2jz Miata build thread - Page 27 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-01-2010, 10:33 AM   #521
Senior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 907
Total Cats: 0
Default

My computer won't let me watch the video right now but congrats on getting it running. You ever figure out why it wasn't running?
johnmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 12:20 PM   #522
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

It came down to two wires in one of the body plugs that I did not know about. One needed ignition switch signal and one needed ground other than that I had it all hooked up before.

I do have a question for anyone who can help. I need a good source for keyed signal and I tried using I believe Pin 1B and it will not carry enough amperage for what I need so what does everyone have there MS or whatever hooked to are you using this wire to run a relay or am I missing a wire somewhere. Anything would help I really do not what to run this to a switch I want it to start just like any other car I mean I go the clutch switch still working why not just use the key for everything.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 09:44 PM   #523
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 34
Total Cats: 0
Default



i think its time we wash your car now that everything is done
Slow_Sc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 09:50 PM   #524
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Yea I would say so and so everyone know the newb that just posted that pic is the one that did the wiring on the car without his help it would of never ran. He is kinda a supra SC300 guy though.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 11:05 PM   #525
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean View Post
Yea I would say so and so everyone know the newb that just posted that pic is the one that did the wiring on the car without his help it would of never ran. He is kinda a supra SC300 guy though.
Bring him to the dyno day! And your LS mustang buddy! We need some high hp action!
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:22 AM   #526
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Ill see if I can get him out there with his sc 300 the one mustang just got totaled and the motor is going in a s10 now and I will see if we can get the new turbo on the other one before then.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:52 AM   #527
Senior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 907
Total Cats: 0
Default

Still can't watch the videos for some reason. My comp has fail aids or something I guees. I can't wait to turbo my SC then find a 2j to drop in my miata too
johnmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 12:51 PM   #528
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 909
Total Cats: 14
Default

So what was the issue with the wiring??
hingstonwm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 01:24 PM   #529
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Well I had most of it wired but to make it safe we unhooked everything and started fresh and come to find out there is a little orange connector on the harness that is a body plug and there were two little wires in there one was keyed power and one was a ground after those two got hooked up it was all good to go.

To top it off we got it running with the ecu sitting on the windshield and then labeled and transferred everything under the dash. After doing that it would not run for the life of me and come to find out about half the strands on the wire going to the coil had broke due to to much probing with the multimeter and I wiggled the wire and it was good to go. We soldiered a new connector on and now its great. You can get in push the clutch down and turn the key and bam it starts right up what a wonderful sound after all this time.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 01:25 PM   #530
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Also now that we have it figured out with a completely stock 2JZ harness and stock computer you only have to hook up about 10 wires a few grounds a few constant power and a few keyed power and you could put this motor in anything.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 06:26 PM   #531
Senior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 907
Total Cats: 0
Default

This keeps sounding better and better for my 93 chassis sitting in the back yard
johnmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:15 PM   #532
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Howard County, MD
Posts: 29
Total Cats: 0
Default

Wow this is awesome! I hope I get to see it on the streets soon! If your in frederick I guess were pretty close. Where are you doing the work at? I'm sure its mentioned somewhere in here.. so sorry if it is. I'm right outside of mount airy btw.
jeremiahhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 11:22 PM   #533
meatbag
iTrader: (50)
 
gospeed81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,357
Total Cats: 26
Default

Mad props!

In for first drive impressions once it's well sorted out.

BTW...your cat is friggin' fat. I bet it has a spot in the middle of it's back it can't groom.
gospeed81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 01:06 AM   #534
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

I hope to have driving vids in the next few weeks Ill post them when we do and we are going to try and use a real camera next time lol.

jeremiahhh - the car is being built in my buddies garage off pennshop in M. Airy but right now it is in my other buddies garage in Damascus so we could do the wiring. You should come by and see it some time you can be the visual proof that it exists lol. Just let me know if you wanna see it and if you live near Mt. Airy you are bound to see it soon and at a minimum I guarantee you will see the burn out marks on pennshop one day in the not so distant future.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 01:07 AM   #535
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

gospeed81 - I wish I could claim the cat but its not mine it is my girlfriend's best friend's cat but it is awesome.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 10:59 AM   #536
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Howard County, MD
Posts: 29
Total Cats: 0
Default

I would love to come see it sometime. I told my friends and they wanna see it too lol. I live in woodbine.
jeremiahhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 01:33 PM   #537
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

johnmatt - We did some measuring last night just to see and if you measure a 1JZ engine compared to my 2j the higest part of the 1j is about 3-4 inches lower than mine so it would almost fit under the hood. Matter of fact is if you shimmed the k frame it would deff fit under the hood just keep that in mind. Also everything for a 1jz is more expensive unless you use a 1j block with a 2j head then it would save you a good bit of money.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 01:35 PM   #538
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

jeremiahhh - anytime you wanna see it let me know its in damascus right now and I will be down there later tonight but it should be in mt airy again in the next few weeks witch would be better if you wanna see it. I'll let you know when it is back up that way.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 03:21 PM   #539
Senior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 907
Total Cats: 0
Default

The 1jz itself shouldn't be as tall from what I understand because of the shorter stroke. Do you have any plans to put a front facing intake on it to regain hood clearance? I've been doing some searching for a cheap one for the SC and found this on supraforums http://www.supraforums.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=575212 It's an ebay manifold made by PNT and from what I've read it's of good built quality. The guys have said they offered $500 to the seller and he accepted which led to about $660 shipped and it uses a Nissan Q45 throttle body
johnmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 03:34 PM   #540
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

that is the same intake manifold Slow_Sc3 is running and it looks awesome and works great and would gain me a ton of hood space but to be honest I really like the way it looks with the motor hanging out of the hood I am going to keep it this way at least as long as I can see into the future that may change if I blow it up and switch to a 1j at some point.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 09:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 02:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 01:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 02:29 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.