Another Computer Build Thread - Page 18 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Gaming Discuss to your nerdy heart's content

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2013, 12:21 PM   #341
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,687
Total Cats: 216
Default

Dell quiettouch, well loved, not so quiet, before:





Cleaning keycaps:


After:





Why bother with an old Dell keyboard? Well, its actually one of the better rubber dome keyboards around and they dont really build them like this anymore.
Attached Thumbnails
Another Computer Build Thread-20131112_201002_zps3fa43c2f.jpg   Another Computer Build Thread-20131112_200946_zpsd71d1c23.jpg   Another Computer Build Thread-img_5544_re_zps8af42cc1.jpg   Another Computer Build Thread-img_5547_re_zpsa3d57732.jpg  
Full_Tilt_Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 12:24 PM   #342
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,201
Total Cats: 260
Default

Sad part is, there are stockpiles of them things bran new in the back storage rooms here. lol
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 12:30 PM   #343
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,687
Total Cats: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erat View Post
Sad part is, there are stockpiles of them things bran new in the back storage rooms here. lol
Send me a dozen
This one has sentimental value, Ive been hammering on it since '03. This was the first time it was cleaned in any way. The keys were heinous.
Full_Tilt_Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 12:41 PM   #344
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,201
Total Cats: 260
Default

Yeah i could tell.

If i could walk outta here with keyboards and sell them on the black market i'd be rich.
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 06:35 PM   #345
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

212 EVO installed, no more death to my ***** noise.







I also used arctic silver like a big boy.
Attached Thumbnails
Another Computer Build Thread-_dsc2698.jpg   Another Computer Build Thread-_dsc2702.jpg  

Last edited by Braineack; 11-19-2013 at 07:08 PM.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:22 PM   #346
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

You are not a big boy until you computer has this:



Attached Thumbnails
Another Computer Build Thread-photo2rod.jpg  
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:41 PM   #347
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,328
Total Cats: 1,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
212 EVO installed, no more death to my ***** noise.
Nice. I'm a long-time member of the big fan crew. Quiet PCs are good PCs.



Quote:
Originally Posted by FRT_Fun View Post
You are not a big boy until you computer has this:
I've seen those (and others like them) before. Always been curious as to whether there's a significant increase in either airflow or cooling effectiveness.

Fans do funny things when you put them in series, in ways that only people who paid attention during fluid dynamics can explain.
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:47 PM   #348
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,687
Total Cats: 216
Default

That is the Noctua NH-D14, and it is not only one of the best coolers, it is also one of the quietest. It is comparable to a lot of these new self contained liquid coolers and better than all of them at noise level.
The drawback of course is that its so massive you usually cant access your ram.

Here is a cool article where they test it versus a bunch of liquid coolers.
Four New Closed-Loop Liquid Coolers Versus Noctua's NH-D14 - Four More Closed-Loop Coolers Take On Big Air
Full_Tilt_Boogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:58 PM   #349
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full_Tilt_Boogie View Post
That is the Noctua NH-D14, and it is not only one of the best coolers, it is also one of the quietest. It is comparable to a lot of these new self contained liquid coolers and better than all of them at noise level.
The drawback of course is that its so massive you usually cant access your ram.

Here is a cool article where they test it versus a bunch of liquid coolers.
Four New Closed-Loop Liquid Coolers Versus Noctua's NH-D14 - Four More Closed-Loop Coolers Take On Big Air
Yep I love it. Very quiet, but it does get a biiiit louder when you max it out, although I only do that when I'm gaming and my headphones are on and I can't hear it anyways. I was lucky and my ram was accessible. Although it is very close.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 10:23 PM   #350
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax Fl
Posts: 469
Total Cats: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
That's what came in the sealed AMD CPU box. Looking at other's builds with the same CPU, they look the same.



Even when it's running on a low-speed it's still retarded loud. It was so loud my wife in the next room was like WTF is going on? did you break it already?
That is the same POS cooler that came with my 8320 It never ran on it but instead my little server with a phenom2 555B, even at idle on a much lower TDP chip it was the loudest thing in the garage. Put what I think is an old cooler that came with an ancient athlon on it and it's whisper quiet.

AMD needs to get their **** together with stock coolers.


Master race-



Mmmmm...dem 140s
Attached Thumbnails
Another Computer Build Thread-h110_hero_no_fans.png  
Tw34k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:37 AM   #351
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

Just FWIW...

before new computer:



after new computer:

Attached Thumbnails
Another Computer Build Thread-screenshot2013-11-23-23_11_31.jpg   Another Computer Build Thread-screenshot2013-11-23-23_11_35.jpg  
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:57 AM   #352
Boost Pope
iTrader: (8)
 
Joe Perez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Delicious and Moist.
Posts: 26,328
Total Cats: 1,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tw34k View Post
Master race-

(big water cooler image)

Mmmmm...dem 140s
The Delos Project.

I don't know why, but that's just the first thing that comes to mind when I see one of those huge, over-engineered solutions to what is actually a very simple problem.







Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
Just FWIW...

before new computer:

(image 1)

after new computer:

(image 2)
You'll have to translate this for me. You're saying that upgrading to a new PC caused your performance in some videogame to suffer?
Attached Thumbnails
Another Computer Build Thread-westworld_ver2.jpg  
Joe Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:17 PM   #353
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax Fl
Posts: 469
Total Cats: 30
Default

I'm not sure how you come to call a fairly simple closed loop setup "over-engineered" but I rather enjoy the small amount of mobo realestate it takes up while giving me more than enough cooling for any cpu I throw at it and still being whisper quiet. Also, there is the whole ease of install and cleaning thing but I don't expect to convince you as you seem to have already made up your mind against w/c for some reason.

That videogame is starcraft by the way and I don't really see how a pc upgrade would drastically affect your win/loose ratio. The game isn't exactly on the same frames per second demand as say a fast paced first person shooter like counterstrike.

Brain, what is causing the losses? Is it entirely due to framerate or something else?
Tw34k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 05:36 PM   #354
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tw34k View Post
Brain, what is causing the losses? Is it entirely due to framerate or something else?

No idea. I'm running on higher graphics and have better FPS. It runs smoother so I guess I was just used to the lag?

I thought it was funny as ****. I was also playing higher level opponents. I quickly got to rank one of that league and was playing people from the next level up. I'm incredibly out of practice in 1v1 SC2.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:09 AM   #355
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
GeneSplicer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 2,006
Total Cats: 147
Default

Just bought a gaming pc... just wanted something to handle iracing with multi-monitor capability... hope I did good. The GTX650 got decent reviews, and I can always add more memory if 8gb isn't enough. It's been a long time since upgrading... last time I looked at video cards, 250mb memory was cutting edge.

https://m.tigerdirect.com/products/8573804
GeneSplicer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:13 AM   #356
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

sure looks the parts.

I'm trying to figure out how that side fan will work with the GPU in place...

If it were mine, I'd just like to toss in another 8gb of RAM at least.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:39 AM   #357
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Brain I run side fans like that with big GPUs.

8GB is more than enough to run iRacing maxed out, 4 would be more than sufficient. So will that processor. That computer will run a single monitor maxed out, no idea if thats enough graphics card to run 3 monitors.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:30 AM   #358
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
GeneSplicer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 2,006
Total Cats: 147
Default

Guess the best way to figure that is comparisons to other cards? Or fps with different games..

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desk...50/performance
GeneSplicer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:34 AM   #359
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

The 650 aint gonna handle it. 2 of them in SLi should though. I'm surprised it got a lower 3dmark score than the 460GTX that I have considering how much older my card is.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:04 AM   #360
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Erat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Detroit
Posts: 4,201
Total Cats: 260
Default

Why, it's a 128 bit card.. It's low end, so low end i'm shocked they still make them...
Erat is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 PM.