2jz Miata build thread - Page 66 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2013, 02:37 PM   #1301
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Ok so I got the bay all finished up got a bunch of new lines just to make everything look better. I hate the world at this moment. I took the time to paint all the brackets clean everything really well and make it all look pretty. I also picked up a set of GTE valve covers yesterday so I will be putting those on as well for a much cleaner look. The engine is all back together and in the car I also got a S366 turbo so that should be much more fun. I will get some pics and post them up very soon.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 02:56 PM   #1302
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,325
Total Cats: 235
Default

You didn't trade your S256 for Faefae's S366 did you? That would be hilarious.
thenuge26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:10 PM   #1303
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenuge26 View Post
You didn't trade your S256 for Faefae's S366 did you? That would be hilarious.
I was going to but Faeis having problems with hydra and still wants to do an end all be all dyno session with his so I bought one from a buddy used and sold my s256 to fae lol
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 11:48 PM   #1304
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

ok so lets go thru the story of my day. I wake up early pumped that I am gonna get my car running again today. Fill the fluids check timing make sure everything is tight and down the road I go. I was going to a buddy's shop about 20 miles away so I decided to take the car. On the way I tried to make some short pulls but the boost was spiking to 20 psi and I don't want to blow this one up so I checked my boost controller. All seems well make a pull over 20 psi. So I get to his shop look at it, it is all connected correctly I wait for the local speed shop to open up to get a fitting to run the wastegate line directly to the turbo and forget about the boost controller figuring it was the problem. Get the fitting installed pumped I drive up the street same thing. So I figured my ebay gate finally took a crap on me. Luckily my buddy happened to have an hks 44 gate with the same flange as my ebay gate. I purchased the gate for $80 not a bad price at all install it at his shop excited again that my problems are solved. Boom first pull 20 psi. Now the gate has a 12 psi spring my old gate used to work fine the only thing I changed was the turbo how could this be. We finished what we were working on then finished his project on the way home I tried again to make a pull and same thing. On my drive home I thought to myself I have a known good name brand gate new fitting on the turbo only difference from my last setup is the turbo so what could it be the only thing I did not change was the wastgate line. Witch in my case is an Aeroquip -4 an steel braided line. When I got home I removed the line to check it knowing it would be fine and long behold the line was collapsed on the inside. Now I checked both gates at the shop with low air pressure and they both worked so I thought turns out the line collapsed only letting air by slowly so if I could have waited and let the car stay at whatever psi it was going to it would have eventually come down. Fail on my part good news is I will be getting a new line tomorrow and it should be good to go.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:05 PM   #1305
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 36
Total Cats: -34
Default

this sounds like a scary scary idea...
that_dc5_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 12:13 PM   #1306
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manassas, Virginia
Posts: 1,247
Total Cats: 57
Default

Yes. The work involved in replacing a wastegate line should not be taken lightly. Its very labor intensive and not done properly could cause spontaneous combustion. You'll be in my prayers, Sean.
mx5autoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 01:15 PM   #1307
Moderator
iTrader: (11)
 
sixshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 15,633
Total Cats: 1,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mx5autoxer View Post
Yes. The work involved in replacing a wastegate line should not be taken lightly. Its very labor intensive and not done properly could cause spontaneous combustion. You'll be in my prayers, Sean.
+1
sixshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:35 AM   #1308
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Lol so today is the first day I got to really drive the car I was doing some tuning on my commute to work and the waste gate does work I just didn't know what it was set at. So long behold I told myself I would not run more than 18psi this time I really wanted 15-16 to be safe but lucky for me my gate is 18 psi lol. I still may change the spring out and turn it down a bit to give the motor some time but who really knows. I am going to be tuning on the super safe side this time. I have a baby on the way and I don't have another spare motor so no more blowing it up for now. Good news is I took some timing out up top to be safe 4 degrees total taken out, and this morning on the way to work I mashed it in 4th and it started to spin the tires lol. I missed this car so much it is too much fun to drive.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:36 AM   #1309
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Also it is very dangerous changing out a waste gate line I burned my arm a little and some hair is gone I am glad the car did not explode I feel it was on the verge but my superior mechanical skills kept that from happening.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:51 AM   #1310
Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 3,516
Total Cats: 255
Default

spinning 4th...
damn isn't your gearing good for like 200mph?
soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:01 PM   #1311
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

My gearing and wheel tires size has my max speed at 167mph at 6800 rpm in 5th gear lol
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 10:56 AM   #1312
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Ok here is a quick break down of where I got with the car this weekend. I changed the oil over to rotella T6 5w40 and my oil pressure is spot on was a little low before now all is well. I tuned the car with a buddy of mine and we started to run out of fuel at the very top of 3rd and 4th gear say 5800-6750. I also had a diode installed to clamp the map sensor at 17 psi. The map clamp made for a really harsh crossover at the top of the rpm range so I removed the diode and wouldn't you know it hits boost cut. To remedy this I will be changing out my factory 2.3 bar map for a 2.5bar motorolla map so I can utilize the factory ecu all the way thru the rpm range and just have to modify fueling. This should get rid of the stuble/face plant and make it much smoother. The new map will offset my timing a bit but not enough to really worry about. I may have to take a little timing out up top. I also switched to a bigger meth nozzel to help with fueling and removed my factory fuel filter. I currently do not have a filter on there just to see if that was the problem. If it was I will be ordering a nice -8 filter in preparation of going to a -8 feed one day. I also tracked down a weird miss fire I have been chasing for about a month now turned out to be a broken wire all fixed up and no more problems there. I have hopes to take the car to the track next weekend but we will see how it works out.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:41 AM   #1313
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 322
Total Cats: 23
Default

In for a long awaited track vid.
M.Adamovits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 12:41 PM   #1314
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manassas, Virginia
Posts: 1,247
Total Cats: 57
Default

You thinking of going to summit point or a drag strip? I might have to show up and see this thing in person.
mx5autoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:42 AM   #1315
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

I am going to the drag strip. 75-80 dragway is closing this year and lets just say this car and that track have a bad record together I wanna get at least one pass in just because. Car is not tuned to 100% power yet but I will take it. I plan on going out there this friday gonna try and get there early so I can at least make a few passes. I am going to try and be there around 4pm when they open this is the last day for test and tune at this track forever all the more reason its the first place it goes down the track.

I would like to go to summit point but from what they guys have told me up there no one will let me out on the track my car looks to unsafe.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:56 AM   #1316
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manassas, Virginia
Posts: 1,247
Total Cats: 57
Default

Aw. I have to work till 10:30 Friday night. Oh well. Maybe summit will let you in. I'd read qualifications to track it and know them by heart and if they give you **** just start reciting that you have x, y, z....
mx5autoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:09 AM   #1317
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Ok so the car did not make it to the track it is still spitting fluid out of the trans in the top of third and forth. I found out that the trans I have does not come with a vent so I am going to try and few things. I will be switching fluid, I will be putting in 2 quarts instead of the 3 I have now. Factory calls for 2.6. I am turning my fill plug into a vent by attaching a fitting and running a tube up so this will be a nice 1/4" vent. I think these things will solve my problem with that.


On another note since I was running out of fuel at the top of 3rd and forth. I added a bigger meth nozzel and I still need more. I removed the fuel filter as well to see if that was a probelm. So here is the remedy. I will be adding an inline Bosch 044 so my walbro 255 will be my lift pump and the bosch will be the main feed pump. I am adding an adjustable fuel preassure regulator since I am running a stock one I think this will help and I will also be putting in a high flow fuel filter. This fuel system upgrade should be able to support 650 hp witch I do not plan to go over so I think I will be fine. I will also be adding an intercooler at some point as well as a TIAL 50mm bov instead of my godspeed 50mm just because I like the sound better no other reason.

I am still waiting for my new map sensor to come in to see if that gets rid of my horrible stumble at high rpm where my map clamp cross over is. I will keep you all informed.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 02:31 PM   #1318
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Total Cats: 0
Default

I had the same trans problem with my trans when i swapped a sr20det in my 510 under hard pulls in 3rdand 4th it would seep gear oil out of the shifter .When me and my buddy built the trans x member we built it to hang to low so when i got on it all the fluid would head to the rear and pump out of the shifter.
dislexicdime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:19 PM   #1319
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Yea if it would just seep I would be happy this one spits a good bit from the air speed thru the trans tunnel pushing the fluid into the car.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:24 PM   #1320
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

On another note I sold my 16" diamonds to get a set of 15" wheels. I am going to order 15x10" wheels but I need some input on offset. I don't want to run lots of camber and I looked t the 6UL's and they have a 25 offset. My old wheels were 16x10" with 0 offset I thought the backs were perfect but the fronts were too wide so I'm not sure what to order. Should I do 25 in front 12 in back or 12 up front 25 in back anyone have any input
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 09:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 02:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 01:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 02:29 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.