Another Computer Build Thread - Page 15 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Gaming Discuss to your nerdy heart's content

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2013, 06:31 PM   #281
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

nice. apparently this CPU can overclock easily to 4.5Ghz if you watercool it; not that i need to/will.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:07 PM   #282
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,328
Total Cats: 1,926
Default

I've never understood overclocking. It's like buying a car with a puny little 1'6 engine and then spending a bunch of time and money turbocharging it.

Oh, wait...
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:10 PM   #283
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
I've never understood overclocking. It's like buying a car with a puny little 1'6 engine and then spending a bunch of time and money turbocharging it.

Oh, wait...
Well I mean if you're smart you buy a 1G DSM and spend next to no money and get another 100hp out of it, reliably. Thats how you do it properly. My overclock that I run all the time cost zero dollar over the normal setup and took under an hour of tweaking an another couple hours of stress testing to make sure it was bullet proof.
Leafy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:22 PM   #284
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,201
Total Cats: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
Right now, I've got about a half-dozen hard drives in regular service spread across several machines. A couple of Hitachis, one WD Green, two Seagates (can't remember which fish), and maybe aother WD somewhere?

Of these, only the newest (the 4TB Seagate) is less than about 3-4 years old, and all are in mostly continuous service.

For any hard drive manufacturer, it's possible to point to some specific generation of some specific model and say "look, these drives were pieces of ****, therefore I'll never buy from X manufacturer." Does anybody remember the IBM Deathstar? And yet aside from the 75GXP, IBM/HGST have some of the highest ratings on the planet for consumer-grade HD reliability.

Same goes for WD, Seagate, Connor, Maxtor, Control Data, Burroughs, pretty much any company that has ever manufactured a hard drive. You simply can't take past performance as an indicator of future reliability.

The last time I hard an actual hard-drive failure was around 2009, and it was a 1.8" Toshiba drive in my old Vaio laptop. which lived a rough life. Prior to that, I literally cannot remember the last time I lost data in a hard drive failure. It was sometime in the 90s.

Actually, I don't care one whit about AMD vs. Intel CPUs. I care about the motherboard. If Intel manufactured a motherboard that would accept an AMD CPU, I'd be fine with that. Heck, if AMD themselves manufactured a motherboard for their own CPUs, I'm sure it would probably be fine, too.

What's not fine are poorly-designed motherboards made with cheap components by third-party manufacturers that suffer from poor driver support, glitchy BIOSes, less-than-optimal design in terms of power regulation and trace routing for high-speed lines, and will probably suffer minor, trivial component failures which take them completely out of service in less than 10 years.
That's why i said "take that information how you will". I do realize that anything can die. Hell i bought some really expensive "gaming" memory and it was DOA. I could have killed it with socks and carpet for all i know. I'm not blasting anything, just putting my experience out there.

I can respect your opinion on motherboards though. In fact i feel the same way. I had the old (first gen?) Asus "rampage" motherboard, and it was a pile. I think they got them figured out after a while though.

As far as overclocking an AMD processor, from my own experience it goes pretty easy until you need to start raising voltage. If the BIOS allows it even. If you can that's when i would see a good temperature increase. Rightly so i suppose.
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 09:27 PM   #285
Elite Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,054
Total Cats: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
I've never understood overclocking. It's like buying a car with a puny little 1'6 engine and then spending a bunch of time and money turbocharging it.

Oh, wait...
I seriously laughed out loud for 30+ seconds because of this.

Touche






Touche


Of course, I bought a 1.8 and don't really get overclocking either but...still, funny stuff.
Efini~FC3S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 09:45 PM   #286
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,687
Total Cats: 216
Default

You can buy a $250 CPU at 3.2ghz, spend 50 bucks on a cooler and overclock it to 4.0ghz, or you can spend $500 on an identical CPU factory overclocked to 4.0ghz.

With an unlocked multiplier its super simple, but I still usually overclock FSB because there is performance to be had there.
Full_Tilt_Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 09:50 PM   #287
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,201
Total Cats: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full_Tilt_Boogie View Post
You can buy a $250 CPU at 3.2ghz, spend 50 bucks on a cooler and overclock it to 4.0ghz, or you can spend $500 on an identical CPU factory overclocked to 4.0ghz.

With an unlocked multiplier its super simple, but I still usually overclock FSB because there is performance to be had there.
I try to match FSB speeds. I haven't had good luck OC'ing the FSB. Ever...

What BIOS?
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 11:10 PM   #288
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 266
Total Cats: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
I've never understood overclocking. It's like buying a car with a puny little 1'6 engine and then spending a bunch of time and money turbocharging it.

Oh, wait...
Sometimes no money has to be spent. I had an Asus Radeon hd 7850 that came stock clocked at 860mhz. That thing ran reliably at 1150mhz without even changing the fan profile settings. That offered a huge performance increase, about 20-30 more fps. Later I got greedy and wanted more so I put an AIO water cooler on it, and can only get it to 1200mhz. Obviously the effort and money probably wasn't worth the extra 50mhz, but it sure was fun seeing how far it would go. I used that card for about 6 months, threw the stock cooler back on it and sold it for $10.00 less than I paid for it.
duffbuster243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 12:04 AM   #289
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,328
Total Cats: 1,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duffbuster243 View Post
(Alot of words)
It

Was

A

*JOKE*

(Hence the smiley at the end.)
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 09:01 AM   #290
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

gets here monday, got all weekend to prep files/installations.

wish this rig was on sale monday so id have it friday to do it all this weekend.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 09:38 AM   #291
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Speaking of the static comment above. How many of you use anti-static straps when you work on computers? I never have and never ran into an issue.
Leafy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 12:58 PM   #292
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

that's funny.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 01:34 PM   #293
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,328
Total Cats: 1,926
Default

Me neither.

I just make surer that whatever I am working on is plugged in (the power cord is connected to the wall, thus establishing a ground connection) but switched off. I then make sure to establish contact with an unpainted metal surface of the machine before touching anything else.

At work, we actually have a couple of special IEC power cords expressly for this purpose. They have only the ground pin connected, but not the hot or neutral pins.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 03:16 PM   #294
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,687
Total Cats: 216
Default

Ive never done any anti-static anything. Although Ill probably use Joe's suggestion in the future. That is easy enough and worth the peace of mind.
Full_Tilt_Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 04:01 PM   #295
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

I'd use Joe's apparatus too.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 04:03 PM   #296
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I'd use Joe's apparatus too.
I'm sure you do.
Leafy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 07:39 PM   #297
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,201
Total Cats: 260
Default

Usually i'll try to discharge myself before reaching in and grabbing parts. I don't use an antistatic strap though, that's to much for me.
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 08:22 PM   #298
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax Fl
Posts: 469
Total Cats: 30
Default

Though I own an anti static wrist strap I dont often use it when servicing my computers. I do make a strong effort to hold on to a bare metal part of the case for a few moments before touching any PCBs after shuffling around on carpet though. I recently put together a gaming rig for my 13 year old cousins first computer and I bought him a anti static wristband to include with it. I think they are a good idea for those who are not used to working with ESD sensitive components.

My current rig is an AMD 8320 overclocked from 3.5 to 4.7 with very little voltage increase and a 220 FSB, it's cooled by a corsair H110 closed loop water kit. Very pleased with its performance.
Tw34k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 09:43 PM   #299
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,328
Total Cats: 1,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tw34k View Post
I think they are a good idea for those who are not used to working with ESD sensitive components.
That is exactly correct.

On the factory floor, the assemblers wear wrist and heel straps, walk on conductive mats, use anti-static hand lotion, are forbidden from wearing certain fabrics, etc.

In the lab, we know how to not **** up. We do have conductive mats on the work benches and the fancy $800 ESD-safe soldering irons, but that's about it. Smart people who know the difference between good **** and bad **** simply develop safe working habits, such as always grounding one's self before picking up a component, and then touching the leads of said component to the mat before bringing it into contact with the board, etc.

You can do the same at home by simply treating the chassis of the computer as a reference ground, and exercising common sense. Eg: don't wear gloves made from rabbit fur and juggle amber pins immediately prior to installing a CPU.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 08:43 AM   #300
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

you know what's sad? the Case comes tomorrow, but all the rest of the parts come monday...
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.