COP Thread - Page 46 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2008, 01:25 PM   #901
Elite Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunny Spanish speaking Non US Caribbean
Posts: 3,257
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j_man View Post
Yup, that what I meant by "in parallel" - those folks running wasted spark config have to wire the coils in pairs - one pair for 1 & 4 and one pair for 2 & 3.

Looks like some stock Miata ECUs have marginal ignition drivers, and each of those can't drive two Toyota coils in parallel. Also, the stock ECU is running different dwell times than what's recommended for the Toyota coils.

All that stuff (and that box they are talking about which most likely Jason C will be designing) is for people running stock ECUs and piggybacks (Xede, AEM F/IC, etc.)

For people running aftermarket standalone ECUs with strong drivers and adjustable dwell - all this doesn't matter.

Some concerns. I'm running mines exactly as Dan pictured them (except for the tach signal). Since I'm using my car's ecu and running the MS in parallel I'm worried about Jman's assertion that, quote:"the stock ECU is running different dwell times than what's recommended for Toyota coils".

My problem is that every now and then when I fire up the car I'll get some kind of noise resembling that of a backfire and a little bit of smoke. I checked once and saw some smoke coming from where the injectors are located so I assumed (yeah, I know about assuming :gay that it could be fuel left over. Now I worry about whether the different dwell times may be an issue. If so, should I change those settings?

Thanks,

Rafa
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 01:34 PM   #902
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

yes you should have changed your dwell to 2.5ms in MS.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 01:36 PM   #903
Elite Member
iTrader: (13)
 
cjernigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,147
Total Cats: 6
Default

It's not dwell times causing that pop at start up Rafa. It's a rich idle from when you shut the car off or your car is setup to prime when you turn the key on. For some reason MS discharges the coils when you turn the key on, so if fuel is left in the cylinders then it will pop.
You said you saw smoke from the injector area, that could mean you have a leak there. One of those pops could have blown off a vacuum line, that could cause a bad idle. If you have a vac leak your idle will surge or hunt around instead of being stable.
Your MS is running the correct dwell times for your COPs Rafa. That's not something you need to worry about.
cjernigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 01:55 PM   #904
Elite Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunny Spanish speaking Non US Caribbean
Posts: 3,257
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjernigan View Post
It's not dwell times causing that pop at start up Rafa. It's a rich idle from when you shut the car off or your car is setup to prime when you turn the key on. For some reason MS discharges the coils when you turn the key on, so if fuel is left in the cylinders then it will pop.
You said you saw smoke from the injector area, that could mean you have a leak there. One of those pops could have blown off a vacuum line, that could cause a bad idle. If you have a vac leak your idle will surge or hunt around instead of being stable.
Your MS is running the correct dwell times for your COPs Rafa. That's not something you need to worry about.
Ok, thanks to both.
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 01:56 PM   #905
Elite Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunny Spanish speaking Non US Caribbean
Posts: 3,257
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
yes you should have changed your dwell to 2.5ms in MS.

They're both set to 2.5ms so I'm ok there.
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 04:35 AM   #906
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 67
Total Cats: 0
Default

Maybe one silly question:

how much do four of the Toyota coils weight together?

I'm about to order some, but it seems the seller wants to rip me off with shipping costs...

Thanx

Bjoern
RacingGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:34 AM   #907
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

maybe 2lbs.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 10:50 AM   #908
Senior Member
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 606
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RacingGreen View Post
Maybe one silly question:

how much do four of the Toyota coils weight together?

I'm about to order some, but it seems the seller wants to rip me off with shipping costs...

Thanx

Bjoern
If this is/was an ebay transaction, then high shipping costs are the norm. Many sellers make a few extra bucks by charging a high shipping cost and hoping that people won't notice and effectively overbid for an item once shipping costs are included with the winning auction price. Good luck.
jasonrobo02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:29 AM   #909
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Saml01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,730
Total Cats: 2
Default

I read the last 10 pages and I am a bit confused. From what I understand 96/97 cars dont need a separate tach input run from the COP's because the ECU gets its reading from the CAS?

The second thing im confused about is the location of the coil plug harness under the hood. Is it the big plug above the fuel injectors or the smaller 4 plug one in the back near the coil?
Saml01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:36 AM   #910
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

its the plug that attaches to your coilpack!

this has been discussed. use the diagram in the archives. I pulled out all the crap out.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 11:52 AM   #911
Elite Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Saml01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,730
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
its the plug that attaches to your coilpack!

this has been discussed. use the diagram in the archives. I pulled out all the crap out.
Thought so, then its the plug in the back. i have been scared to flash my ecu using the car for power because I wasnt sure. Just kept using my stim.

Saw the archive, wasnt sure. Now im sure, I saw the "edited" date.
Saml01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 01:29 PM   #912
Elite Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sunny Spanish speaking Non US Caribbean
Posts: 3,257
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saml01 View Post
Thought so, then its the plug in the back. i have been scared to flash my ecu using the car for power because I wasnt sure. Just kept using my stim.

Saw the archive, wasnt sure. Now im sure, I saw the "edited" date.
There are 2 grey plugs to the coils on the 96/97. Those only have 3 connectors because the tach isn't connected there.

Last edited by Rafa; 01-17-2008 at 02:32 PM.
Rafa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 01:35 PM   #913
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 671
Total Cats: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saml01 View Post
I read the last 10 pages and I am a bit confused. From what I understand 96/97 cars dont need a separate tach input run from the COP's because the ECU gets its reading from the CAS?
The CAS has nothing to do it. The ECU always gets its reading from the CAS.

In '90 .. '95 cars the coil packs generate the square wave (by grounding the wire to the tach, ECU just pulls up)

In '95-1/2 .. '05 cars, the ECU generates the square wave
j_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 12:06 PM   #914
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 4
Total Cats: 0
Default

Hi guys. I will be using your info to install COPs. Has anyone any experience wiring for sequential firing with a Link ECU?
blownmiata91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 04:38 PM   #915
Senior Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: bay area, ca
Posts: 551
Total Cats: 19
Default simple cop test

Is there a way to do a basic test on a toyota cop with just a multimeter? I've been searching around and apparently the primary and secondary coils should have a resistance between a certain range, but I'm not sure which leads I need to check or if this is even possible without powering them on and having a more elaborate setup.
orion4096 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:16 PM   #916
Senior Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: bay area, ca
Posts: 551
Total Cats: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion4096 View Post
Is there a way to do a basic test on a toyota cop with just a multimeter? I've been searching around and apparently the primary and secondary coils should have a resistance between a certain range, but I'm not sure which leads I need to check or if this is even possible without powering them on and having a more elaborate setup.
Nevermind. I decided to just buy everything and try it out. Scored this for a pretty good price from someone who swapped engines on a Celica GT. Not sure what I'm going to do with the manual or the rest of the engine harness.

orion4096 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 08:16 PM   #917
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orion4096 View Post
Nevermind. I decided to just buy everything and try it out. Scored this for a pretty good price from someone who swapped engines on a Celica GT. Not sure what I'm going to do with the manual or the rest of the engine harness.

One word... Resell. I'm sure someone would be interested in a manual, and someone else might want a new harness cause theirs was damaged? Ebay it mang!! Good luck!

FWIW, I'm one of TWO miata owners who can't get COP to work.. I'm convinced that the ignitors in my coils are the malfunction.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:08 PM   #918
Senior Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: bay area, ca
Posts: 551
Total Cats: 19
Default

Is it ok to leave the tach input floating on the newer 1.8s? Maybe the cop has an internal weak pull down (up?) making this ok?
orion4096 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 10:50 AM   #919
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,454
Total Cats: 80
Default

elesjuan,

Is your car a 99/00? If so the 99/00 ECU cannot drive 2 COPs at the same time.

I am working on a circuit that will enable the 99/00 ECU to drive the COPs in pairs, and also reduce the dwell to what is required.
JasonC SBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 10:53 AM   #920
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,454
Total Cats: 80
Default

I wasn't finished with the above message, but I am sitting in front of a beach in the Carribean with my laptop, I leaned over to get a slice of pizza, and my belly pressed down on the touchpad!

The 99/00 dwell times are so long that it will make the COPs run very hot possibly overheating.

Anyway, I also have an idea for a circuit that will generate fully sequential signals for the COPs, derived from the 99/00 cam sensor signal. This will make the COPs run half as hot, good for high RPM operation.
JasonC SBB is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.