COP Thread - Page 45 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2008, 09:22 PM   #881
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 138
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
put the pickup over the wires. it'll work.
over the signal wires?

I didn't think that would work. Ive always used a cop in series with a stock plug wire to the spark plug, the put the clamp on that.

Also a big thank you to all involved in getting this to work.
ampz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 10:13 PM   #882
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 2,957
Total Cats: 2
Default

it worked when they dyno'd my car for the rpm pickup
paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:09 PM   #883
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,847
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

ha, i stand correct.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 07:53 PM   #884
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Should my dash tach show RPM while cranking? MS RPM display shows 140ish RPM, but my dash tach doesn't move at all. I'm worried that something isn't working correctly with my tachometer output modification even though I scoped the output and it was showing a 12 volt square wave.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 02:47 PM   #885
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

FYI on the Toyota coils, if someone is having issues with those wired in parallel:

http://forum.miata.net/vb/showthread.php?t=263446


j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:06 PM   #886
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

this scared me a little, when you say parallel i assume this is what you mean, since i suck at explaining anything in words please view pic...hope i dont get raped for this lol
Name:  artwork.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  34.7 KB

as in pic, the black wires go from connector to furthest coil where i plan to solder the wires together since im getting the factory connectors with the wires cut off
so where the inner coils are i want to strip the wire and solder the connector wire and then isolate it
does this sound good or did i totaly miss the boat, i am no electrician nor electrical engineer, so i need your input to know if this is retarded and not gonna work or if it is OK?
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:32 PM   #887
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Yup, that what I meant by "in parallel" - those folks running wasted spark config have to wire the coils in pairs - one pair for 1 & 4 and one pair for 2 & 3.

Looks like some stock Miata ECUs have marginal ignition drivers, and each of those can't drive two Toyota coils in parallel. Also, the stock ECU is running different dwell times than what's recommended for the Toyota coils.

All that stuff (and that box they are talking about which most likely Jason C will be designing) is for people running stock ECUs and piggybacks (Xede, AEM F/IC, etc.)

For people running aftermarket standalone ECUs with strong drivers and adjustable dwell - all this doesn't matter.
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:39 PM   #888
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,847
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

there's only one person that cant get the COPs to work...
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:46 PM   #889
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
cjernigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,147
Total Cats: 6
Default

He's also the only one with a CA ecu that has tried though right?
cjernigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:47 PM   #890
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

my biggest concern was whether the wiring is ok the way i intend to wire it up
i am running (not really running yet, lol) MS so i will be able to control the dwell so thats not really a concern for me then
so, my wiring should be ok then i assume
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:50 PM   #891
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
there's only one person that cant get the COPs to work...
IIRC Popstoy has a CA ECU, and Jason C SBB scoped the stuff for him.

It might even be not as general as any CA ECU but some ECU revision (who knows what transistors mazda put into the different revisions trying to cut $$$ corners) ...
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:51 PM   #892
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

That'll do Donkey.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:53 PM   #893
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,847
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

fwiw, i ran mine exactly like this:

Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:55 PM   #894
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default




That's pic scale for old people with huge glasses (... quack ... ) ... to make sure they don't mess up the wiring ...



j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:56 PM   #895
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,847
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

300dpi @ 8" x 10" ftw!
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 04:59 PM   #896
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Naaah. why did you fix it? They might not see it propely now ...
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 05:05 PM   #897
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

again, nice work scott, of always put my paint skillz to shame, lol
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 05:06 PM   #898
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,847
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

that's why i dont use paint.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 06:24 PM   #899
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
that's why i dont use paint.
What did you use? QuikCAD Or something?
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2008, 08:38 PM   #900
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,847
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

adobe illustrator since it was open.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.