hustler's "driver shame" thread - Page 72 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2011, 10:02 AM   #1421
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,775
Total Cats: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
Honestly Reverant's Enhanced MS2 is good stuff. But it's still no ms3. I can't wait to work on all the goodies this year, like traction control and geared boost control.
Geared boost control already works, you just need to hook up your VSS wire.
shuiend is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:29 AM   #1422
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

well yeah I know, just saying that I have some wiring to do. But I also need to find/kill my gremlin.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:40 AM   #1423
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
What's the issue with putting the MSPNP in the DD and the MS2 in the turbo? Makes perfect sense to me, the DD doesn't need anything more than the basics, but you seem to be avoiding that easy answer for some reason.
1995 daily, 1991 track car. That's the problem.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:44 AM   #1424
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

it's a 3-4 wire switcharoo problem.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:31 PM   #1425
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,440
Total Cats: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
1995 daily, 1991 track car. That's the problem.
I can include a second harness, so you can switch between the 91 and the 95 by using the different harness. You will obviously need to load different maps when you switch from one car to the other.
Reverant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:33 PM   #1426
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverant View Post
I can include a second harness, so you can switch between the 91 and the 95 by using the different harness. You will obviously need to load different maps when you switch from one car to the other.
No thanks. Do you have an ETA on when you'll get my build started? I'm trying to get finances in order after this build thread's evidence of reckless spending.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:37 PM   #1427
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

simply converting the mspnp from 90-93 to 94-95 would be stupid easy.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:39 PM   #1428
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
simply converting the mspnp from 90-93 to 94-95 would be stupid easy.
**** is getting real in hurrrr.

Are these board switches or car wiring switches? What does this do to the config and settings?

I'm not sure if I want sequential fuel in the daily or the turbo car....it's really a toss up. Can I use the VVTuner with the MSpnp9093?

The MSpnp power turbo car really runs great and I have no complaints and don't need to change anything. The daily however needs real engine management and I think I can expect better fuel economy from the sequential fuel.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:45 PM   #1429
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

it still couldn't do seq on ms1. But it should only be a matter of rearranging a few wires inside the MS case to have it running on a 95 (specifically the TPS wires, F/P, fans & a/c, and tach - otherwise they are all the same).

The only major change to software would be the idle valve settings, and retuning the fueling needs.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:53 PM   #1430
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
it still couldn't do seq on ms1. But it should only be a matter of rearranging a few wires inside the MS case to have it running on a 95 (specifically the TPS wires, F/P, fans & a/c, and tach - otherwise they are all the same).

The only major change to software would be the idle valve settings, and retuning the fueling needs.
I would be totally lost changing the MS1 around and don't care to learn this **** with a $700 computer.

I haven't owned a car with a working idle valve in a few years, lol.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:22 AM   #1431
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

What is the liklihood that all the fuel in my tank, sitting since September, with the gas-cap loose, is bad? Any tips on draining this **** before I start the car? I was thinking about jumping the fuel pump and pumping it out into the storm drain. Can this damage the pump?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:23 AM   #1432
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I would be totally lost changing the MS1 around and don't care to learn this **** with a $700 computer.

I haven't owned a car with a working idle valve in a few years, lol.

who says YOU have to do it?
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:49 AM   #1433
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 2,502
Total Cats: 13
Default

Did you put fuel stabilizer in the tank? Even so... only having been 3.5 months I'd say it's fine. It takes a lot longer for fuel to varnish.
falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 11:06 AM   #1434
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

No fuel stabilizer, I was irresponsible.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 11:59 AM   #1435
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,775
Total Cats: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
What is the liklihood that all the fuel in my tank, sitting since September, with the gas-cap loose, is bad? Any tips on draining this **** before I start the car? I was thinking about jumping the fuel pump and pumping it out into the storm drain. Can this damage the pump?
How much gas is left in the car? I had the gas sitting in my tank for almost a year while getting everything working. I was at less then a quarter tank though. I just added in some fresh gas and went out and broke in my motor. I honestly did not even think of the age of the gas.
shuiend is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 12:20 PM   #1436
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,107
Total Cats: 518
Default

It's fine, don't do anything. If you're seriously scared, finish this tank before raping it.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 01:32 PM   #1437
Moderator
iTrader: (11)
 
sixshooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 15,669
Total Cats: 1,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
It's fine, don't do anything. If you're seriously scared, finish this tank before raping it.
The octane supposedly drops over time as different ingredients in the fuel age/dissipate/separate/decompose/recombine and this is supposedly more pronounced with the added presence of ethanol now. I don't know how much of that to believe but taking it a little bit easy on the old gas isn't a tough bit of insurance to buy. Three months isn't very long.
sixshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 06:28 PM   #1438
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,881
Total Cats: 45
Default

This is the life of my CB350. I never plan for it to sit as long as it does between rides, so I never remember to Sta-bil it until it's too late. Put fresh 93 on top of the old stuff, unhook the coils and crank it for a few seconds to clear the system of any really old gas. If you're really stressing it, put a bottle of Torco Race Gas Concentrate (the only real octane booster) in the tank before mixing in the fresh gas and let it sit for a half hour to diffuse through the tank before cranking it.

As long as it doesn't smell like a junk yard when you pull the gas cap off, you're fine.
vehicular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 06:39 PM   #1439
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I made a lot of progress today. I bolted down the head, timed it, installed fresh rubber hoses for the reroute, bolted down the FPR, cut hoses (wrapped in fire sleeve), and attached a couple intercooler pipes. I also got created and flipped the old PCV port so it now runs the BOV and looks clean. I now use hose-straps for every SS hose and wire bundle, no more zip ties.


Attached Thumbnails
hustler's "driver shame" thread-397724_10100536851906510_23911356_50518176_417040388_n.jpg   hustler's "driver shame" thread-384587_10100536973577680_23911356_50518681_270814773_n.jpg  
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 08:39 PM   #1440
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Question:
I previously ran my engine with the crank damper on top of the crank pully. This time I added the trigger wheel. Should I be worried about belt alignment if it worked fine previously without that 1/8" piece of metal in there?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 58 Yesterday 10:04 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 AM.