hustler's "driver shame" thread - Page 75 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2012, 06:50 PM   #1481
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Which one of you ******** has my tuning cable?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 07:26 PM   #1482
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,105
Total Cats: 518
Default

Check grounds on the head you just replaced. Should be one behind that pink waste gate of yours.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 07:46 PM   #1483
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
Check grounds on the head you just replaced. Should be one behind that pink waste gate of yours.
That ground is in place by the wastegate, and the other grounds from the body to engine. What are the chances the tune "dumped" when it was parked with no battery for a few months?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:11 PM   #1484
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,775
Total Cats: 1,106
Default

I don't think the tune would dump, but hooking up your laptop and checking everything would be my first step.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:38 PM   #1485
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: south texas
Posts: 1,419
Total Cats: 9
Default

Pretty much zero chance of dumping from unhooked battery. The memory the tune gets loaded into is forever. Well, until you change it.
spoolin2bars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:21 PM   #1486
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I'm in deep , I don't know what to do now.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:26 PM   #1487
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,105
Total Cats: 518
Default

Yeah, might as well try though. By the way, I don't think a missing ground would explain your issue, but it's one of the major things you messed with when taking off the head. What else did you unplug? Check it all. My next guess which makes more sense is an issue in the COPs harness.

edit: just take continuity, then resistance. See if the COP end is continuous to the "igniter" end, and if that's all good check resistance, to see if there's some major damage on one of the connections.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:51 PM   #1488
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,848
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

sounds like a bad connection, ground short or something...
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:57 AM   #1489
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Portales, NM
Posts: 837
Total Cats: 2
Default

jbrown7815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 10:48 AM   #1490
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 669
Total Cats: 29
Default

Pull all wires and fuse boxes then wire from scratch. Problem solved.
yank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 12:49 PM   #1491
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,881
Total Cats: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yank View Post
Pull all wires and fuse boxes then wire from scratch. Problem solved.
This guy.....



What did the tune look like, or did you check it? Any chance you fried something when you hooked everything back up? Getting fuel? Lost crank/ cam sensor calibrations?
vehicular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 01:37 PM   #1492
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Ok, aparently pulling the fuel injection relay makes the MS wack out. So when I plug that back in the tach behaves normally, but it still won't start. The plugs are firing reasonably, the keylogger looks good on the CAS signal, and I know I'm getting fuel (backfires, lol). I tried pulling cranking PW from 3.0 to 2.0 after it read 10:1 when cranking, but still no success. It looks like all grounds have continuity so I'm more than a little confused.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 01:41 PM   #1493
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,105
Total Cats: 518
Default

backfiring out intake or exhaust? Sounds like timing.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 01:44 PM   #1494
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
backfiring out intake or exhaust? Sounds like timing.
Its running like it's out of time too. I don't see how it could be though, I just checked mechanical timing and it's spot on.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:00 PM   #1495
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,775
Total Cats: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
Its running like it's out of time too. I don't see how it could be though, I just checked mechanical timing and it's spot on.
Are your actual cam gears on correctly? Picture with your valve cover off with crank at TDC and the 2 timing marks in the right spot so we can make sure.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:32 PM   #1496
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I fixed it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm getting pretty good at learning from my own stupidity.
I marked the CAS when I took the car off so I would not have to use the timing light again (shifted balancer). Well, I put two marks on it at 11:00 and 1:00...I did not line these up properly so it was about 30* retarded. Now it runs and damn its strong. The only problem is the rad fan is not working, again. It's never worked properly on this car.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:38 PM   #1497
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,165
Total Cats: 19
Default

I hope I'm not in for this much of a PITA.
gearhead_318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:02 PM   #1498
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearhead_318 View Post
I hope I'm not in for this much of a PITA.
It won't be a problem if you're smarter than me which is highly likely.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:04 PM   #1499
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

lol, 4th gear at 3500rpm on concrete buries the tach on street tires. This car is MUCH faster.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:13 PM   #1500
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,775
Total Cats: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
lol, 4th gear at 3500rpm on concrete buries the tach on street tires. This car is MUCH faster.
Nice, I am glad it is finally working again.
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 57 07-19-2017 05:11 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 AM.