Hustler's build thread 2.0, the natural aspiration connection - Page 47 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2013, 10:04 PM   #921
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I it doesn't sound like my daily at all, cam is silent. How do I figure which output it's on?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:03 AM   #922
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Can someone tell me why "TPS" is flat and why "TPSadc" is not? TPS based enrichments will not trigger...and that sucks. I have to go to the dyno tomorrow so I appreciate the assistance.
Attached Files
File Type: msl 2.msl (682.0 KB, 55 views)
File Type: msq 3.msq (175.5 KB, 54 views)
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 04:28 AM   #923
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,441
Total Cats: 198
Default

VVT is fully working, if you look at your log, the VVT angle 1 is closely following the target.

You do however, want to set the ignition timing back to "use table" from "fixed timing", as it is 10* during the entire log.

TPS reading zero is probably a calibration issue in combination with the fact that the MS3 checks all sensors, and if something goes bad, boom.

Go to Can-bus/testmodes -> Check engine light, and set your minimum/maximum tps adc values for the check.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 07:49 AM   #924
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Yeah, durrr on the fixed timing. Hey, at least I turned-off launch control this time.

TPS values are really low, is that normal? I adjusted the CEL function in the testmodes.

The cam sounds way different on this car, so much that I trust my ear more than the data. However I suppose the log doesn't lie.

Thanks for the help dude. I know I'm annoying as **** at times, yet you keep tolerating me. Thank you so much.

On a related note, here's what happened yesterday:
I couldn't connect and the car was acting bizarre. I then questioned my coil wiring so I made a make-shift piggy-back ground. Then, I wiggled the fuel injection harness wiring and wires started smoking and glowing...eek!
It turns out that after a few hours of chasing a short, I found that I dropped two very important ground wires and the somehow became tangled into the starter and were going hot. I hacked the pretty harness so it can get to the dyno today though.

I may take Tuesday off to get the car balanced, aligned, and then take it to a dynojet for classing.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 05:53 PM   #925
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Any tips for a noisy TPS?
Attached Files
File Type: msl 5.msl (296.8 KB, 46 views)
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:10 PM   #926
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

you run dedicated wiring for 5V, GND and signal to the TPS ALL the way back to the box?
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:40 PM   #927
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
you run dedicated wiring for 5V, GND and signal to the TPS ALL the way back to the box?
Negative. I can't just run everything to the engine?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:05 PM   #928
y8s
2 Props,3 Dildos,& 1 Cat
iTrader: (8)
 
y8s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fake Virginia
Posts: 19,038
Total Cats: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
Negative. I can't just run everything to the engine?
for O2 and TPS and all of the other 5V sensors, you ideally want to run dedicated wires and not use chassis ground.

usually factory wiring is OK. I think my 01 had all 3 wires at the harness.
y8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:12 PM   #929
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,110
Total Cats: 518
Default

And by not using a chassis ground, you mean running a ground back to the negative terminal of the battery? Sounds lame.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:14 PM   #930
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y8s View Post
for O2 and TPS and all of the other 5V sensors, you ideally want to run dedicated wires and not use chassis ground.

usually factory wiring is OK. I think my 01 had all 3 wires at the harness.
So do I need to run the TPS ground back into the car out just run it to the intake plenum?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:18 PM   #931
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Attached Thumbnails
Hustler's build thread 2.0, the natural aspiration connection-28724065.jpg  
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:51 AM   #932
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
triple88a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 9,133
Total Cats: 599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
Sounds lame.
Attached Thumbnails
Hustler's build thread 2.0, the natural aspiration connection-1245401327_conan_the_barbarian.gif  
triple88a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 06:24 AM   #933
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,392
Total Cats: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
So do I need to run the TPS ground back into the car out just run it to the intake plenum?
SG != GND.
Run the TPS ground back to the ECU SG (Signal Ground).
NiklasFalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 06:39 AM   #934
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,441
Total Cats: 198
Default

Trey, those SG would be pins 1 and 2 on the lower 37-way connector.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:11 AM   #935
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverant View Post
Trey, those SG would be pins 1 and 2 on the lower 37-way connector.
There is more than one ground? Why 1 and 2? lol

Am I cool to "tie into" this wire or do I need to cut the wire, then solder my new wire?

Last edited by hustler; 03-31-2013 at 10:45 AM.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:07 AM   #936
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 672
Total Cats: 20
Default

You can either tie them directly to MS, or assuming rev's harness brings them out to 2C and/or 2D of the factory harness, you can tie in there.

For 1.6 guys, does anyone know if the factory had decent sensor grounding? Since it didn't have a VTPS factory, my guess is the factory TPS ground is a 12v ground. This is just speculation...
karter74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:38 AM   #937
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Any reason not to simply tune EAE and not use TPS accel, similar to my daily?
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:53 AM   #938
Boost Czar
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,900
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karter74 View Post

For 1.6 guys, does anyone know if the factory had decent sensor grounding? Since it didn't have a VTPS factory, my guess is the factory TPS ground is a 12v ground. This is just speculation...
no, the factory everything in a 90-93 sucks.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:27 PM   #939
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Okay, this is weird:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
For M/T:
B/LG = GND
R = Idle (closure to ground when throttle fully closed)
LG/W = Power (closure to ground when throttle fully open)
The multi-meter clearly says RED is 5v.

In my car
1.6 wires.............................99 TPS
red..................goes to.......lt green/red
lt green/white....goes to.......black/red
black/green.......goes to.......green black

I'm fairly certain that if I screwed this up the TPS would read high voltage closed, low voltage WOT, right?


Also, can I run my new TPS ground to the OEM style plug or should I take apart the DB37 and connect it there? This is kind of funny, the more I dig into the wires, the more I realize I've done everything right from the start, lol.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:45 PM   #940
Elite Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,970
Total Cats: 49
Default

I read page 1 (put together this weekend, dyno on saturday), skipped to 47 and Hustler is still trying to go to the dyno a year later! No surprise there.

haha jk, Good luck!
Seefo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 59 12-15-2017 09:00 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 PM.