COP Thread - Page 44 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2008, 07:55 PM   #861
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

just bought some COPs, all four from same car (2001 corolla) and the guy will cut of the wire harness with them for me...i had to pay $90 shipped, seems these are harder to find for cheap by the day
car-part is the way to go though
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 08:40 PM   #862
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 2,957
Total Cats: 2
Default

If they work out for you be sure to post what part number you got if they are different from the ones listed in the FAQ
paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:59 AM   #863
Junior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 392
Total Cats: -50
Default

Corolla should be the correct ones if it has the 1.8.
jrmotorsports55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 10:44 AM   #864
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

the guy didnt know, they just got the car in and didnt take the coils off yet, but ill make sure to get the part #s but it should be the same as the one scott got on that 2000 corolla...we'll see though
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 10:49 AM   #865
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,910
Total Cats: 1,793
Default

having the entire harness makes the build so much simpler/easier/cheaper. i think i spent about 10 minutes building brad's harness. basically all four wires on the each coil have a separate wire. so you just gotta combine the 12v, ground, and tach wires out to one each, then combine the 2&3 and 1&4 triggers. simple. spacing is perfect too.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 02:45 PM   #866
Elite Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunny Spanish speaking Non US Caribbean
Posts: 3,257
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whaaamx5 View Post
the guy didnt know, they just got the car in and didnt take the coils off yet, but ill make sure to get the part #s but it should be the same as the one scott got on that 2000 corolla...we'll see though
Dan, yours should be the part # finishing in 015. I got 2 of those so you're good to go.
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 03:40 PM   #867
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

My connector shells will be here monday so I'm getting ready to build my harness... I do have a question however.

Since I had to do the Tach output mod on my megasquirt, do I need to even wire up the tach pins on the COPs?
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 03:44 PM   #868
Elite Member
iTrader: (39)
 
Zabac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 4,854
Total Cats: 8
Default

i think so, since our tachs read output from the CAS
but me no expert...
Zabac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 07:50 PM   #869
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazzer408 View Post
Why are you guys trying to save the original plugs/connectors?

I also forgot to mention, I don't plan on keeping this specific car forever which is another reason I'm attempting to retain a PNP install for everything. Thus far Everything I've done can easily be returned directly to stock in a few hours. Am planning on selling the car as Stock condition in a couple years to find a newer model to play with.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 07:57 PM   #870
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whaaamx5 View Post
our tachs read output from the CAS
Up to '95 the pull-up resistor is in the ECU and the stock coil packs ground it on a spark event. Up from '95-1/2 the ECU generates the entire tach signal.
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 05:19 AM   #871
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j_man View Post
Up to '95 the pull-up resistor is in the ECU and the stock coil packs ground it on a spark event. Up from '95-1/2 the ECU generates the entire tach signal.
I'm assuming this requires me to wire up the tach output connections from the COPs AND the tach output from the MegaSquirt Tach Mod?
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 12:35 PM   #872
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elesjuan View Post
I'm assuming this requires me to wire up the tach output connections from the COPs AND the tach output from the MegaSquirt Tach Mod?
In the previous post I should've said "the OEM ECU".

I am not familiar with the tach support of the Toyota COPs (do they switch the tach pin to ground on falling edge), neither with the Megasquirt tach mod (if it does the entire square wave like the '95-1/2+ ECUs then you won't have to connect tach wires to the coils)
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 04:49 PM   #873
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

well I don't have a scope to bench test what the output is, but I'll run it up to my brothers office wed and check it with their equipment just to make sure. Think it'd be safe to assume that it DOES output the square wave for tach.. but I'll check and report.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 10:48 PM   #874
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Total Cats: 0
Default

i've read the entire thread just now but PLEASE forgive me for missing the obvious... can i still order the COP's here? and can i get the connectors with pins ordered from here? Thank You
networkingdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 10:58 PM   #875
Elite Member
iTrader: (21)
 
paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 2,957
Total Cats: 2
Default

eBay for coils
http://www.discounttoyotaparts.com/ for plastic connectors
Braineack for connector pins
paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 01:48 PM   #876
Elite Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Severn, MD
Posts: 1,927
Total Cats: 5
Default

I've got the coils, connector housings from Toyota, and pins from Braineack. I probably won't be going to COP in my '01 so if anyones interested in the whole enchilada, minus the wires, PM me.

Frank
fmowry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 06:45 PM   #877
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Update:

Didn't get to my brothers office yesterday, but day I did confirm that the Tach output from megasquirt does give a 12 volt square wave for tachometer using this circuit:


Figured out another small problem... The photograph I took of that connector a week or so ago isn't the same as my 1995. Come to find out mine has the "late" 1.8 4 pin plug on it, so my coils don't give the ECU ANY feedback on tachometer where the 1994 does. Hopefully this tach output mod will infact get my tachometer reading correctly.

Problem:

How the hell do you check/set your timing with COPs??? My timing light (and every timing light I can find..) only has the inductive pickup!?
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 06:48 PM   #878
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,910
Total Cats: 1,793
Default

put the pickup over the wires. it'll work.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 06:59 PM   #879
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Really? Kick ***! I was gettnig worried about that. Thanks mang!

Btw: Any chance you'd sell me a retainer bracket for the coils? I don't have the tools available to make one worth a **** anymore
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:05 PM   #880
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elesjuan View Post
How the hell do you check/set your timing with COPs??? My timing light (and every timing light I can find..) only has the inductive pickup!?
The inductive pickup of my timing light works just fine with my COP (300M/Intrepid coils)
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.