93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread - Page 181 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2015, 07:42 PM   #3601
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,240
Total Cats: 741
Default

Where did you order the wire from?
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 07:45 PM   #3602
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,595
Total Cats: 935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Where did you order the wire from?
+1

I ordered a bunch of TXL from wirebarn.com but I need biggar spoolz y0 for another project.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 07:47 PM   #3603
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

I always buy my electrical stuff from Ballenger Motorsports. He carries a **** load of Miata centric connectors and other cool stuff for good prices. Tons of wire choices too. If it isn't on the site he can usually order it.
http://www.bmotorsports.com/shop/mazda_miata.php
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 07:48 PM   #3604
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,240
Total Cats: 741
Default

Yeahhhh... I need to wire an entire car from scratch.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 07:49 PM   #3605
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Yeahhhh... I need to wire an entire car from scratch.
Why not junkyard harness?
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 07:54 PM   #3606
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,595
Total Cats: 935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Yeahhhh... I need to wire an entire car from scratch.
I'm in the same boat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Why not junkyard harness?
Because in my case, its British. It should have gone in the trash rather than in a car. A "factory replacement" harness or even a "factory style" replacement harness is NOT what I want. I need to re-engineer the whole damn thing from scratch.

Last time I looked at Ballenger the prices for small spools were not competitive, but I'll look again. Thanks!
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 08:01 PM   #3607
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

I dunno about competitiveness but it was convenient since I bought other crap from him as well.

Do the math



Edit woopsy address
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 08:11 PM   #3608
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,595
Total Cats: 935
Default

There is definitely something to be said for convenience Also: I'm a math atheist
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 08:18 PM   #3609
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EO2K View Post
There is definitely something to be said for convenience Also: I'm a math atheist
Pricex1'=wallet rapege comfort zone

Dunno if it is just due to getting older and body feeling more broke but I'm willing to pay note for sake of convenience nowadays. Within reason of course...
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 08:38 PM   #3610
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,240
Total Cats: 741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Why not junkyard harness?
Because gutting a body harness is why i need to rewire an entire car in the first place. And there aren't any of these in junkyards. And the body harness integrates into the engine harness in 3 places. Seems easier to just wire only what i need and get a new engine harness to go with MS while i'm at it.

It's a mess. :(
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 08:37 PM   #3611
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Continuity achieved time to wire it to the igniter, run 2&4 to megasquirt, the ground to the block and start her up.

Each COP was shrink wrapped followed by a layer of fusing tape and then wrapped again to make one nice bundle.

Luckily found uninsulated inline splice at a tiny hardware store in town, so there wasn't any bulky crimps used, they were about the same size as the 18g wire. So far the only place that will have solder is the igniter.



Weighs almost half what my old harness did.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:22 AM   #3612
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Well went to start her up checked over everything thrice and cranked it without the CAS hooked up to build oil pressure through the lines, which it did....and then proceeded to vomit all the oil onto the ground through the oil filter.

It may have looked like it sealed against the Mocal sandwich plate but it was really bottoming out with like 1mm left to thread on. Need to remove the threaded tube and cut an inch off of it and then try again tomorrow.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 05:59 AM   #3613
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,637
Total Cats: 529
Default

More to clean. Just to keep you busy.
rleete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:12 PM   #3614
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,595
Total Cats: 935
Default

Oh wow. Perhaps it does not actually fit?

Hey, at least you caught it before you got on the road.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:16 PM   #3615
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

So someone school me on how to connect my 2 port EWG to my EBC. I have this picture which I believe is correct, but am not sure. I think I've been staring at it too long

As for the built in BOV on the EFR, do I connect it to the 1/8NPT port on my throttle body intercooler pipe? I've been burning the candle between work and car too much and it I'd affecting my deduction skills.

Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:17 PM   #3616
SADFab Destructive Testing Engineer
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 17,929
Total Cats: 1,438
Default

BOV gets connected post throttle body. So it sees vacuum when the throttle snaps shut.
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:43 PM   #3617
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,595
Total Cats: 935
Default

You don't strictly have to use both ports on the EWG quite yet. Hook it up exactly like you had it before to the top port, leave the EWG bottom port open to atmo and roll with it until you figure out how you want to plumb things. It'll function exactly like the single port actuator did on the Garrett.

What weight of spring are you playing with?

Edit: ****, don't quote me on that. It looks like some dual port EWGs have different plumbing requirements when only using one port. Best to look up what the manufacturer says to do. But you can do it.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:37 PM   #3618
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,712
Total Cats: 1,082
Default

If you are running a MS and want to re-wire a car, DIY sells 12" harnesses that are pretty sweet.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:39 PM   #3619
SADFab Destructive Testing Engineer
iTrader: (5)
 
aidandj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 17,929
Total Cats: 1,438
Default

Oh god. Don't give him ideas.
aidandj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:41 PM   #3620
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,712
Total Cats: 1,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aidandj View Post
Oh god. Don't give him ideas.
You don't want to see the cleanest wiring harness on earth?
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 08:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 01:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 12:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 01:29 PM


Tags
anti-rattle mafia, circle jerk, don't touch the girls, epic ocd, gayle, i see a dust speck, let's clean this too, massive erection, old becomes new, putty in our hands, resistance is futile, shock brace doesn't match, so fresh n so clean, tucked in waistline, want to touch the hiney, we spend jeff's money, whale with herpes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 PM.