I was told to bring this thread over here. Blame Fireindc. - Page 15 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2014, 09:58 AM   #281
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

its the 01+ abs booster I think. Check that thread on m.net that lists all the combos, it got bumped recently.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 10:03 AM   #282
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

929 master is a bolt on/lines line up close enough, just need that banjo to flare adapter thing, right?
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 10:12 AM   #283
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

I'm losing my **** over this damn thing.

Been riding around with the laptop hooked up trying to get a log of this misfire. No misfires occur.

Drive to work today without the laptop hooked up, runs on 2 cylinders almost the entire way to work. Definitely bump/shock related, and i can't find anything that's loose.

If i can't figure it out by the time the MX6 is up, running, and broken in, i'm going to part the damn thing out. I could use the money for a viable winter beater anyways.
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 10:49 AM   #284
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 673
Total Cats: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
I'm losing my **** over this damn thing.

Been riding around with the laptop hooked up trying to get a log of this misfire. No misfires occur.

Drive to work today without the laptop hooked up, runs on 2 cylinders almost the entire way to work. Definitely bump/shock related, and i can't find anything that's loose.

If i can't figure it out by the time the MX6 is up, running, and broken in, i'm going to part the damn thing out. I could use the money for a viable winter beater anyways.
Maybe something is wrong with the ECU itself?
vteckiller2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 10:56 AM   #285
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vteckiller2000 View Post
Maybe something is wrong with the ECU itself?
Entirely possible. If i get out of work today while it's still daylight, i'll crack it open again and see if anything looks bad.

Might need to get ahold of a StimulateJim'sProstate or whatever it is.
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 06:09 PM   #286
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

I need to know where all the harness/engine/ecu grounds are in a 95. All the results I found searching were 1.6 or NBs, and I don't Miata well enough to just know these things.

Can anybody help me?
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 06:41 PM   #287
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids
Posts: 673
Total Cats: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
I need to know where all the harness/engine/ecu grounds are in a 95. All the results I found searching were 1.6 or NBs, and I don't Miata well enough to just know these things.

Can anybody help me?
I replaced or relocated the one near the coolant outlet, can't remember exactly what I did but I did something to that one because it was bolted to a non-grounded stud somewhere when I got it. That's all I have for ya.
vteckiller2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:27 AM   #288
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
2manyhobyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 622
Total Cats: 16
Default

Don't neglect the one in the trunk.
Also, wasn't there a thread about running the Megasquirt, wideband seperatly to the ground at the throttle body?

-JB
2manyhobyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:59 AM   #289
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2manyhobyz View Post
Don't neglect the one in the trunk.
Also, wasn't there a thread about running the Megasquirt, wideband seperatly to the ground at the throttle body?

-JB

I didn't look at the one in the trunk, but i think i found the rest. I took pics, will upload in a few.

This Megasquirt has a breakout connector for wideband things.

I'm not having wideband problems, regardless.

Pics of what i found and my rage will follow after these messages from our sponsors.
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:09 AM   #290
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Ok so. Random pictures, ramblings, rantings, and some stuff.

What is this?



Ground.


Ground.


Ground.


Ground.


ECU Grounds v.WTF


I hate everybody. Cutting this out left a whopping 1/2" remaining at the plug to work with, so that was fun.


The only visible damage to the ECU. Brain and i have talked about this, and it's not likely to be a problem.





Anyways, i made sure all the grounds pictured were tight and solid, i zip tied the COP harness up away from flopping around on ****, and did something about that solder clusterfuck on the ECU grounds. No misfires yet, but who knows... this was intermittent anyways and would go weeks without doing it. I DID notice this morning that the tach wasn't budging at all going over bumps, so that's cautiously encouraging.


I logged idle last night, might post that up looking for pointers. Also saw something in my Accel Enrichment Wizard settings that i think might be causing the part throttle lean spikes. Will post screenshot when i get home to the computer.
Attached Thumbnails
I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_172559.jpg   I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_190107.jpg   I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_190117.jpg   I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_190132.jpg   I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_190147.jpg  

I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_181100.jpg   I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_184445.jpg   I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-20140929_174059.jpg  
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:16 AM   #291
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

you've been around how long and dont know that the first picture is for the power steering idle up?
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:26 AM   #292
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
you've been around how long and dont know that the first picture is for the power steering idle up?
Like i give a **** about stock bullshit?

Remember, i don't know Miatas that well.


So let's dissect this, though....

That thing isn't plugged into anything. Hasn't been since we got the car. I doubt it was plugged in when Vteckiller2000 had it, either.

What do?
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:27 AM   #293
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

those grounds look like crap. also no one puts a ground on a timing cover bolt. that nice little fried spot on the board would scare me. those are my only observation.

the power steering plug thing you can just plug back into the ps pump. duhh
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:31 AM   #294
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Where do those ones on the timing cover go, then?

The 2002 i've been fighting VVT issues with had a ground or two on the timing cover from factory. That said, i don't know if the 95 would have had the same bullshit or not.

And how do i plug that thing into the power steering pump if the power steering pump is you know.... on the other side of the engine bay?
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:33 AM   #295
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

the 2002 is wrong too then.
that one looks to belong on the TB.

I mean its probably "ok" I guess, since the back of the timing cover bolts to the head, but that's not how it comes from the factory. from the factory all grounding points are to big items like head, tb, and block. not a timing cover bolt that goes through a bunch of plastic to a painted back plate that bolts to the head in 2 locations (under the cam gears)
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:36 AM   #296
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
the 2002 is wrong too then.
that one looks to belong on the TB

The 2002 is 100% factory.

I'll have to dig around the TB on this car... i didn't see a spot where it went.

FWIW, that ground on the timing cover is connected to the ground on the intake manifold i showed in picture #2. Not that this is ideal, but it's not just grounding through the timing cover bolt.

Found this. I don't seem to have the thing that the ground are bolted to in this picture. Probably because VICS manifold?

Attached Thumbnails
I was told to bring this thread over here.  Blame Fireindc.-grdnut.jpg  
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:42 AM   #297
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
The 2002 is 100% factory.
you're welcome to think that, but its wrong.
but who cares, back to your car:

1st order of business: find a diagram of all the oem ground points. preferably some manual or something from mazduhh. re-do your grounds with non-crappy vatozone looking points with better (thicker?) wire and maybe a dab of solder?

I dunno, those grounds just look weak and misplaced and just janky. it will take all of 30 min to fix them and eliminate that variable
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:49 AM   #298
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
you're welcome to think that, but its wrong.
but who cares, back to your car:

1st order of business: find a diagram of all the oem ground points. preferably some manual or something from mazduhh. re-do your grounds with non-crappy vatozone looking points with better (thicker?) wire and maybe a dab of solder?

I dunno, those grounds just look weak and misplaced and just janky. it will take all of 30 min to fix them and eliminate that variable

Been looking for a diagram of the ground points for a day or two now. No success, which is why i asked in this thread if anyone had one, i asked on GRM, and i asked on CR.

Surprisingly, CR was the only place i got anything remotely helpful. (How's THAT for a twist of fate?)

However, i don't know how useful that will really be for me, because of what the motor in this car is. I don't have the same points/brackets on the intake manifold for grounding.

The non-OEM grounds will take me about 5 minutes at most to replace with something better and is on the menu, but i'm not convinced that they're the cause of my intermittent bump/shocked problem that i may or may not have fixed last night but can't tell because it's ******* intermittent. While janky, they're all tight and making proper contact.


My main question is: Did i FIND all the grounds in the engine bay in this car? Whether we think they're weak or janky is secondary to my question right now. I want to make sure they're all accounted for before taking the next step.
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:54 AM   #299
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,174
Total Cats: 2,575
Default

yes, you did. tb - check. head - check, block - check.
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:57 AM   #300
Elite Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,460
Total Cats: 782
Default

Ok well at least THAT'S good news.

Thanks, Muffin.



Now, can you tell me how to plug in that power steering pump fuckery? It's on the wrong side of the engine bay, nowhere near the power steering pump.
concealer404 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
My solution for Oiltemp and Oilpressure input into Megasuirt (MS3) Zaphod MEGAsquirt 41 01-24-2016 01:25 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Tags
fistula, shit on my face

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 PM.