I was told to bring this thread over here. Blame Fireindc. - Page 17 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2014, 11:28 PM   #321
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Does this mean that throttle tip-in enrichment isn't active until 10% is registered from the TPS?

That squiggly blue line is happening by itself. Car wasn't running in this screenshot, foot off all pedals. Normal?

Attached Thumbnails
I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-ae%252520wizard%252520wtf.jpg  
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:42 PM   #322
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

And here's a short log of idle things. Anything look horribad? Needs some more tuning, still oscillating a bit but i haven't gotten into it real deep yet.
Attached Files
File Type: msl 2014-09-29_19.48.01.msl (60.2 KB, 72 views)
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 10:06 AM   #323
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,105
Total Cats: 518
Default

No, those settings indicate that you're using TPSdot 100% of the time.

The TPS threshold is the only 10% I see, so is that what you're talking about? That's the minimum change in throttle position per second that is has to see before it does anything. So if you're not changing your throttle by at least 10% every second, it won't do anything.

Make this number really high to essentially disable accel enrichments for everyone but Superman.

Make this number really low to have accel enrichments follow your TPS noise and have your car buck and become undrivable.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:08 AM   #324
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Ok so basically... that's why my part throttle sucks bad. No enrichment is being done if i'm only changing throttle by less than 10%. Yes?

Does that look like a normal amount of TPS noise? (I'm guessing that's what the blue line is)
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 12:05 PM   #325
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,325
Total Cats: 235
Default

10% per second, which is really slow. Going from 0 to WOT in 10 seconds... You could change by 1%, but if it happened in 1/10th of a second you'd get enrichment. Almost definitely why your part throttle sucks bad, I'm sure every time the car bucks from going too rich you hit that 10%/sec threshold again and it goes rich again.

I think mine's set for 50.
thenuge26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 12:18 PM   #326
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Car isn't bucking from going rich. Slow part throttle application is giving me extremely lean conditions.

If i hammer the **** out of the gas from any RPM, any load, the car does exactly what it's supposed to do.

If i apply say... 5% more throttle to go up a hill on the highway, wideband maxes out lean.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 12:46 PM   #327
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Car isn't bucking from going rich. Slow part throttle application is giving me extremely lean conditions.

If i hammer the **** out of the gas from any RPM, any load, the car does exactly what it's supposed to do.

If i apply say... 5% more throttle to go up a hill on the highway, wideband maxes out lean.
Sounds like you have some lean VE cells. Mine is doing that exact same thing and we reasoned that the VE cells are too lean since the AE isn't really in play under small and/or slower throttle increases.
vteckiller2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 01:09 PM   #328
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,325
Total Cats: 235
Default

IDK what to tell you. Mine didn't do that even with AE turned off completely.
thenuge26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 01:14 PM   #329
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Boo hiss.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 01:29 PM   #330
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

These are my accel enrich settings, if that helps Concealer

Attached Thumbnails
I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-parallelspicture17.png  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 02:23 PM   #331
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Possibru! I'll plug them in when i have a chance on Friday and report back. Thanks!
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 10:42 PM   #332
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Possibru! I'll plug them in when i have a chance on Friday and report back. Thanks!
Remember that AE changes with injector size. His settings likely will make your car worse.

I'm 99% sure that your VE is lean in those cells. Turn off AE and O2 correction and see what happens, I would bet money on that it is your VE table.
vteckiller2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:22 AM   #333
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,165
Total Cats: 2,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
Possibru! I'll plug them in when i have a chance on Friday and report back. Thanks!
or you could....you know.....actually figure out what the settings do and actually tune them.....to your car's liking

I say this in all seriousness, cause I tried "plugging in" others AE and EAE settings before, and it sucked.
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 12:55 PM   #334
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vteckiller2000 View Post
Remember that AE changes with injector size. His settings likely will make your car worse.

I'm 99% sure that your VE is lean in those cells. Turn off AE and O2 correction and see what happens, I would bet money on that it is your VE table.
Well right... i just want to try the 5 vs. 10 thing.

I'm pretty sure it's lean in those cells as well. I watched it a bit on the way to work, and it'll hang out off the end of the wideband for 5-10 seconds at a time if i don't move my foot past a certain point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
or you could....you know.....actually figure out what the settings do and actually tune them.....to your car's liking

I say this in all seriousness, cause I tried "plugging in" others AE and EAE settings before, and it sucked.
I could. Bonus points if i had time.

What will probably happen is that i'll bitch about it for the next 3 weeks i actually drive it, then park it for the winter, breaking it out only to bring it down to Louisville and pay someone to dyno tune it.

Or not, i don't know. I really don't have time to **** with it further, though. Which sucks, because it's what i have to drive. Got more important **** to do.

Attached Thumbnails
I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140927_142753.jpg  
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:13 PM   #335
Hug Life
iTrader: (3)
 
Monk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Huntington, Indiana
Posts: 2,798
Total Cats: 492
Default

Attached Thumbnails
I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-21lrk2d.jpg  
Monk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:14 PM   #336
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

It's not as bad as it looks. Kindof. Sortof. Not really.

Need to update thread.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:02 PM   #337
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Now that I know what wires are which I plan on doing that in the future. It is still a little scary to deloom it though! Good luck sir! In for 10lbs of wiring removed.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 02:28 PM   #338
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Now that I know what wires are which I plan on doing that in the future. It is still a little scary to deloom it though! Good luck sir! In for 10lbs of wiring removed.

That's the MX6. I don't care enough to do it to this Miata.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 04:31 PM   #339
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Is there any compelling reason to run my BP4W like... you know... it's a 4W?

As in, swap to a 4W valve cover with the cam sensor, get rid of the CAS, and make the necessary wiring changes? Or is that simply not worth the hassle considering i'm working with a 95 harness and a 95 PNP?
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 04:34 PM   #340
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

you'll be able to be more aggressive the the timing because you wont have as much timing scatter (assuming you're not already using the crank sensor and just using the CAS as a cam sensor). From the people I know who've dyno'ed the car with both, its worth a large chunk of power.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
My solution for Oiltemp and Oilpressure input into Megasuirt (MS3) Zaphod MEGAsquirt 41 01-24-2016 01:25 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Tags
fistula, shit on my face

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.