil consistently.

I ran the wire directly from the engine to the gauge, so it makes me wonder if the pin contact with the instrument paper isn't solid. Do you think maybe putting a ring terminal on the 5v connection to the gauge would be more consistent?

I agree, the engine won't be started until I can get starter oil pressure priming running properly.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 01:57 AM   #2108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 79
Total Cats: -10
Default

For god's sake stop now. Don't run your engine without proper oil pressure. If you get oil puking out the turbo oil feed it doesn't mean that the oil pressure is good and you are lubricating other parts of the engine.

If you gauge has any movement it's fine. I'm 99% sure that the problem is in your oil pump losing its prime.
Vuti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 02:11 AM   #2109
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 935
Total Cats: 395
Default

Sorry if I'm not up to speed but do you still have the oil pressure "switch" instead of an actual gauge? Any room for an aftermarket pressure gauge? Also, what oil filter do you have? Some don't utilize an anti drain back flap so you'll see a loss in pressure for the first few seconds of running as the oil pump fills the system back up.
FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 02:18 AM   #2110
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAB View Post
Sorry if I'm not up to speed but do you still have the oil pressure "switch" instead of an actual gauge? Any room for an aftermarket pressure gauge? Also, what oil filter do you have? Some don't utilize an anti drain back flap so you'll see a loss in pressure for the first few seconds of running as the oil pump fills the system back up.
Not familiar with the switch. I have the larger wix filter I bought from TSE. The gauge is a genuine working 90-93 and I tested it so it isn't bad.

Weird that it would lose its prime like this though right? I'm going to try a direct wire of the gauge to the 5v and see if that gives me a better reading.

This is so annoying.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 02:26 AM   #2111
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 935
Total Cats: 395
Default

The earlier Miata had an oil pressure switch. It would read nothing or perfect oil pressure. It's been called an idiot gauge with only two possible positions. I believe it's a big grey sending unit.

And Wix filters do have anti drain back flaps. Where is the pump from again?
FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 02:38 AM   #2112
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAB View Post
The earlier Miata had an oil pressure switch. It would read nothing or perfect oil pressure. It's been called an idiot gauge with only two possible positions. I believe it's a big grey sending unit.

And Wix filters do have anti drain back flaps. Where is the pump from again?
Hmm I'll check it out.

Not sure who the pump is from but it has billet gears.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 03:04 AM   #2113
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Schwarzenberg, Germany
Posts: 1,487
Total Cats: 79
Default

lower TPS value of 500 sounds odd - mine is at 120 or something like that, high is at 760...

The stumble when you push the throttle could be related to this or the AE settings are of or your VEtable needs a lot of tuning or... well at least 10 other things... ;-)
Zaphod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 05:39 AM   #2114
I haz no trubo
iTrader: (2)
 
Oscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 3,017
Total Cats: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAB View Post
The earlier Miata had an oil pressure switch. It would read nothing or perfect oil pressure. It's been called an idiot gauge with only two possible positions. I believe it's a big grey sending unit.

And Wix filters do have anti drain back flaps. Where is the pump from again?
Except that it's the other way around

Early miata had the full sweep gauge that is actually useful, the 95+ (or whatever the switchpoint was) had the yay or doom gauge.
Oscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 05:42 AM   #2115
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Warrington/Birmingham
Posts: 2,658
Total Cats: 41
Default

The big grey sender is the proper sender. The idiot gauge sender is a small thing.
richyvrlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 06:25 AM   #2116
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

They certainly made the oil relay hard to remove once the engine is in. it would be easy but my wrench is too long so it hits the relay, and being right behind the oil filter I can't get the angle I need.

So accounting for that, tomorrow I'll drain the oil, remove the filter, and replace the relay with the 1.6 motor's relay. If that doesn't do it, I read you can use a vacuum pump and tap a barb into a cheap oil filter and prime it that way.

I tried priming it by hooking my shop vac up to the turbo oil feed line, but since I was already getting oil flowing there, it didn't really do anything. Most people I've seen who have had problems aren't actually getting any oil to the turbo oil feed line, they can't get any oil to move through the system at all, so I'm hoping replacing the relay will be the final solution.

Getting awfully frustrated with this, but I've done the process of elimination on everything BUT the relay itself, so god willing, that is the fault in the system. I really don't want to drop the oil pan and check the oil pump itself.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:32 AM   #2117
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 11,903
Total Cats: 487
Default

Shoot some compressed air into the sender with the key on, it should make the gauge jump. I could probably try it on mine tomorrow if you want a comparison.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:59 AM   #2118
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 935
Total Cats: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
Except that it's the other way around

Early miata had the full sweep gauge that is actually useful, the 95+ (or whatever the switchpoint was) had the yay or doom gauge.
Good catch. You'd think they wouldn't take steps backwards with something like that. I like the "yay or doom" description better too.
FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 11:52 AM   #2119
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
Shoot some compressed air into the sender with the key on, it should make the gauge jump. I could probably try it on mine tomorrow if you want a comparison.
I tries this and got no movement.

I also read that if you disconnect the sender unit and turn the key to the ON position, the gauge should read max pressure. This is due to the sender being grounded at 0 pressure.

When I tried this my needle did not move at all. Does that indicate a wiring problem up stream?
TheDentist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 12:24 PM   #2120
Junior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 95
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDentist View Post
I tries this and got no movement.

I also read that if you disconnect the sender unit and turn the key to the ON position, the gauge should read max pressure. This is due to the sender being grounded at 0 pressure.

When I tried this my needle did not move at all. Does that indicate a wiring problem up stream?
Sounds like wiring. Did you check all of your grounds and make sure everything is plugged in correctly? I accidentally mixed up the sensor connector with the starter connector once. Good times.
furrycurry33 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 08:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 01:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 12:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 01:29 PM


Tags
anti-rattle mafia, circle jerk, don't touch the girls, epic ocd, gayle, i see a dust speck, let's clean this too, massive erection, old becomes new, putty in our hands, resistance is futile, shock brace doesn't match, so fresh n so clean, tucked in waistline, want to touch the hiney, we spend jeff's money, whale with herpes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.