93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread - Page 164 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Go Back  Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats. > General Discussion > Media > Build Threads
Reload this Page >

93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread

Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread

Old 01-27-2015, 02:54 PM
  #3261  
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 6,981
Total Cats: 547
Default

I think a 300whp 2560 would be totally epic. I mean, riding in Dillon's (Erat) car at just 14psi before he built his motor, that car was damned impressive and the spool was virtually instant. It felt so gutsy! I'm going to feel very tempted to drop to a smaller turbo over the next year... but I probably won't
turbofan is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 03:15 PM
  #3262  
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,764
Total Cats: 947
Default

I just don't have the skill to handle more boost/HP than my current low boost setup. Ain't even hard for me to admit that.

I can handle it just fine on the street, but autox/track is just a waste of rubber and brake pads until I get better muscle memory and experience.

Part of me still wants to get the GTX CHRA, and run it in low boost mode, as my Potatoes response was pretty damn quick. I know it isn't in its "efficiency island G-spot", but lag was pretty negligible.

The other part wants to do as someone else stated, used 2560. After im happy with it, sell my ARTech manifold and downpipe for baller manifold and vband 6258, crack open a beer at the thought of not messing with awkward bolt/nut bullshit.
Jeffbucc is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 03:19 PM
  #3263  
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 6,981
Total Cats: 547
Default

This plan... I likes it. Mucho.
turbofan is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 04:12 PM
  #3264  
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: *** BANNED ***
Posts: 9,599
Total Cats: 971
Default

Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
I just don't have the skill to handle more boost/HP than my current low boost setup. Ain't even hard for me to admit that.


Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
I can handle it just fine on the street, but autox/track is just a waste of rubber and brake pads until I get better muscle memory and experience.
I feel you on that one. I'm actually worried the monster I'm building is going to be a little more than I can handle

Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
The other part wants to do as someone else stated, used 2560. After im happy with it, sell my ARTech manifold and downpipe for baller manifold and vband 6258, crack open a beer at the thought of not messing with awkward bolt/nut bullshit.
I like this plan.

My only regret is that I bought in too early for the EFR and I've got the T25 inlet. My only consolation is that no one seems to be having problems with them.
Attached Thumbnails 93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-946840135cd6c9f243e214aa09620c0f25545ccf96423a90b8d44d8f5fb63f5f.jpg  
EO2K is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 06:08 PM
  #3265  
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,764
Total Cats: 947
Default

Originally Posted by EO2K View Post
I feel you on that one. I'm actually worried the monster I'm building is going to be a little more than I can handle
You'll be fine if you put the proper rubber/wheels/suspension on the car to handle it. My car finally feels dialed with the 15x9s and RC1s. More driver oriented traction issues now rather than mechanical grip issues.
Originally Posted by EO2K View Post
My only regret is that I bought in too early for the EFR and I've got the T25 inlet. My only consolation is that no one seems to be having problems with them.
If you put the TSE studs in, which I know you will since you have the "quality sickness" like I do, you shan't need to worry. When I removed the nuts they hadn't budged an inch. There was barely any pressure on the retaining clips which means they hadn't vibrated loose even a mm.
Originally Posted by EO2K View Post
I like this plan.
So this plan....someone, and until they decide to commit, will go nameless. SOMEONE is tempting me with changing said plan, with the idea of selling my manifold & downpipe to help lessen the burden of potentially doing it my usual one and done solution(vband manifold/turbo/downpipe), rather than the staged upgrade solution we all were agreeing upon.

Saying that, since I haven't had time to research it; what is a fair used market price for my ARTech manifold and downpipe? I haven't the slightest.
-Divorced GT 5 bolt downpipe with V-band midpipe coupler
-T25 log(Ithink) manifold with TSE studs/nuts
-both recently machined flat
-both in near perfect condition
Jeffbucc is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 06:12 PM
  #3266  
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 6,981
Total Cats: 547
Default

I can't answer your question, but would like to call attention to the statements regarding your turbo studs.

While it's true that they haven't backed out or loosened at all, and likely wouldn't have, it doesn't seem to me that your testing is necessarily thorough. You did a couple AutoXs and some street pulls, but no track days, which is where people typically run into problems.

Just pointing that out.
turbofan is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 06:16 PM
  #3267  
SADFab Destructive Testing Engineer
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 18,445
Total Cats: 1,618
Default

Didn't Andrew track test inconel to the point where it wasn't any superior to V-band in the holding department. V-band will always be easier to use but I thought the inconel thing fixed his problems. Also the track days weren't the problem, it was the 6-9 seconds below SM records that Andrew was running that killed him.
aidandj is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 06:19 PM
  #3268  
I take big bites
iTrader: (1)
 
turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 6,981
Total Cats: 547
Default

I don't know if it solved his problems, I'm pretty sure Andrew's turbo cars were all on Absurdflow V-band setups before he stopped running turbo cars. It's pretty widely regarded that it's the way to solve the problems without going Vband, but I'm just pointing out that in this particular case, just because he hasn't had any issues with the studs doesn't mean he won't -- he hasn't subjected them to the environment where issues typically arise.

They'll probably be fine. Just making an observation really.
turbofan is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 06:21 PM
  #3269  
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,764
Total Cats: 947
Default

Quite true, I probably have not tested the TSE studs in an environment where they would start to back out.

Just stating I'm happy with them, and trying to make Andrew more money!
*I am in no way affiliated with TSE inc. *
Jeffbucc is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 07:10 PM
  #3270  
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,012
Total Cats: 1,820
Default

We put Inconel studs in the appropriate environments to test them before they were sold. VagaXT's MSM was one of our test cases. The only issues I've ever seen with them can all be traced to damaged threads in the manifolds - if you put the stud in with fresh threads and Resbond, it stays put, every time.

V-bands are not the end-all be-all of turbo reliability. After switching in 2009, I destroyed a CHRA when the undersized TiAL CHRA hardware came loose, then after switching that hardware to Inconel and spending $100 having all 6 bolts drilled for safety wire, the CHRA itself yielded and slightly loosened the turbine housing anyway. The person I sold that setup to got the third new CHRA I bought for that setup.

My next turbo setup will be an EFR6258, T25 inlet with M8x1.25 studs in our alloy. The studs already exist.
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 01-27-2015, 07:12 PM
  #3271  
SADFab Destructive Testing Engineer
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 18,445
Total Cats: 1,618
Default

Originally Posted by Savington View Post
We put Inconel studs in the appropriate environments to test them before they were sold. VagaXT's MSM was one of our test cases. The only issues I've ever seen with them can all be traced to damaged threads in the manifolds - if you put the stud in with fresh threads and Resbond, it stays put, every time.

V-bands are not the end-all be-all of turbo reliability. After switching, I destroyed a turbo when the undersized CHRA hardware came loose, then after switching that hardware to Inconel and spending $100 having all 6 bolts drilled for safety wire, the CHRA itself yielded and slightly loosened the turbine housing anyway. The person I sold that setup to got the third new CHRA I bought for that setup.

My next turbo setup will be an EFR6258, T25 inlet with M8x1.25 studs in our alloy.
If you don't mind sharing why m8 over m10?
aidandj is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 07:28 PM
  #3272  
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,764
Total Cats: 947
Default

So what I'm reading into your statement Andrew is that the CHRA fasteners are the weak link if vband or your studs are properly in place.

Makes me scratch my head as to why I had a CHRA failure even though all my fasters were tight. Luck of the draw? No drain or feed blockage present in either coolant or oil.
Jeffbucc is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 07:56 PM
  #3273  
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: *** BANNED ***
Posts: 9,599
Total Cats: 971
Default

Originally Posted by Savington View Post
My next turbo setup will be an EFR6258, T25 inlet with M8x1.25 studs in our alloy. The studs already exist.
I know, the set you sold me is still sitting on my workbench. Mocking me. They are quite pretty.
Originally Posted by aidandj View Post
If you don't mind sharing why m8 over m10?
I can field that one... its because the nuts for the 10mm studs are a little too big for the space available on the manifold. As it is, the 8mm ones are a squeeze. See my build thread for tungsten carbide vs stainless EFR housing action.
EO2K is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 07:58 PM
  #3274  
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,764
Total Cats: 947
Default

I'm guessing there is not enough material on the turbine housing to grind enough clearance for the M10?
Jeffbucc is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:16 PM
  #3275  
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 967
Total Cats: 419
Default

Originally Posted by Savington View Post
V-bands are not the end-all be-all of turbo reliability. After switching in 2009, I destroyed a CHRA when the undersized TiAL CHRA hardware came loose, then after switching that hardware to Inconel and spending $100 having all 6 bolts drilled for safety wire, the CHRA itself yielded and slightly loosened the turbine housing anyway.
Similar experience with the TiAL hardware/housing.. After some odd boost fluctuations we rolled my car off the dyno to inspect. Found a couple of small bolts laying on the ground. Turns out the housing hardware had backed itself completely out and the housing was only held in place by the downpipe and wastegate tube. Luckily we caught it but things could have gone very wrong.
__________________

ACCESS TO OVER 500 BRANDS AND WE WILL PRICE MATCH - EMAIL FOR PRICES
Please EMAIL us, we strongly prefer this over a PM for conversation tracking.
FAB is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:42 PM
  #3276  
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,012
Total Cats: 1,820
Default

Originally Posted by aidandj View Post
If you don't mind sharing why m8 over m10?
Fitment. Our original M10 stud was designed for Bell and FM manifolds and GT2560Rs, which can fit the larger stud. The EFR does not easily fit an M10 stud, so we built an M8 stud to fit it.
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:56 PM
  #3277  
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: *** BANNED ***
Posts: 9,599
Total Cats: 971
Default

Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
I'm guessing there is not enough material on the turbine housing to grind enough clearance for the M10?
I wasn't going to try. It was way more material removal than I felt comfortable doing, so I asked about M8
EO2K is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:58 PM
  #3278  
Elite Member
 
codrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 4,365
Total Cats: 509
Default

Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
The other part wants to do as someone else stated, used 2560. After im happy with it, sell my ARTech manifold and downpipe for baller manifold and vband 6258, crack open a beer at the thought of not messing with awkward bolt/nut bullshit.
If you want a 2560, I have one for sale. Or, at least, I will as soon as I get off my lazy *** and take the CHRA up to ATP and swap it for a new one.

--Ian
codrus is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 11:50 PM
  #3279  
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Chiburbian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gilberts, IL
Posts: 2,298
Total Cats: 175
Default

Originally Posted by codrus View Post
If you want a 2560, I have one for sale. Or, at least, I will as soon as I get off my lazy *** and take the CHRA up to ATP and swap it for a new one.

--Ian
DING DING DING!
Chiburbian is offline  
Old 01-27-2015, 11:53 PM
  #3280  
SADFab Destructive Testing Engineer
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 18,445
Total Cats: 1,618
Default

Don't do it. For us poor folk with 200hp we need people like you who can run 25lbs for us.
aidandj is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.