EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread (reposting stupid stuff without reading = warning) - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Go Back  Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats. > Performance & Tuning > Prefabbed Turbo Kits
Reload this Page >

EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread (reposting stupid stuff without reading = warning)

Prefabbed Turbo Kits A place to discuss prefabricated turbo kits on the market
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread (reposting stupid stuff without reading = warning)

Old 06-07-2009, 01:47 PM
  #1  
Elite Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,455
Total Cats: 81
Default EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread (reposting stupid stuff without reading = warning)

??
JasonC SBB is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 01:58 PM
  #2  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,311
Total Cats: 30
Default

Me.
Splitime is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:00 PM
  #3  
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Concord, North Carolina
Posts: 4,161
Total Cats: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Splitime View Post
Me.
How.
miatamania is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:02 PM
  #4  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,311
Total Cats: 30
Default

I just tightened it all... and checked them after a heat cycle.

Thats it. Random nuts/studs/bolts from a bolt box pile
Splitime is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:29 PM
  #5  
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 15,001
Total Cats: 1,814
Default

What are your laptimes in comparison to Spec Miatas on the same track?
__________________
Trackspeed Engineering
High-Performance Turbo Specialists - Sunnyvale, CA - 650-701-7223 - Email us!
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
Basically I've come over to the camp of "If something is a reliability problem on the track, just ask Andrew and do what he says".
Savington is online now  
Old 06-07-2009, 03:06 PM
  #6  
Elite Member
iTrader: (24)
 
kotomile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 7,538
Total Cats: 40
Default

Do you run a gasket between mani and turbo, Splitime?

This is probably completely misguided, and I'll probably be proven wrong in short order, but I just thought of a little theory that I'll run by you engineer types.

So, people say that it's not just vibration which loosens nuts, but also the thermal expansion of the metal. So, in a gasketless connection, there is nothing to compress so the metal simply grows and pushes the nut loose. With a gasket, there's something to compress and the nuts stay put.

Be gentle guys.
kotomile is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 03:30 PM
  #7  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,311
Total Cats: 30
Default

No gasket.

So far the ONE single clean lap time I have vs spec miatas is I'm a second faster? No footage from later even more comfortable sessions... still learning car etc... but yah, ~1-2 seconds below spec miata times I've found.
Splitime is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 04:15 PM
  #8  
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,127
Total Cats: 479
Default

Originally Posted by kotomile View Post
Do you run a gasket between mani and turbo, Splitime?

This is probably completely misguided, and I'll probably be proven wrong in short order, but I just thought of a little theory that I'll run by you engineer types.

So, people say that it's not just vibration which loosens nuts, but also the thermal expansion of the metal. So, in a gasketless connection, there is nothing to compress so the metal simply grows and pushes the nut loose. With a gasket, there's something to compress and the nuts stay put.

Be gentle guys.
I would say more that the heat expansion stretches the bolts and then when it cools again the nuts are loose even though nothing's turned.

but once you get to that point, it's a losing battle.
y8s is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 04:32 PM
  #9  
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central-ish VA
Posts: 4,413
Total Cats: 18
Default

do all you cats with loosening bolts have cast manifolds?
neogenesis2004 is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 04:51 PM
  #10  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,311
Total Cats: 30
Default

SS stainless tubular...
Splitime is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:57 PM
  #11  
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Concord, North Carolina
Posts: 4,161
Total Cats: 5
Default

Originally Posted by neogenesis2004 View Post
do all you cats with loosening bolts have cast manifolds?
Greddy FTL.
miatamania is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:08 PM
  #12  
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central-ish VA
Posts: 4,413
Total Cats: 18
Default

I'm betting that most or all of the people with this issue are running cast manifolds.
neogenesis2004 is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:09 PM
  #13  
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,127
Total Cats: 479
Default

Originally Posted by neogenesis2004 View Post
I'm betting that most or all of the people with this issue are running cast manifolds.
higher rate of thermal expansion?
y8s is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:12 PM
  #14  
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central-ish VA
Posts: 4,413
Total Cats: 18
Default

I'm not a mechanical engineer so I won't guess at reasons. I just have excellent intuition
neogenesis2004 is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:35 PM
  #15  
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,311
Total Cats: 30
Default

You mean a cast manifold and a cast turbine housing both expanding might stretch a stud?
Splitime is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:42 PM
  #16  
Tour de Franzia
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,085
Total Cats: 367
Default

I've noticed that all my BEGi supplied bolts that had the deformation on the end to grip the stud, all can be spun off by hand.

Titanium?
Resmond 907 threadlocker?
Inconel hardware?

some combonation of all that ****?
hustler is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 07:53 PM
  #17  
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central-ish VA
Posts: 4,413
Total Cats: 18
Default

If the issue is not the studs themselves then no form of space age metal will help you.
neogenesis2004 is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 08:03 PM
  #18  
Tour de Franzia
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,085
Total Cats: 367
Default

Originally Posted by neogenesis2004 View Post
If the issue is not the studs themselves then no form of space age metal will help you.
are we fighting thermal expansion or vibration? Spacemetal may help one of those. If we can find a stud material that will stretch equal to the mild steel or cast iron, then all we have to do is safety-wire for vibration.
hustler is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 08:29 PM
  #19  
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,127
Total Cats: 479
Default

nitinol studs?
y8s is offline  
Old 06-07-2009, 09:04 PM
  #20  
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Central-ish VA
Posts: 4,413
Total Cats: 18
Default

Why not just go for adamantium while we are at it?
neogenesis2004 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread (reposting stupid stuff without reading = warning)


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.