COP Thread - Page 63 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2010, 07:40 PM   #1241
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (31)
 
Savington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 14,359
Total Cats: 1,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r808 View Post
My order for connectors from Ballenger Motorsports just shipped out today. I paid them 67 days ago. not a word on why the delay. I admit I only sent one followup message in that time period, but come on!
8 weeks isn't bad. I ordered a bunch of connectors a while back (60+ IIRC), got a shipment of 32 of them, and when I called to ask where the others were they told me it would be 12+ weeks because the rest had to come from Japan.
Savington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 07:46 PM   #1242
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 1,367
Total Cats: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctdrftna View Post
i went to radio shack looking for a 10,000uf capacitor and the highest they had was 4300uf. and that thing was huge. can i see some pics of your capacitors installed and the size??
If it's the physical size you're worried about, the rated voltage of a cap dramatically affects the size. IIRC the ones I saw when I looked at Rat Shack were rated for 50V, way more than we need.
This is the exact cap I have in my COPs. Panasonic TSHA series, 10,000 uF, 16V, good rated lifetime at the high temps it will see under the hood, a bit less than 1" in diameter and 1" height.
ScottFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 07:59 PM   #1243
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctdrftna View Post
i went to radio shack looking for a 10,000uf capacitor and the highest they had was 4300uf. and that thing was huge. can i see some pics of your capacitors installed and the size??
I tried a 15,000uf cap and it actually didn't do any good. Changed my spark plugs out and gapped them at .020, low and behold under boost it quit cutting out!

So I have this ginormous cap just sitting around.

elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:49 PM   #1244
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Are you guys able to use inductive timing guns on your COPs ?

I have to verify my MegaSquirt timing and I hope I don't have to re install my stock coils.

Thanks
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:25 PM   #1245
Elite Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Overland Park, Kansas
Posts: 5,382
Total Cats: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poobs View Post
Are you guys able to use inductive timing guns on your COPs ?

I have to verify my MegaSquirt timing and I hope I don't have to re install my stock coils.

Thanks
I believe it was who told me long ago you just clip the pickup on the harness for the #1 coil. Worked like a champ for me. Far as I know there isn't a special timing light for COP vehicles.
elesjuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:50 PM   #1246
I'm Miserable!
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,066
Total Cats: -3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poobs View Post
Are you guys able to use inductive timing guns on your COPs ?

I have to verify my MegaSquirt timing and I hope I don't have to re install my stock coils.

Thanks
yes of course you can.
railz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:05 PM   #1247
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Thanks, I'll try it.
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 11:53 PM   #1248
Junior Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Makakilo
Posts: 444
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poobs View Post
Are you guys able to use inductive timing guns on your COPs ?

I have to verify my MegaSquirt timing and I hope I don't have to re install my stock coils.

Thanks
Wow, good question. Thanks for asking that.
r808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 04:42 PM   #1249
I EAT CUM
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Redneck, Texas
Posts: 1,218
Total Cats: -1
Default

When you remove the stock coil off of a 97 it leaves two connetors. Do I just splice the two sets of wires into one so I can splice in the cop harness?

Edit> I'm not doing it the pnp way, I want to hardwire them into the harness.
Turbo_4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:48 PM   #1250
Ben
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (33)
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: atlanta-ish
Posts: 12,689
Total Cats: 99
Default

You would take power, ground, and trigger from one pigtail and only trigger from the second. There is no reason to get power and ground from the second pigtail because it ties into the same wiring as the first pigtail. You could however put a capacitor across the power and ground of the second pigtail.

Or you could use the oem power wiring to trigger a relay that was wired to the fuse box.
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 09:13 PM   #1251
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r808 View Post
Wow, good question. Thanks for asking that.
It worked !
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 03:58 PM   #1252
I EAT CUM
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Redneck, Texas
Posts: 1,218
Total Cats: -1
Default

Just finishing up my harness and am curious on how to wire up these capacitor's. I bought two 4700's from radioshack. I know I'm supposed to connect one wire to the + wire from the harness and the other the - side. The question is...how do I know which side is what on this capacitor? It just has one wire coming out of either end...The other difference I saw was one end has the rubber on it and the other is just metal(at the base). Thanks!
Turbo_4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #1253
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 52
Total Cats: 0
Default

Just got mine finished and installed. Ran great on the very first time I cranked it. I didn't install the capacitor and it seems to run fine.
eunos735 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 05:28 PM   #1254
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eunos735 View Post
Just got mine finished and installed. Ran great on the very first time I cranked it. I didn't install the capacitor and it seems to run fine.
Far as I know the cap is said to smooth out voltage fluctuations.
It was added by greater minds than mine so I don't know if there are any consequences to not having it....
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 05:13 PM   #1255
I EAT CUM
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Redneck, Texas
Posts: 1,218
Total Cats: -1
Default

I'm trying mine without the capictors for now too.
Turbo_4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:41 AM   #1256
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cromwell CT
Posts: 1,106
Total Cats: 48
Default

i finished my harness with the capacitor installed, i wont be trying it for a few more months though. i will post pics tonn and get some feedback
ctdrftna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 12:27 AM   #1257
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cromwell CT
Posts: 1,106
Total Cats: 48
Default

Name:  IMG_0097-1.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  61.7 KB
Name:  IMG_0098-1.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  107.7 KB
ctdrftna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 01:12 AM   #1258
I EAT CUM
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Redneck, Texas
Posts: 1,218
Total Cats: -1
Default

looks really good.
Turbo_4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 12:18 PM   #1259
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melboure australia
Posts: 171
Total Cats: 0
Default

hey guys is there a fix for the 98-99 (NB) overheating problem? if so i must have missed it....

also if there is braineack could you please put it on your Upgrading to Coil on Plugs (all years) COP writeup for easy reference?

Cheers
sprx3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 01:51 PM   #1260
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 52
Total Cats: 0
Default

Here's the harness

Name:  P1130304.jpg
Views: 6
Size:  63.2 KB

Here they are on the car.

Name:  P1170312.jpg
Views: 5
Size:  100.8 KB

I was already in need of a new set of plug wires. I bought the coils with the pigtails on E-Bay for $63.00 shipped. I already had the wire, split loom, solder and soldering iron in the garage. So for about the price of a decent set of plug wires I have this.

I soldered the harness together in my living room while I was watching a college basketball game and installed this in the car during half time.

Thank you to the starters of this thread. You made this mod so easy. With this being as cheap and as easy I really don't see why more people aren't on this band wagon.
eunos735 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 PM.