2jz Miata build thread - Page 41 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 10:18 PM   #801
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Ok so the awesome end all be all turbo I bought online happens to be a total pice of junk but good news is I just ordered a persicion pte 60-1 this should be more than enough to get me 500 whp I am still looking for a decent deal on a fic but I should have one very soon.

Ya Ya I know you get what you pay for on the internet but I bought something decent this time.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 10:22 PM   #802
Senior Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,362
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean View Post
Ok so the awesome end all be all turbo I bought online happens to be a total pice of junk but good news is I just ordered a persicion pte 60-1 this should be more than enough to get me 500 whp I am still looking for a decent deal on a fic but I should have one very soon.

Ya Ya I know you get what you pay for on the internet but I bought something decent this time.
Any reason you choose this turbo?
jtothawhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 10:42 PM   #803
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

It was cheap enough for me there will be a better deal somewhere else but this will do what I need and it was cheap.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 01:19 PM   #804
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Ok so my new new turbo is on the way and I am looking for a decent deal on a FIC. I can get one new for 350 but I am pretty sure I can find one lightly used for 250 so if I cannot find one by the end of the week I am gonna buy a new one. I still need to get to my car and start the wire tuck but I am waiting for the temp to come up just a little bit more.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:33 AM   #805
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Just scored a AEM FIC for 270 shipped with everything included. So as soon as that comes in I can get it wired into my harness and I am still waiting for AEM to send back my wide band gauge. When all this gets back then I car really start to work on the car again. For now I am kinda in a holding pattern.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 04:25 PM   #806
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

I am still waiting for my FIC to come in so I can wire it up and get to work tuning, but I did get my turbo in and I realized I have a lot of turbo's.lol Here is a pic of turbo land in my basement. The one on the far right is my new precision 6152E should make 450-500whp at 18-20psi.

[IMG][/IMG]



And just for fun from left to right we have-

1. Garrett t3/t4 something we are going to stuff on a 1.6L miata.
2. My end all be all piece of junk T04E turbo I got for $75 bucks
3. Ebay 64 mm witch is my back up turbo go it for free it works perfect
4. The egay turbo I killed in like 2 hrs. on the 2J
5. T3 K27 KKK turbo that decided to eat a bolt almost and messed up some blades but still makes good boost don't know why I have it.
6. My new used precision 6152E so I can make some real #'s lol
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:00 PM   #807
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Got my FIC in and my wideband back from AEM should be good to start wiring.

[IMG][/IMG]
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:07 PM   #808
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MONROE CT
Posts: 1,100
Total Cats: 2
Default

Nice find and a good price, cant wait to see it done.
miatamike203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:10 PM   #809
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

It came with the software too its just not in the pic.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 12:13 PM   #810
Elite Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 2,791
Total Cats: 71
Default

nice setup.

i was considering one of these back in the day when they first came out... but they were so $ then that a standalone was just 150$ more after the harnesses i needed with my s13.
shlammed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 02:06 PM   #811
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

For the price and what I am doing I couldn't go wrong. I wanted stand alone but do not want to blaze a path with the 2j in megasquirt and do not have the money for AEM stand alone besides this does 100% fuel and timing witch is all I need. I also just ordered the power cable for my wide band I had forgot about so I can hook it to my FIC and all will be happy. Now if I feel I could even do some self learning with the computer. Yea for real tuning tools!!!!!
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 03:10 PM   #812
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

I love summit racing I just ordered the power cable for my uego and it was $13 and I know it will be at my house tomorrow. I wish all internet stores were like that.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 11:06 PM   #813
Elite Member
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: oahu
Posts: 1,720
Total Cats: 2
Default

That fic should work out pretty well for you. Also that is quite a lineup of turbos, I need some t04e in my life but not in monster turbo mode.
astroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 10:14 AM   #814
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Astroboy - Lol I have a k27 kkk turbo with your name all over it if you need one. Cheap. It has a big exhaust but will flow some air.

Here is a pic of my new turbo I am starting the wiring on the fic while the harness is still out of the car so I should have it done in a few days I hope. I will keep you guys updated as things get done.

[IMG][/IMG]


This is not "just really close" it is a precision 6152E or SC61 it is a little bit of an older turbo but should be good for a solid 400-450whp.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 12:24 PM   #815
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

So last night I stayed up late and got some work done on my wiring. Believe it or not I got the F/IC completely wired in last night. I hope it is right.lol It should be I did the research to make it easy on myself so here is a pic of my harness all done. As far as I can tell this is done and ready to go in the car.WINING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Name:  33.jpg
Views: 6
Size:  93.4 KB
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 02:09 PM   #816
Elite Member
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: oahu
Posts: 1,720
Total Cats: 2
Default

**** yes. Once it is installed the first turn of the key will tell the story. I am kinda nervous about it with my car.

On another note I think that turbo would be a bit laggy on my baby engine. Is the stock one off a bmw straight 6?
astroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 05:46 PM   #817
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Nervous for shore last time I had the harness in was before the mil spec connectors and some more wires being removed but I am confident it will work. I took my time and it should be good to go. I need to up load the latest software and then hook it up.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 11:41 PM   #818
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

Just picked up a new used 2jzge motor to bbuild so next year I can really lay some boost.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 05:35 AM   #819
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Total Cats: 0
Default

Sean! love your build and want to do it to my miata! or atleast one similar!

my biggest conserns are how did you mount the engine? and 2 what did you use for a diff and axxles?

I chose to go the miata route because i wanted a good light car that had the potential to do a 13b swap, so i can drift... my main thing was i didnt want a 240. my buddie has a 2jz with a automatic tranny and ecu and all that. Im just starting my reaserch but id like to have a price range of about 7k (total with install and i am machanicly retarded.)

what do you think? like you i would also want the car as a street deamon!
dehsnowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 01:55 PM   #820
Elite Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Posts: 1,521
Total Cats: 20
Default

I used a 88-91 RX-7 rear with 2001 miata axles and a custom made drive shaft. The engine is just solid mounted to the some uprights I made on the frame if you look early into the build thread there are some pictures there. I went this route because for me it was cheap if you plan on leaving it NA it is not a hard swap as far as making mounts they are pretty straight forward. Also I did not use any rubber in my mounts because the 6 cyl has very little vibration even with it solid mounted. Good luck and let me know if you need any help.
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 09:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 02:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 01:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 02:29 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:01 AM.