Another Computer Build Thread - Page 10 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Gaming Discuss to your nerdy heart's content

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2013, 02:38 PM   #181
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,325
Total Cats: 235
Default

Also I wouldn't bother with a k series unless you plan on overclocking. If you don't plan on overclocking, get one of the non-k haswell i7s for $80 more like others have said.
thenuge26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:40 PM   #182
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full_Tilt_Boogie View Post
Buy a Seasonic or Corsair and you'll use it for many years in different builds, or buy a cheapy and hope it doesnt hurt anything when/if it pops.
will keep that in mind. that one was a good value and had good reviews. I'm not buying anything yet, just trying to get an idea of what I might need/spend. Going to sit on slickdeals and wait for black friday sale leaks and go from there.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:41 PM   #183
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenuge26 View Post
Also I wouldn't bother with a k series unless you plan on overclocking. If you don't plan on overclocking, get one of the non-k haswell i7s for $80 more like others have said.
thanks! i kept seeing those recommended, but wasn't sure exactly why. I have no need to overclock. I have overclocked my GPU and that requires me to run it at full speed fan almost costantly
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:56 PM   #184
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago (Over two miles from Wrigley Field. Fuck the Cubs. Fuck them in their smarmy goat-hole.)
Posts: 26,317
Total Cats: 1,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I'm pretty sure going from a core duo 2 3.16Ghz with 4GB of DDR2, to an i5 3570K 3.4Ghz with 16GB of DDR3 is going to be a HUGE improvement already.
Slightly more than a tripling of performance overall, though some of that presupposes multithreaded processing and the ability of the OS to efficiently load-share over four cores as opposed to two.


Quote:
Would it be worth it to to go up to an i7 3770K or something alike over the i5?
The theoretical performance difference between these two processors is about 30%. Fairly small as compared to the leap from your current Core2 to the i5.
Joe Perez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 12:57 PM   #185
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:00 PM   #186
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

I think you should buy the 50 inch.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:11 PM   #187
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default



ive actually wondered what it would be liek to use such a large screen, i feel like it would make my gaming worse.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:13 PM   #188
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

I feel like it would make for an awesome TV replacement. Perfect to use when the steam box comes out.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:21 PM   #189
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

I'd want a least a 60" 4K TV.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:23 PM   #190
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
I'd want a least a 60" 4K TV.
Yes because of all the TV content available at 4K.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 01:27 PM   #191
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

well, because I'd want at least a 60" TV to at least match what I have now that I think is too small.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 08:49 PM   #192
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

In case anyone cares, I'm writing this from my laptop. y8s was able to hook me up with a 320GB 7200RPM HDD and I'm running on win7 Ultimate.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 12:26 PM   #193
NB/VVT Connoisseur
iTrader: (23)
 
viperormiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Key West
Posts: 6,071
Total Cats: 253
Default

We all care, Scott.
viperormiata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:04 PM   #194
Elite Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,050
Total Cats: 5
Default

Why aren't you posting about your pending desktop build, and not your stoopid laptop?
Efini~FC3S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:35 PM   #195
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

i dunno. cause im waiting for sale parts.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 01:48 PM   #196
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

here's an update:

I went to buy this today: SeaSonic SS-660XP2 660W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS PLATINUM Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

but the coupon code ended today apparently. I would have been able to get it for $80.00 shipped.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 01:53 PM   #197
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago (Over two miles from Wrigley Field. Fuck the Cubs. Fuck them in their smarmy goat-hole.)
Posts: 26,317
Total Cats: 1,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
here's an update:

I went to buy this today: SeaSonic SS-660XP2 660W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS PLATINUM Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

but the coupon code ended today apparently. I would have been able to get it for $80.00 shipped.
This is the current-gen version of the PSU that I have in my "big" computer: Newegg.com - Cooler Master i600 - 600W Power Supply with 80 PLUS Bronze Certification

It was more than powerful enough to drive my old GTX280 video card (one of the power-hungriest single-chip GPUs ever created, for serious) with ease. It is almost totally silent, and has been running continuously for about three years at this point with nary a tick or glitch. $67 shipped.
Joe Perez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 09:02 AM   #198
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 09:12 AM   #199
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,198
Total Cats: 260
Default

Maybe i got a little lost in the last page or two.

Are you starting your build with a power supply?
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 09:22 AM   #200
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,860
Total Cats: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erat View Post
Maybe i got a little lost in the last page or two.

Are you starting your build with a power supply?
No. But I just missed out on that one with a really good sale is all.


One thing I was thinking about, will I end up running into issues if I use my current HDD on the new setup? Or will windows die from aids with all the new hardware it's seeing? Or should I just die from aids?
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 AM.