EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread (reposting stupid stuff without reading = warning) - Page 65 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Prefabbed Turbo Kits A place to discuss prefabricated turbo kits on the market
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 02:44 PM   #1281
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
mr_hyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 799
Total Cats: 25
Default

I used these to attach my little IHI to the manifold since there isn't room to tap to M10. I had to run a die on them because the shoulder was a little too thick but otherwise they are legit. The problem for the masses is M8 is too small for side mount turbos under race conditions.
mr_hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:19 PM   #1282
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

Brain, its a stock image. They use the same image for the turbo to dp studs, and I know for a fact that those are different from the mani to turbo studs.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 12:56 AM   #1283
Senior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,085
Total Cats: 30
Default

This seems like the place to ask this question, what's the best way to dissolve old resbond on studs? Polar/nonpolar solvent?
albumleaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:01 AM   #1284
Junior Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Detroit Burbs
Posts: 300
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spookyfish View Post
So, one stud failed - well, the time-sert failed and that allowed the stud to move out. The other three are fine and were still tights.

I'm going to remove the time-sert and insert a new one, reseat the studs, drill through manifold and studs and insert dowel pins to lock them in place.
Maybe try some inconel Helicoils instead of a time-sert?

Helical Thread Inserts: M10 x 1.5, 15.0mm (1.5xD) Length, Free Running, Inconel X750 (Package of 1)

Time-serts are just carbon steel, with the associated poor high temperature strength. http://www.timesert.com/html/12L14CarbonSteel.pdf

I just bought a couple of inconel inserts from the link above to fix the threads on my used Begi manifold.
Frank_and_Beans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:00 AM   #1285
Hittin' Boost & Cones
iTrader: (2)
 
240_to_miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cromwell, Connecticut
Posts: 2,572
Total Cats: 11
Default

I used keyed inserts to fix my manifold. I have yet to put too many miles on the car since then So I don't know how the keyed insert will work with the inco studs on the track
240_to_miata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:28 PM   #1286
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 889
Total Cats: 55
Default

I know I've seen these mentioned before but I'm going to throw them out there again. If you call an Infinity or Nissan dealership that isn't a TOTAL joke. Hopefully in tour area have a dealer that actually charges msrp and doesn't work on a pricing matrix you can ask for part #14434-V0301 and they should run about $3.50 a pop. they are inconcel bolts m8. I'm using them on my DP. You can find them cheaper online but the shipping makes them a little more.
krissetsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:10 PM   #1287
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8,465
Total Cats: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krissetsfire View Post
I know I've seen these mentioned before but I'm going to throw them out there again. If you call an Infinity or Nissan dealership that isn't a TOTAL joke. Hopefully in tour area have a dealer that actually charges msrp and doesn't work on a pricing matrix you can ask for part #14434-V0301 and they should run about $3.50 a pop. they are inconcel bolts m8. I'm using them on my DP. You can find them cheaper online but the shipping makes them a little more.

Also found on the internet from dealer direct places for $2.50 each or less.
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:22 PM   #1288
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
mr_hyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 799
Total Cats: 25
Default

The only reason I can see to use M8 is if your application doesn't have the physical space to drill for M10. M10 does everything better except fit in tight places.
mr_hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:48 AM   #1289
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 889
Total Cats: 55
Default

maybe so but for us non v-banders m8 is just fine for a down pipe.
krissetsfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:12 PM   #1290
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
blaen99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,112
Total Cats: 27
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFfn...ature=youtu.be

5k miles on standard BEGi studs.

I pray that TSE's kit works.
blaen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 09:51 AM   #1291
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 60
Total Cats: -2
Default

3 years, ~10k-15k miles (when I exactly installed them is a little fuzzy right now) and numerous autox events after I installed new studs from BelMetric with NordLok washers and everything is still tight and secure.
jch13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 02:17 AM   #1292
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,366
Total Cats: 1,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jch13 View Post
3 years, ~10k-15k miles (when I exactly installed them is a little fuzzy right now) and numerous autox events after I installed new studs from BelMetric with NordLok washers and everything is still tight and secure.
This thread doesn't apply to you.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2014, 03:40 PM   #1293
Junior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 421
Total Cats: 9
Default

iv fixed a begi manifold with inconel coils it all seems to be holding up. Its a little tricky on the begi manifold because at one of the corners there isnt much material to work with but it turned out just fine.
Twibs415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 01:20 AM   #1294
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 512
Total Cats: 110
Default

Wasn't sure whether to necro this thread or start a new one. Oh well, viva "EPIC nuts/studs loosening thread".

After breaking several studs on my FMII (usually at the most inopportune time), I finally replaced them with the FM inconel option, installed with Resbond. They worked well, until our local track opened up and I started running 10-12 track days a year. The studs still worked their way out through the nut and Stage 8 locker. I had them freshly refitted last summer and have had to tighten them after every event. Yesterday they loosened after two 20 minute sessions and this evening I found that two have broken (or, possibly, the thread in the manifold has stripped).

So, what are my options? I used the FM kit because they're plug 'n play. Is there room for TSE's 10 mm kit on a new-design FM manifold and a GT3071R turbo? Has anyone made it work?
DeerHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 04:12 AM   #1295
Elite Member
 
codrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,877
Total Cats: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeerHunter View Post
So, what are my options? I used the FM kit because they're plug 'n play. Is there room for TSE's 10 mm kit on a new-design FM manifold and a GT3071R turbo? Has anyone made it work?
I'm pretty sure the 10s would fit in the manifold. The turbo it depends on the design of your turbine housing -- there's no way they would have fit with the ATP v-band EWG housing that I have for my 2863 (the one for the FM2r), I can't even get the stage 8 nuts on two of the studs.

Lots of meat on a current FM manifold (these are 8s):


Plenty of room on the CHRA side of the manifold flange:


Not so on the downpipe side:


--Ian
Attached Images
File Type: jpg studs-manifold.jpg (130.6 KB, 208 views)
File Type: jpg stage8-1.jpg (130.5 KB, 211 views)
File Type: jpg stage8-none.jpg (156.1 KB, 211 views)
codrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 09:06 AM   #1296
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,107
Total Cats: 518
Default

I had to do some crazy modifications to the TSE studs to make them fit with my t25. As Andrew has said before, they were designed around large body turbos, not my t25.

I think I only used 3/4 of the locking hardware too.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 10:05 AM   #1297
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,342
Total Cats: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curly View Post
I had to do some crazy modifications to the TSE studs to make them fit with my t25. As Andrew has said before, they were designed around large body turbos, not my t25.

I think I only used 3/4 of the locking hardware too.
I too am only using 3/4 of the locking hardware components on my T25.
Schuyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 12:27 PM   #1298
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Grants Pass, OR.
Posts: 449
Total Cats: 14
Default

I ran the TSE 10 mm studs on my FM11 manifold with the 2560 for several years before going to the 5558 Precision turbo. You just have to grind the flange on the stage 8 nuts down on a couple of them and modify the radius in the seating area slightly on the turbo flange in a couple spots where the radius is to big. Worked fine.
jmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 07:53 PM   #1299
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 512
Total Cats: 110
Default

Thanks all. It turns out that I'm SOL, since TSE is out of stock on the studs and is looking for a new supplier. Unless someone has an unused (or good used) set they're willing to sell me, I'm going to have to go with another set of 8 mm FM pieces.
DeerHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 01:13 AM   #1300
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 130
Total Cats: -162
Default

I just upgraded everything to TiAL with hope this doesn't happen again.
StealthNB is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 58 12-13-2017 10:04 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:49 AM.